74 Reviews

Thought this was delicious! Broccoli retained flavor and crispness and the breadcrumbs and olive oil really set it off. Restaurant quality! My husband liked, but did not love it, hence the 4 stars. I thought it was a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyP53 January 02, 2007

I used half butter and half olive oil, sauteed some garlic with a very small pinch of rosemary and also added Italian flavored breadcrumbs. Loved the finished result.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 October 23, 2006

I followed other reviewers instructions and made this with butter, garlic powder and italian-flavored bread crumbs--delicious! This is my favorite way to make broccoli now besides asian style with soy sauce/sesame oil and seeds. Thanks for the great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riversanctuary October 09, 2006

This was a different way to eat broccoli and it was pretty good. Hubby did not care too much for it. I added some sauteed garlic, red pepper, and salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping September 02, 2006

This is a great side dish if you are looking for somethign a little on the lighter side. It was a little bland and I think that garlic or red pepper flakes may have livened it up a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aubrey K July 06, 2006

I should have read other peoples suggestions before I just made it. I think with butter and garlic it would be better.. I just found it really bland. But it was easy, and Im sure with some modifications that fit my taste, it will be great. =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef smileyzookie March 01, 2006

We eat a lot of broccoli and this was certainly a refreshing change. I also added some chopped garlic as well. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mer@ February 01, 2005

This is a family favorite. I follow the recipe exactly as written and use Italian breadcrumbs. I like the change from using broccoli in a cheesy casserole or steamed. And the fact that this is ready in 10 minutes is GREAT! Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MemeOne October 27, 2004

I followed the recipe exactly and found it a little bland for my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petie June 16, 2004

This was different. I really love just plain steamed brocoli. I used Italian crumbs with fresh brocoli and followed exactly even down to the white pepper. Not terrible, just not to my tastes. IF I do try this again, I think I'll use melted butter instead of the olive oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott Keith June 15, 2004
Fried Broccoli