Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2002

      I love cabbage. I did remove more than half of the bacon grease. I added the cabbage into the same pan and stirred to coat it, then added about a half a can of beer for the cooking/braising liquid and added the chopped bacon at the end of the cooking time and my motto is the hotter the better so I aded more pepper flakes. Topped it off with an alka seltzer...I can`t believe I ate the whole thing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      Thanks JoAnn for submitting this recipe. We liked it a lot. I followed your recipe, except I took out some of the bacon drippings and added a little white wine. It didnt take very long to make this wonderful dish, and I will make it again. Like the other reviewer, I added the bacon after I removed it from the pan, because I like crunchy bacon. It was awfully good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      I love Cabbage!
      I love Bacon!

      This dish is wonderful.

      I was looking for a side dish that I could serve with steak tips .

      I used both red and green cabbage.
      I added a bit of chicken broth to the pan as I thought it needed more moisture.
      Finished with a splash of cider vinegar as that is a natural pair.

      Simply delish!
      Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Great cabbage recipe although, as usual, I did improvise a bit. I used turkey bacon and half tsp caraway seeds, which I added in with the onions, since I was out of red pepper flakes. ( I cut down the amount of bacon to only a few slices and it still tasted great.) The water that clung to the cabbage was enough to cook it, but since the bacon I was using was not a fatty bacon, I did add canola oil to the cabbage. To me the important aspects of cooking this are to chop the cabbage uniformly with special attention to the stems of the cabbage, add cabbage in batches and initially cook on a med high flame, stirring constantly and then lower to a simmer, stir occasionally and continue to cook til the cabbage is cooked through. I ate this with Uncle Ben's brown rice and my own hamburger steaks with onion gravy. Finally, since I have had positive experiences in the past with freezing cooked cabbage and I I froze half this recipe right away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      Had a 1/4 head of cabbage on hand and I needed to use it before it went south.This is so easy and quick.I did not have any bacon on hand so other than that followed the recipe.I added a little Italian dressing.I know the bacon is key here and will try it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      JoAnn, This is a wonderful tasteful recipes!!! I give it 5 starts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I make my cabbage like this all the time...really love the addition of the red pepper flakes. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2014

      OMG! I have not had this in years! I made it tonight and it is delicious! Reminds me of huge Sunday family lunches at my grandmother's home. Thanks JoAnn, for the reminder and for a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      Just like my mom makes! Love this recipe! So easy and SO good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      Thanks for a great recipe. It was a good change to the spicy indian cabbage recipe I always use. We ate it with fried eggs.. although it may seem like a strange combination it was lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      We loved it.Its a new staple to our meal(s). Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      My mom made us fried cabbage when we were kids and I've been looking for a similiar recipe for years. This recipe was great, although next time I will not add the crumbled bacon. The bacon grease was just enough bacon flavor, the added bacon crumbles just made the dish too salty for my taste. Next time I will try to add green peppers and potatoes like mom made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Delicious.Anyone who likes cabbage will love this recipe. I made the recipe as directed except for omitting tne red pepper. This would be a great side dish for any meat, chicken or fish dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      AWESOME!!!!! Served this as a side to corned beef Brown Sugar and Mustard Glazed Corned Beef. My Hubby HATES cabbage and he ate all of this loving it with a huge smile on his face. He ate the leftovers the next day too. :) New St. Paddys day treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      This was soooo yummy! I made it with my first attempt at corned beef for St. Patty's Day & it made for a perfect holiday dinner! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This is a perfect side for corned beef. My 16 year old LOVED it. Everything is better with bacon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Loved this! I poured out half of the bacon fat before frying the onions and then added about 1/2 cup of chicken stock prior to simmering. It was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      This is a wonderful cost effective dish. My hubby gobbles this up every time I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Wonderful and great flavor. Served with a baked ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 588.2
     
    Calories from Fat 462
    78%
    Total Fat 51.3 g
    79%
    Saturated Fat 17.1 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1277.4 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    25%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites