74 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm going to leave out the star rating for now because my first try with this didn't work properly. I didn't use a non-stick skillet, and I really think that may be a necessity for this recipe. My breadcrumbs promptly soaked up all the olive oil (and I added extra too) and then stuck themselves to the bottom of the pan instead of the broccoli. No amount of stirring and scraping could correct it. Now, my boyfriend and I very much liked the flavor of the broccoli with the olive oil and rosemary, but I know it didn't turn out as intended, with just a few soggy breadcrumbs clinging on. So next time, I will try it with a non-stick skillet, see if that does the trick, and will come back for an update.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMama May 04, 2011

If you want it like it is at Red Lobster, try panko bread crumbs.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary_B September 05, 2010

GREAT recipe! I used garlic and onion powder instead of rosemary. It was wonderful! Thanks for posting! My new favorite way to eat broccoli! - Making it again for the second night in a row! Also, I used frozen broccoli........1 bunch broccoli = about 4-5 cups frozen.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladfam August 27, 2009

We quite enjoyed this recipe! I added a small clove of garlic to infuse the oil, then removed it. I really liked the flavour that the rosemary added. I think that I will partially cook the broccoli the next time I make this though, as I prefer it a bit more tender. Thanks so much for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word September 11, 2013

This was SOOO good! It's nice to have a new way to cook an old favorite. My husband didn't like it, but I think he's insane.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deanie37 April 27, 2012

I made this last night using frozen broccoli. I had mostly cooked the broccoli in the microwave and was looking through recipes at the same time.
I melted some butter in the frying pan with the rosemary and added garlic like others have suggested. The big change I made is that instead of bread crumbs I used almond meal. I'm doing the primal thing and don't eat grains! It was delicious - the almond meal sticks to it beautifully. Everyone loved it. I'm going to try it again with fresh broccoli.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thejonesgal January 27, 2012

This was great; we just had it for dinner. I added a little minced garlic and parmesean cheese and used Italian style panko crumbs. Since we like our broccoli a little less chewy, I lowered the heat and put the cover on the pan for a few minutes. We inhaled it! It's our new favorite way to eat broccoli.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B March 01, 2011

We like our broccoli a little softer so I steamed the broccoli before "frying" in the minimal amount of oil and omitted the Rosemary. Used garlic and herb flavored breadcrumbs. EXCELLENT! The whole family enjoyed from my hubby and me down to our 1yo. 6yo said "Mom, you need to add this to our menu". Mmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martha wanna-be Melissa February 27, 2011

Next time I'm adding some butter purely for taste reasons as this was a tad bland. Worth a go though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat December 23, 2010

This was OK but I agree with others that it was bland. I loved the cooking method as I used the olive oil and butter. The broccoli was crisp tender. But it just tasted like broccoli. Next time I will add some more spices to it but use the method described.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking with love April 28, 2010
Fried Broccoli