Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Bread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2014

      My cupboards were bare and bellies were empty, so when I found this recipe I was thrilled. Since there was no butter, jam or gravy available I got creative and added a few dashes of spices I had in the cupboard, the only salt I had was in a rosemary coarse salt blend so I added 2 teaspoons of that and some crushed garlic cloves in the dough before frying. It was great Thank you so much :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      I think this dish has a lot of potential, and I'm sure I'll will be make it again. Before attempting this again, I'll have to figure out what seasonings to use, by reading all of the review, and see that will work for others, and than for me, to make it more flavorful or lot better for me to do! Anyway, excellent to do a SCRATCH on recipes. The more I play with my food, the more I love cooking, to make a recipe that will work for me, that is!! Than I can do the happy food dance!! I've will added this to my recipe book with my additions. THANK YOU!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Good to start, but needs adjustments when you make it. I used the exact measurements and ended up with the consistency of a cake batter. Had to knead in a lot more flour before rolling it out. Next time I'll add some salt to the mix as well since the bread taste bland. I can see a lot of potential for this though. Add some salt, garlic powder and some cheese and I think you would have a quick, "Wow! That's good bread." Thanks for the recipe. I'm going to continue to play with it. It has a lot of possibilites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Brilliant! This is the answer to all my nigh-time tummy urges... I seem to get mid-night cravings for sandwiches when I've just run out of bread. Tastes great as is; could add more flavour by replacing water with broth (just as thought). Thanks Mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Good, cheap, easy, fast. This tasted nummy with jelly on it, less nummy with eggs (but still good). Thanks for posting a quick breakfast/lunch bread. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      very good. and very simple. :) great recipie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      TOO easy!!! Wonderful taste. The thing I loved about this recipe was the lack of wait time before frying. These came out perfectly and very fluffy. Thanks for sharing this vintage recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      Just like Dad used to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      Wasn't sure about how this would turn out so I halved the recipe - made this to go with coconut chicken curry and my DH complained that I made too few!! We have something here in South Africa that tastes kinda similar, called "vetkoek", only difference is that "vetkoek" is essentially bread that is deep fried. Easy and quick to make. Thanks for posting , this is an ideal meal filler/end of month/short on time, great tasting recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      I loved it!!!!! It went perfectly with a pot of Puerto Rican beans. I plan to also make them with some cornbeef. I fried them in Olive oil and would add salt next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      I just made this for a snack for me and the kids - if the kids ate them, they must be good! I used a little more than 1 cup of water but I think this was because I wasn't very accurate with the flour measurement. I was reminded of scones when rolling & cutting into squares. We ate the bread with just butter or butter and golden syrup. They were just delicious, nice and soft inside and slighty crispy on the outside. I think it took all of 15 minutes to make and cook. This reminds me of the Fried Bread I used to have back in NZ as a child.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      Great recipe. Tastes just like the name! It really does taste like fried bread. The outside is crispy, but the inside is dense, like a good loaf of bread. I didn't get mine quite done enough, so I think they were a bit heavier than they were supposed to be, but the whole family ate them! A miracle! I made mine more like biscuits. I didn't roll them out, but pinched some off, flattened it a bit between my hands, and fried the flattened bits. They ended up like biscuits. Very tasty, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      Made this for something quick before I went to class, this morning. It was so easy , and came out great. I quarted the recipe since it was just me, and I got two good-sized pieces. One side got burnt (I'm a beginner), but I was able to just cut it off and put the butter on that side. SO good. I may try to sweeten up the recipe when I make it again, tomorrow, but I don't think it's really necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (505 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 102.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    37%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 162.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites