69 Reviews

I never knew homemade spaghetti sauce was so easy! After the sauce had simmered for two hours I added a pound of sliced fresh mushrooms and a pound of browned ground sausage. We ate it over spaghetti squash and it was delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JCStrong September 12, 2013

A great fresh taste that you can't get from a jar.<br/><br/>This recipe is great, and it's very forgiving if you want to make modifications. I've added bell pepper (because I had to get rid of it), adjusted the amounts (again, for the sake of using up what I had), etc., and it always turns out great. Or, just make it as-is, and it's still wonderful. I like to make a bunch of this at the end of summer and freeze it for the following year (and then we add ground sausage when we're ready to top our spaghetti).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Birkkae September 05, 2013

This recipe is amazing!! I have never made tomato sauce before but wanted to use one that called for fresh tomatoes, using the tomatoes from my friends' garden, so this fit the bill. It was simple, straight-forward, and absolutely delicious!!! I didn't have enough tomatoes so I made a half batch and that was plenty for me and my toddler to eat for days. Now I'm begging people for their home-grown tomatoes so I can make more and more of this sauce :) As others have mentioned, do watch the sugar/sweetener because you may not need that much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lesley_crable August 30, 2013

This recipe was great! I had never tried to make spaghetti sauce before, and these instructions made my first attempt a success! I would recommend this recipe to anyone who likes a tasty spaghetti sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eric P. August 22, 2016

Love this sauce. Has anyone tried to can it? And if so did it hold up well?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lexi C. August 11, 2016

This sauce is SUPERB!! I read the reviews before making it so that I could make some adaptations. I added some tomato paste to make it thicker and give it more body. This must have worked well because the consistency was perfect!! I also doubled the seasoning, pureed it after combining and then slow cooked it for 2.5 hours on high. This was hands down the best sauce I have ever made. My family also loved it:-) I froze some of it but used the majority of it in a gluten free lasagna. I will definitely make this sauce my tradition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gray_india November 02, 2015

my hubby LOVES this sauce. I dont use it as spaghetti sauce per say but I do use it over pasta with grilled cajun chicken on top. My hubby loves simple sauces and this one fit the bill. So fresh tasting and you dont feel bad after eating it. It sort of tastes like mexican fidello soup and since thats one of his favs this one made the list as a keeper recipe. I followed the recipe with 2 exceptions... I didnt add sugar as my sauce was sweet enough and also I blended the sauce. A+ recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anitalopez October 29, 2015

Very simple, very tasty sauce. I give it 4 stars because I highly recommend blanching the tomatoes and removing the skins before dicing them. It makes for a nicer textured sauce without the skins. I used dried parsley instead of fresh and turned out great, but the fresh basil is a must!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buttercreambarbie September 29, 2015

The reviews were so good so I made it exactly. Very, very runny. Family did not like it. Used fresh tomatoes, basil and parsley from my garden. Weighed the tomatoes even. What did I miss?? I have a FCS degree so I don't flub many dishes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori E. September 29, 2015
Fresh Tomato Spaghetti Sauce