Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fried Bologna Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Bologna Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2013

      I ate a ton of Bologna Sandwiches growing up! Ours were pretty basic, a thick slice of good bologna on white bread with a little mayo and mustard..and that's still my favorite. It had been ages since I'd had one, so I just had to make one for old times sake and it was as good as I remembered! Ahh, the childhood memories associated with these....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Grew up on these things. Try it with lettuce on a hard roll. It's outstanding with Mister Mustard. Best mustard out there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      I grew up on fried bologna sandwiches...in my opinion there are four ways to fix a bologna sandwich....In the summer: white soft bread, homegrown tomatoes, mayonnaise, salt and pepper. Anytime: bologna and american cheese on white bread with mustard. Now fried bologna: fried egg and bologna on white or rye bread (bread has been spread with butter/oleo and grilled prior to putting egg/bologna on bread. The one we grew up on: fried bologna on white toast with mayo. Good old bologna or as my dad called it: Georgia round steak!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      This is the best comfort sandwich. My mother made this for us growing up. Be sure to use very soft fresh bread and we have purchased the "chubs" of bologna and made thick slices. Thanks for the reminder to make this for my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Never had a fried bologna sandwich before. I made this with a kraft cheese slice (I'm in Canada) and for whatever reason I had the instinct to put fresh sliced onions on it (and I'm not an onion fanatic either). It was fanfreakintastic!!! I didnt use the oil to fry because bologna comes with it own tbsp per slice.... lol. Thanks!!! Must try with fresh onions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I also really like these. They are not gourmet, but simple filling food! I ate these every night for a month during my first pregnancy (I also like mine meaty--3 slices bologna!) Lots of mustard and I skip the oil. Also, listen carefully while it cooks...the bologna kinda squeals (like a piggy) when it fries...a little creepy :) Also, I just do 3-4 small slits around the edges, not to the middle (still helps keep it from curling.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      I enjoyed this sandwich a lot! I bet it is even better with beef bologna and not the fat free that I had on hand. Will be making again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      This definitely elevates the lowly bologna sandwich to something special! I don't buy bologna very often, but my 3-yr-old does enjoy it in a sandwich, so when it was on sale I decided to buy it and try this specific recipe. So glad I did! I plan on skipping the cheese next time and replacing it with a bit of dill pickle relish...yum! Thanks for a really great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      i really cant believe there is recipes for fried bologna sandwiches, thats wonderfull thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      My mamaw use to make these for me. She use to just put mayo and a slice of tomato on the buttered white bread that she browned. These are so good. Loved them then and love them now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      This was great! I took it a step further and buttered and grilled the outside of the bread slices after assembling the sandwich. Kind of a grilled bolona and cheese sandwich. Excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      Although I have never tried this sandwich on white bread ( I always used tortillas), but this is an awesome recipe. I always use butter instead of the oil for the browned butter flavor. I hope this is not such a digression from the original that it is obnoxious, but fried bologna rocks. Try it with different cheese, and add veggies to suit your taste. I also like a swiss/parm. cheese with it. Go crazy..This recipe is delish! Heather

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      I almost had to wipe the drool of the keyboard lol! What a great sandwich, quick, easy and yummy. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      this is a good sammie we have this all th time i do like chedder on it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      Well this was a first for me and it certainly won't be the last time I make it. I really liked it and so did my 2 yr old, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      There is no getting around the fact this is the ONLY way to eat bologna! We were not rich growing up and food was pretty simple. Since my pop is totally addicted (I kid you NOT) to bologna and tomato sammies in the summer when the tomatoes are in abundance, we always had bologna on hand. I have been known to skip the bread (and don't prefer cheese or mustard) and go straight for the heaven that is fried bologna. I'm just glad that others (all 23 of us) are not foodie snobs and will eat stuff like a bologna sammy. I've seen people snirl up their nose, but they've probably never tried it. GIVE IT A GO! even if it is just once. YUM..Thanks, Tina, for the memories of youth and reminding me there are people who enjoy the same Redneck delights I do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      Yummy We had our and still do with a fried onion and ketchup on toast and of course cheese. Now that we are all grown up and still eating these sometimes we put the fancy cheese on ours,lol!! Still a great sandwich, shhhhhh don't tell the kids, lol!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      I agree with Cinda, we ate our with ketchup. Growing up my mom had to stretch a dollar, so I thought that is why we had those. That's probably why mom never added cheese. I do agree that you do not need to add the oil, we never did. I still love those sandwiches today! I do like mine crispy also. Thanx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      I grew up eating these also.If you cut small cuts all around the edge,it will keep it from cupping and will stay nice and flat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      I made kind of a diet version of this. I used low cal bread, 1 slice of fat free bologna, and 1 slice of 2% cheese. I sprayed the bread with I Can't Believe It's Not Butter spray and fried everything up. SO GOOD! And only two WW points for those who may be counting. Thanks for the great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Bologna Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.1
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    45%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 24.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 865.3 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites