59 Reviews

I really enjoyed this recipe. It is defintely a keeper and one that I will experiment with. I used plum (Roma) tomatoes from my garden and used a technique from a Williams-Sonoma cookbook that said to cut a shallow X into the flowering end of each tomatoe, place in boiling water for 20 seconds and then immediately dip them into ice cold water. The skins came right off! The modifications I made to this recipe was to use 3 small to medium sized onions, doubled the garlic (8 cloves), and added two jalapenos (one seeded, one not) for some heat. Everything else I kept as is. My friend, with whom I shared this, said it was really delicious. Thanks for posting.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny September 16, 2007

In late summer when the tomatoes are plentiful and ripe on the vine, this fresh sauce is a staple at my house. The family loves it, and guests rave. You can't go wrong on this one. Thanks UPDATE: Incredibly delicious and simple. Vine ripened tomatoes make the sauce spectacular. A definite crowd pleaser. I have substituted fresh rosemary for the basil. Yummy.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bob Crouch February 02, 2002

This was great and will probably also make a great base for tomato soup as well. First, for those who found it too thin, make sure 1) you're simmering it UNCOVERED and 2) to try pureeing it. I used an immersion blender which made this super easy and fast. I also added fresh oregano b/c I had it. Lastly, you can easily can/freeze this and pull it out to make a quick tomato soup: add a little chicken broth and if you like a 'bisque', some cream, half and half or whole milk.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimnyo August 24, 2012

This sauce is WONDERFUL! It's so fresh tasting with the garden tomatoes. I'm glad I ran across this recipe. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rothiii August 25, 2013

Absolutely fantastic!! I have made three batches in less than two weeks. I froze today's batch in a gallon freezer bag! This recipe is a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsallaboutel66@aol.com August 08, 2012

Followed the recipe to a "T" except I doubled it but kept the oil to 1/4 cup. Yummy!! Thanks so much for sharing and giving me something else to do with my over-flowing garden!! :O)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins August 24, 2010

As I'm not a fan of chunky sauce, I pureed the tomatoes with an immersion blender before beginning. I don't know if this made it thicker than other reviewers have reported, but I thought the consistency was good. I also added a little Italian seasoning per my husband's request.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech July 10, 2009

This wasn't really saucy enough for us. So after a few hours in the slow cooker, I dipped half out for freezing and added my favorite canned spaghetti sauce, mushrooms, bell pepper, a tablespoon of Italian seasonings (in place of the basil), one pound of ground beef and cooked uncovered for an hour. Yummm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janie from TX August 07, 2014

Flavourful, fresh tasting sauce, but I didn't like the consistency. Didn't "stick" to the pasta. I pureed the tomatoes as others had suggested, and left uncovered to simmer for almost 3 hours but still found it failed to match the thickness of sauce we usually use.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbroh April 24, 2014

Have been making this for over a year now and realized that I had not reviewed it yet. It's the only sauce that my husband will eat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssnb66 November 13, 2013
Fresh Tomato Spaghetti Sauce