16 Reviews

oh yummy!! I sprinkled some powdered sugar and a touch of maple syrup...great sweet to end a wonderful dinner. The ease of made it even better!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac January 02, 2003

I made these for my daughter to serve while she gave a report on the country of Laos (Vietnam neighbor). They were easy to make, the batter is delicious. I only had time to let the batter rest for 15 minutes, and it worked just fine. Her teacher said that these were the best treats brought in!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Green March 11, 2003

Just yummy. They're even better when served with a small scoop of vanilla ice milk.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emmett The Sane April 17, 2002

These are yummy, easy to make, and addicting!I will make these again for sure. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quest4ZBest February 17, 2007

My review: Listen to all the negative reviews. I wasted my oil on this. I don't know why people even gave this any stars....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn N. March 01, 2015

Just delicious, and very easy to make. The batter is lovely, and if any is left over you can add it to the oil tablespoon at a time to make small rounds which can be served with cinnamon sugar.<br/>Also, great with ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anastasia-Sacha September 24, 2014

I'm not sure what I expected from this recipe, but I thought the dough would be a little crunchy on the outside with hot sweet banana inside. However, deep fried until the dough was nicely browned all over, once cool enough to eat-- the dough was soft and rubbery, and the banana inside was piping hot mush. I did start with firm bananas. I think they would be better in a crispy dough, but then I am not familiar with how this 'should' turn out, perhaps it is supposed to be non-crispy with hot mush inside. It was not bad tasting with some caramel sauce, but texture was an issue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaylee January 20, 2014

I made these for my son's 2nd birthday dinner. He is gluten-free, and I'm dairy-free, so I substituted a mixture of white & brown rice flour for the all-purpose flour. And original almond milk for the cow's milk. It was great! Everyone enjoyed them, and with the left-over batter, I made a funnel cake. Wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adielynne April 20, 2011

I thought this was fantastic... added some brown sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla extract to the batter and they are yummy..I only let the batter rest for about 15m since my 3yr old thought he was starving...thanks for sharing....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennXMCM April 16, 2011

Sorry, this was just a greasy, mushy mess. Too embarrassed to serve to my family, dumped in the garbage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChunkyPorkChops April 28, 2010
Fried Bananas