Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Cheerios Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Cheerios

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2010

      Very interesting. A different snack for sure! I used 1/2 c. butter and about 4 1/2 c. Cheerios. I also added some Worcestershire sauce, some hot sauce and garlic powder. I used Lawrys for the salt. Watch carefully as these do burn....these will be made here again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I haven't tried this recipe, but I make one that is almost just like this one!! Instead of salt, I use garlic salt. Sometimes I'll put soy sauce & worchester sauce in with the butter to give it more a tast like party mix. I can't beleive I saw this recipe on here! I thought I was the only one who ate stuff like this! I used to eat this when I was kid & now my daughter loves them too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      i add worchestershire sauce to my butter and i use popcorn salt and seasoned salt while it is frying, very yummy snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2012

      I have made this recipe for years, the recipe actually was on a box of cheerios close to 30yrs ago.. I have made it since I was kid.. I love Fried Cheerios.. I never guessed anyone else would eat/make them but myself, great to know others enjoy this tasty "not the healthiest of snacks" treat like myself.. Thank you Pumpkin for sharing this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      We called cheerios and melted butter...I grew up eating these...I LOVE them . My kids also love them.
      It's a great.snack. We just melted the butter and poured it over the cheerios then added salt eat them warm. with a large glass of pop...So yummy......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      These are a wonderful little snack and even good on top of a salad for that extra little crunch. I did use worcestershire sauce and Lawrys seasoning salt in with butter and added alittle garlic powder and than Cheerios. Stirred constantly on medium low heat as I didnt want the butter to burn before cheerios. Browned until most all the butter liquid was gone and cheerio's were nice and brown and crispy tasting. Drained on a paper towel than added to bowl to cool. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Great way to use up extra Cheerios :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      A w e s o m e!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      I can't believe how easy and yummy this recipe is! I took Rhi's Mama's advice and added some Frank's to the butter and fried them up, adding sea salt afterwards. I can't wait til DH says let's make popcorn so I can make these for him. I only made a cup of cereal with about 2 T of unsalted butter and a teaspoon of Franks with two pinches of sea salt. Next time I will make the whole recipe with more Franks! Thanks!!!!!!!!! SA;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Perfect recipe. Exactly the way I've been making it for my kids since I figured out how my dad use to make it when we were kids. My husband isn't a huge fan, but me and the kids are hooked for life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      I love these! I made these when I was a kid, but couldn't remember how. I thought for sure it had to be more complicated than this, but I was WRONG! My grown up taste buds are quite different, so I add Franks hot sauce in with the butter. Yum, yum and yum! Thanks Pumpkie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      My mom used to make these when I was a kid. I love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Such a great snack! I didn't even need to add salt, the butter alone was salty enough for me. I added parmesan cheese and garlic powder. Soooo good. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Very tastey! My family does something very similar but we add sugar and not salt....very delish! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Pumpkie--I am sorry anyone made you feel bad about this! It's a wonderful snack, and my kids loved it too. I made some for my Grandma and she remembered something similar from when she was "poor". Sad thing is that Cheerios cost more than popcorn nowadays! But thank you so much for sending in this recipe, and for making my Grandma smile!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This was a popular snack in my house growing up too and I still like to make them once in awhile. Don't use alot of salt, however I do just dump in the butter or margarine and add cheerios till I have enough to soak it up when frying. Love 'em!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I am in the same boat Quadracer's Wife... my batch went straight to the can... I ate a couple a few times to see if it would grow on me- nope- the ones that where in the pan first became chewy and unenjoyable. Please clarify the proper cooking techniques.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I must have done something wrong. I made this recipe and it was aweful! My cheerios were soggy and there was toons of butter left over. Someone help me! What did I do wrong?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      I didn't have regular cheerios but I had some honey nut cheerios so I made a batch and instead of salt I did half with cinnamon sugar and the other half tossed with a little splenda brown sugar blend:) they were good and it gave my kids a sweet snack that was different from the usual

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

    • on November 02, 2007

      We make this at home, it's a family recipe, but we use beau monde (sp?:), celery salt, and garlic salt...it's awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Cheerios

    Serving Size: 1 (282 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1631.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1302
    79%
    Total Fat 144.7 g
    222%
    Saturated Fat 88.5 g
    442%
    Cholesterol 366.0 mg
    122%
    Sodium 1855.1 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.7 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 11.3 g
    45%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 14.1 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites