9 Reviews

I made this because Bev made it for the Family Tree Name Game and it sounded so good! And it is! I think it is VERY good; my family said 4 stars. That's ok, I can eat the whole bowl myself. :) Thanks for posting Bev, and thanks for bringing it to my attentin Luvin' Texas Bev!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie August 16, 2008

When my brother and I were in our teens, My dad would take us up to his Uncle Elemer and Aunt Rosies Farm and leave us every spring to help with the strawberry picking. We would be up there about two weeks and in the mornings we would pick berries and in the afternoons we would go with Uncle Elmer in his old Nash Rambler and deliver berries to all the small town markets in Central Indiana where we lived. In addition to the huge breakfasts and nourishing lunches, Aunt Rosie would outdo herself with the supper meals, all of it grown right there on the farm, fried pork chops, mashed potatoes and gravy and applesauce, and of course fried corn. Eating her corn was where I learned that there were more than one way to eat corn. I still like corn on the cob a whole lot, but the fried corn fixed just the way this recipe calls for, is my favorite corn meal.By the way, the longer you cook it, the more developed the flavor gets.. I like it firm and chewy the best.. Thanks for helping bring back memories....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mike in Indy October 12, 2010

I can't think of a better way to serve good fresh corn in the summer time. This has always been my favorite way of making corn, especially when fresh. I picked this dish for "THE FAMILY TREE NAME GAME", in honor of me, I'm a Bev, too :), what a wonderful dish to honor me & Bev. Love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
True Texas August 06, 2008

My grandmother passed away and never left her fried corn recipe but this was just as good. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MIZZMILA October 14, 2007

Very good. You can't go wrong with corn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a-torres July 30, 2007

I made this with frozen white sweet corn, as fresh is not in season right now (I used one 16 oz. bag) and I used one cup of Half and Half. I also included the onions. This was delicious! I think I browned it a touch more that what it looks like in your picture, but we like it that way...I served with roast chicken and cornbread stuffing, it was sublime....My son was at a friend's house for dinner and the four of us remaining at the table still polished it off!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmejulie February 13, 2005

Bev, Woooo Hoooooo!!!!! I love this recipe!!!! We made it for New Years day,and Everybody just went on and on about it. We have crn in the freezer from our garden,and we cut it off the cob to make this.and we used the crumbled bacon in it also,couldn't get ahold of any Vidalia onions (wrong time of year) so I used Texas sweet onions.But it was a fantastic dish,and got RAVE REVIEWS!!! Thank You so much,Darlene

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers January 05, 2005

Very tasty! A nice change from corn on the cob.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rooster 1 September 19, 2004

Amazing! This was SOOOOOO good! My personal adjustments, which in no way affect the original recipe....I needed more bacon (guess mine was too lean) to get enough drippings. I thinly sliced my onion instead of chopping it. I simmered mine for 30 minutes instead of 15, but that is a personal preference as I like the kernals softer, more like a creamed corn. I also put the crumbled cooked bacon back into it. Thanks Bev, I am going to the store tomorrow and buying lots of more corn, they are 20 cents each and making a ton of this to freeze and have when corn is not as plentiful. I LOVE this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Pebbles** June 10, 2004
Fried Corn - Bev's Style