Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Bread (I Call It Bannock) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Bread (I Call It Bannock)

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2013

      Turned out AWESOME! My Kookum said i make it better than her now! Thank you very much! Family loves them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      This was really good. I used to make Indian tacos. Pre-made dough so it sat a few hours so It made a quick easy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      Very delicious and easy to make. They puffed up very nicely and had a lovely crisp texture on the outside. My DH gave me permission to "make them again soon!" Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      These are sooooo good!! My DH asks me to make these often! We rarely eat them plain - mostly, we turn them into Indian Taco's (just using the large, flattish bannock as the taco shell) or add jam to turn it into a dessert. Really delicious. Although, it does reek havoc on the waistline!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      We really liked this fast and easy 'doughnut'! Thanks tasb! We will make this a lot. So much easier than doughnuts when you are in a hurry! No yeast, no rolling, just used a cookie scooper and fried them up! SA;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      i loved it !!! thank you very much :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      There aren't enough stars to do this justice!! Married to an Inuk, I had to figure out how to make bannock, and FAST. Thank you for solving my problem. This recipe is so simple and delicious...family says it is the best they have ever tasted!! I have included "add-ins" such as green onion or dried berries and it was fabulous. Thanks again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      We call it "toutons" in Newfoundland and we always looked forward to anyday Mom baked bread. After the first rising in the morning, we could smell the punched down and shaped blobs frying in hot oil/lard while she set the rest in the pans for the second rising. Always served with rashers of salt pork and warm molasses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      Such fluffy and crispy deliciousness! My husband said you have to rate this! I added a tsp of italian seasoning and sprinkled them with salt when they were done. They were so good that I am trying to justify making them right now as a snack! We also had them as a campfire treat sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. we decided they are way better than the soft pretzels you buy and so much cheeper! THANK YOU tasb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Love this recipe. altough after the first fews times of making it I started replaceing the water with milk. Now the family can tell if I use water instead of milk and they say they like it much better with the milk. Also I am native myself and grew up on fry bread that mom would make. Mom even says now my bread is better than hers. I now make soup and bread at least 3 to 4 times a month or get hounded to do so by the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      All I can say is WOW!!!! I love this recipe, and i will 4 sure use it again and again. I just made it tonight for the first time and i noticed that ppl like it with chili and cheese so that is what i made for dinner.i used about a half a tsp more of sugar in the bannock and i must say its not to sweet but its sweet enough to just just the hotness of the chili (hot chili). my daughter loves it and she is not a bread eater at all....my husband....well he says food is food but he says he likes it and its good. i noticed that even tho i let it sit alil longet then an hour...i would say about an hour and a half it was not as fluffy and as airy as i thought it would be but i love it, it tastes great, we will be eating it again and i give it a 5 star rating....i was thinking about shedding some cheese and adding it to the dough aswell to make a bannock cheese bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe ! I had never tried fried bread, and had never heard of Bannock, but when I ran across your recipe and saw how simple it was to make, I decided to give it a try. My husband has mentioned several times that he used to make fried bread, and top it with chili and shredded cheese. He always added how good it tasted. So I decided to make this. It was so easy, and turned out absolutely delicious. I put powdered sugar on them, and between me, my husband, and son, there was not much left. Next time I'm going to make them and top with the chili/cheese thing. I probably won't make my funnel cake recipe anymore, because this is delicious, and so simple ! Thanks again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      This is a great recipe!! Taste was spot on. We opted to go italian and added our own twist: Reduce sugar by half. Mix 5-6 finely chopped cloves of garlic with 4 Tbsp chopped or dried parsley and a 1/4 cup of whatever oil you have on hand. After frying, throw the breads into the mixture and coat well, and salt and parmesan to taste: Enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      I have this same recipe, but i use milk not water. everyne loves it when i mke fried bread. you do have to allow the mixture to set before making if u want light & airy bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      I coated mine with bread crumbs before pan frying them. They were just awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      I make this all the time but I would just like to mention that fried bread and bannock are two different things and yes I can say this because it is part of my heritage. Thanx for posting anyhow and we enjoy this very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

    • on November 28, 2006

      Made note of your recipe on the forums quite some time ago and just had to give it a try. I was so sure I had rated this excellent recipe of yours, a review is certainly long overdue. I suspect this is like making bread - the more you make it the easier it gets. Thank you for sharing the ingredients and the excellent instructions which made for delicious fried bread the first time around ... as well as the second and third! Everyone enjoyed and declared it a winner. Thank you tasb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      Hmm, for a super simple recipe, this tasted amazingly delicious. It was a shock to look at the dough after almost two hours later to find lumpy, sticky mass of wet goo, but I just dug in and tried to shape it. It was soo sticky, so best thing to do is to use two spoons, shape them into ball shapes, and fry them. Dusted mine with icing sugar. Everyone loved them, including my hard-to-please son. In fact, we made them again this morning, so that is twice in a 24 hr period. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      In June we have a National Aboriginal Day in Canada. I work for the federal Government and our local union - National Health and Welfare again hosted a celebration. The niece of one of our employees, from the Moraviantown reserve, cooked up enough bannock for 300 people, funded by the local union. It was served with jams, honey and butter....it was delicious and a great celebration for the Canadian Aboriginal people. I asked for the recipe and it was exactly yours....thanks from Southwestern Ontario.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Bread (I Call It Bannock)

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 168.7
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    18%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 316.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites