28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I double-battered for extra crunch, and these turned out perfect! I dipped in Remoulade sauce and thought I'd died and gone to fried food heaven!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom June 21, 2013

The first time I ever had fried pickles was at the restaurant Cheeseburger in Paradise. I was craving these little wonders but when my hubby and I went to the restaurant they had closed! Luckily I found this recipe. I used Claussen pickles (the best dill pickles on the planet in my opinion) and cut them into chips on the mandolin which made the process very quick. While frying the pickles, I whipped up some Bloomin' Onion Dipping Sauce which is very similar to the sauce used at Cheesburger in Paradise. The only way these could have been better is if I didn't have to share them with my hubby... ha ha. I've had fried pickles in the shape of spears from a resturant before but they were kind of soggy... I think chips is definitely the best way to go. Next time I may try the Claussen sandwich slices to see how they do. Thanks Gloria... this was just what I needed!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee July 20, 2009

I tried this recipe this evening and they were off the scale yummy. I added a bit more hot sauce and gave them a bit more zing. You could sell these bad boys. This is a recipe that even your cardiologist would enjoy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David R. July 23, 2014

I tried this recipe last night. But before I prepared the pickles the way the instructions stated, I varied the instructions a bit. I noticed that some of the reviews was about the batter texture. I also used Valasic's dill pickles as they had the nice amount of thickness and flavor. I coated the pickles in the flour mixture, then I dredged them in the egg wash and then coated them with Panko bread crumbs and dropped them in the deep fryer. What an amazing taste and texture!! They were so good that my husband does not usually eat pickles, let alone fried pickles. Let me just say that he ate about 2 dozen by himself. I also purchased some blossom sauce from Wal-Mart (and it was good for a little more kick), we preferred the ranch dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawndel S. September 24, 2013

Made these for my parents and my siblings with homemade dill pickles, my siblings didn't even get any because my parents ate them all! Double battered them for the extra and dipped them in ranch or fry sauce. They didn't even make it to the table! YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V.MARIE September 15, 2013

I rarely bring out the deep fryer, but I was so hungry for fried pickles and I came across this recipe. It was well worth my time. These were delicious and exactly like you get at a restaurant. I made this exactly as written. I really pressed that coating on the pickle slices so I had a nice, crispy coating. These were nicely seasoned. I made a garlic-horseradish mayonnaise for dipping. I hope I can control myself to not make these too often because I could eat these as a meal! Thanx for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* August 02, 2013

Yummy!! The second time I made them I felt like I was wasting too much flour, so I just scooped out a cup and saved the rest for next time! Easy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wlkrmlss April 28, 2013

Made this tonight, very easy, dredge first in flour, then egg mixture and back into flour. Just like what you get out without leaving home. Highly recommend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdj1955_8739227 December 31, 2012

Made these tonight as the appetizer for my daughter's birthday celebration. Big hit, great recipe. Will defintely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonya #3 September 04, 2012

These are the Bomb!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tunamanphd May 26, 2012
Fried Dill Pickles