28 Reviews

There aren't enough stars to do this justice!! Married to an Inuk, I had to figure out how to make bannock, and FAST. Thank you for solving my problem. This recipe is so simple and delicious...family says it is the best they have ever tasted!! I have included "add-ins" such as green onion or dried berries and it was fabulous. Thanks again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanuqsMom July 20, 2009

I myself am married to an Inuk as well. I currently live in Iqaluit, Nunavut in Canada's Eastern Arctic. This recipe is perfect. It's simplicity is what makes it superb. 6 out of 5 stars for this one. Well done. Those many years of perfecting the recipe have giving you an absolutely perfect bannock. Thank you very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ptrcasey November 17, 2015

I didn't flatten the dough in my hand enough so they puffed up round (have to really flatten it lol) so the middle did not cook BUT that was my mistake. The cooked part we could eat was freaking awesome! My 8 yr old wants me to give it another go lol great recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danielleariana October 04, 2015

I have a better recipe which includes half white flour and half whole wheat flour optional, which includes most importantly (YEAST) to make it even fluffier. Half warm water, half cold milk. I tried this and it wasn't as good as my dads recipe. You haven't perfected it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmaine K. September 09, 2015

Turned out AWESOME! My Kookum said i make it better than her now! Thank you very much! Family loves them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tobi chef March 01, 2013

This was really good. I used to make Indian tacos. Pre-made dough so it sat a few hours so It made a quick easy meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady October 16, 2010

Very delicious and easy to make. They puffed up very nicely and had a lovely crisp texture on the outside. My DH gave me permission to "make them again soon!" Thank you for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chalko August 23, 2010

These are sooooo good!! My DH asks me to make these often! We rarely eat them plain - mostly, we turn them into Indian Taco's (just using the large, flattish bannock as the taco shell) or add jam to turn it into a dessert. Really delicious. Although, it does reek havoc on the waistline!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
McKinley's Momma March 15, 2010

We really liked this fast and easy 'doughnut'! Thanks tasb! We will make this a lot. So much easier than doughnuts when you are in a hurry! No yeast, no rolling, just used a cookie scooper and fried them up! SA;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secret Agent February 25, 2010

i loved it !!! thank you very much :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Jasmine Kate December 06, 2009
Fried Bread (I Call It Bannock)