Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Tomato Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Tomato Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2012

      Fresh from the garden taste. I combined Roma tomatoes with heirloom ones and it worked great. I also add fresh herbs (sage, rosemary, basil, and tarragon), green chilies, jalapenos, and red/yellow bell peepers. I freeze this and give to my friends and use it when I need spaghetti sauce. Love this sauce!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      I followed this recipe... somewhat! I added 6 garlic, 4 Italian sausage links, left out the parsley and added 4 anchovy fillets. I blended half the sauce so it was not so chunky. As it was, the sauce was really quite nice. Here is where I differed: I had about 3/4 cup of Roasted Eggplant Dip (81983) left over from a previous dinner party, so I added it to the pot. Once cooked, I removed about 1-1/2 cups and added about 1/4 cup cream (the rest, I froze) This sauce turned out fantastic....enough so that if I ever do the Eggplant Dip again, I will put some aside to make this sauce up again. I served this over fresh pasta that I made with my pasta machine. DH was a very happy man! This recipe will definately go in my rotation! Thanks for the inspiration!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      This turned out great, and thickened on its own, although it was hard to let it simmer that long. I added meatballs during the last 20 minutes of simmering, but the sauce was hearty enough alone that it would have been fine without them :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      This sauce is fantastic. I don't use tomato paste as was mentioned by others. It makes the sauce bitter. It cooks down to a nice thickness without paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      YUM! This is the best fresh tomato sauce ever! I did not peel the tomatoes but let it simmer a little longer. Also added a small can of tomato paste to thicken and used a little more garlic than called for. My family are meat eaters so I added chicken Italian sausage at the end -- delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      awesome! my favorite pasta sauce by far! Put the sauce in the pasta and mix before you serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      This is the recipe that i have been looking for!Tahnk you soo much! I have added some tomato paste(about 6 oz) to make it thicken n a creamy look. I used dried herbs as I couldnt get fresh one. I also omitted the parmesan cheese. but the taste is still fabulous!! I love the chunks of tomatoes a lot! Absolutely will use this recipe again n again...yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      The sauce has a good flavor - taste your sauce before adding the sugar. My tomatoes from the garden last fall were already sweet enough. I liked the thinness of the sauce - light and flavorful even after freezing for 6 months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      Used this perfect recipe several times during the past few months. Had a bountiful crop of red and yellow cherry tomatoes. Worked perfectly. Beautiful taste and appearance. 12 yr old daughter says this is the only recipe she wants me to use. Thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Thanks for giving us a natural, fresh tomato recipe. I liked it. Added oregano too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      My sweet Neighbor Lady gave me tons of tomatoes from her garden & I was so lucky to find this recipe! I made it today & it is fabulous; it's easy, & it is wonderful!! I did use 1/2 can of tomato paste because the review prior said it needed to be thicker! Thank You, Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      On a salt restricted diet as I am, I have been looking for an alternative to the high sodium content of prepared spaghetti sauce and canned tomato products. So, I was quite motivated to try this recipe. Having read some of the reviews that complained of the sauce being runny, I decided to use a pound and a half of Roma tomatoes and the rest in heirloom tomatoes as they are so rich in flavour. I think it was closer to 5 pounds of tomatoes that I used. I also cooked it for about 3 hours...or until the sauce was quite nice and thick. I am very happy with the way it turned out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Very very tasty recipe!! Thanks so much - I made great use of my overabundance of garden tomatoes today! I did add some tomato paste for thickening, as well as some italian sausage towards the end. We will enjoy this all winter, straight from the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      Liked the taste well enough, but we probably won't do this again unless we have tomatoes from the garden to use up. It was thin, and therefore left chunks and no red sauce on the noodles - so the kids didn't believe it was spaghetti! If we try it again, we'll put it in the blender to make it more uniform. It smelled really good while cooking. All we did different was add a chopped pepper, and 3 tsps of Italian seasoning. And left of the parsley, since we didn't have fresh and couldn't remove it, like the directions said.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      My husband and I both loved this sauce. We made pita pizzas and it was delicious. I love a lighter tomato sauce instead of one that is thick and this fits the bill! Thanks for a recipe I will use many times. Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Excellent! I pureed the sauce in the blender after cooking. My husband said it was the best sauce ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      I really liked this sauce. I used it in making eggplant parmesan and saved the leftover sauce to freeze. I added some reoated red peppers and a little red wine to the sauce and a used a handheld blender to make it smoother. I'll definitely be making more of this. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      This is a simple, delicious sauce that is ideal for quick dinners! i added some fresh mushrooms and a few spinach leaves and a splash of red wine. It was great without the additions but we enjoyed the finished product very much. Thx for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      Oh, my! I totally used this recipe as a base to jump off of and made something this never even thought about being! This recipe was pretty good, but at the start, I added half a chopped yellow pepper and about 2C of zucchini and let it cook for a LONG time in my slow cooker, giving it a good smoosh every so often. When it was done, it really was good, but since I am on Weight Watchers, I wanted to make it into a meal, so I added 1/2 lb ground beef, already cooked and rinsed to take out any fat, a packet of taco seasoning, a can of whole kernal corn (drained) and a can of black beans, rinsed. Wow, was it good. I totally pirated the recipe, but it sure made an awesome meal, almost a taco chili. It certainly took care of the MANY tomatoes covering my counter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      This is a great spaghetti sauce and a great way to use up your fresh garden tomatoes. As is, it's light, delicate flavors balance perfectly. For something a little more robust, we added a little Italian sausage, Italian seasoning, and crushed red pepper flakes. Fabulous either way. Thanks for posting, We'll be making this again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Tomato Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.4
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    54%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 405.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 11.6 g
    46%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes