Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Tomato Sandwiches Saturday Lunch on Longmeadow Farm Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Tomato Sandwiches Saturday Lunch on Longmeadow Farm

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2009

      I have been making tomato sandwiches all my life just like this EXCEPT I do not care for Miracle Whip. I like mine with Hellmans (Best Foods) Real Mayonnaise. Also like a bit of basil on it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      What a delicious, fresh-tasting, summery lunch! I used a couple of gorgeous, ripe heirloom tomatoes, sweet onion, buttermilk bread (not homemade, alas--but still good!), and added fresh-ground sea salt and pepper. The sandwiches were divine, dripping with tomato juices running down our fingers to our arms. The only change I'd make is that I think we prefer the flavor of mayonnaise to butter with tomatoes. The onion and chives were a marvelous addition that really brought out the sweet, juicy goodness of the tomatoes. Thanks so much for sharing, Andi! Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      wonderful sandwiches .love them this way .people should look at your recipes just for the stories you tell , you rock

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I love your simple recipes that are so tasty! My mom didn't make these for me when I was growing up,I bet she won't believe something this simple can taste so good. I made it around lunch time, so I could take photos and I ate if for dinner. I attemted to actually, coz DD attacked me and ate most of it. The onion was mellow by now ,so she could eat it too. She asked :"Auntie Andi can make soup(aka tomato soup) and sandwich too?"No chives for me,impossible to get them,but I bought the tomato smelling tomatoes.In summer, I'll make this a lot with real tomatoes and I can enjoy ice tea,too.Thanks for sharing,andi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I had forgotten how much I enjoy a simple fresh tomato sandwich! This is a brilliant lunch, although I couldn't bring myself to follow step 7- in the middle of winter in the pouring rain! Thanks Andi for bringing back wonderful memories of eating these sandwiches years ago. Can't wait to try it with home-grown tomatoes next summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      So simple and delicious! It's the perfect time of year here to showcase the gorgeous fresh tomatoes, and this was an excellent way to do so. I used a white candy onion, and it was lovely. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      I forgot just how delicious these are. Sometimes less is just SO MUCH MORE! I make my own breads so enjoyed this little delight on some freshly-sliced crusty french bread. My father ate Tomato Sandwiches for years like this. I first tried them with butter and without mayo when I was a teen. There just isn't anything better. (Note, I use real butter. No substitute for it.) Thank you for lunch today, Andi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      OK this is NO FAIR!!!! Dinner is in 2 hours and I now want a tomato sandwich!!! Well I must simply indulge my weakness.... will rate later~ update... oh myyyyy.... I had to make it MINE!!! I was roasting a pile of garlic and simply just had to spread some on my bread... big sigh...yumm yumm! thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Even tho everything was fresh from the garden, it needed a bit more seasoning for us than just the fresh chives. Using a whole grain fresh baked bread helped a lot but it still needed something more for us. I raided the herb garden and was pleased with the results when added with the whole grain fresh baked bread. 5 with the changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      It truly doesn't get any better than this. I used vidalia onions and added salt and lots of fresh ground black pepper. Summer's finest sandwich. Thanks Andi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      This is a most delicious sammy. A few changes albeit minor. Instead of butter I used Dijon mustard, and I did toast (lightly) my FiberRich WW bread by Arnolds. I love it. This brings back memories for me as a kid this is what we had for lunches most days. We always had a huge garden with plenty of fresh tomatoes. Yummy Yummy. Thanks for the memory!~ Made for HolidayTag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Anticipation just keeps me waiting. Had to wait for the farmers make to come so I could get some beautiful heirloom tomatoes, and a nice sweet onion. Then a agonizing cry as the wait went on while the wonderful smell of fresh baking bread fill the house. But oh at long last bread baked. Tomatoes and onions bought and sliced. Ahhh! Lunch and oh what a great fresh lunch it was. From such simple ingredients comes such a full flavored meal. So take a deep breath, let the saliva flow and set about doing what it takes to be able to enjoy a simple, but wonderful lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Delicious and simple. This recipe totally depends on the quality of ingredients - I can't wait till summer when I make this again and the tomatoes will be even tastier. The only changes I made were a couple suggested by other reviewers: I salted & peppered the tomatoes, and I used homemade mayonnaise instead of butter. If I hadn't had homemade, I'd have used the butter, because you can really taste all the ingredients in this marvelous sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      I made this for lunch and it was fantastic and simple to make. All the ingredients complimented each other, and it was so nice to make something so simple and quick to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      It's Saturday, it's lunchtime, and there's tomatoes on the vine! What better way to enjoy the afternoon than with a fresh-from-the-garden tomato which glistens like a giant ruby to make a couple of sunshine sandwiches. We used a silky spread of mayo mixed with pearls of roasted garlic in lieu of butter and cut the sandwiches into trianglular shapes that sparkled like diamonds! We served these delicious little delights with freshly made golden iced tea that glistened and shimmered over the cooling ice cubes and enjoyed it all on a platter of warm sunny day! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      The door swings open and Malcolm asks what is for lunch.......ooops! I have been "working" on Zaar all morning and have lost track of time! Help! In comes Andi and the farm with a solution......I have bodacious, plump tomatoes, I have home-made Cottage loaf, I have chives in the garden and this house is NEVER without onions - solution = this recipe! I cut the bread, slice the tomatoes and onion, snip the chives and butter the bread - REAL butter, NO low fat spread here! I place it all on a beechwood board, pour some chilled apple juice over ice and put up the parasol outside, then call my better half! FABULOUS recipe thanks to the Farm - the Auberge is in debt to you once again Andi - why over gild the lily when there are fresh ingredients to hand? I also sprinkled fresh sea salt over the tomotoes before serving and added the chive flowers for the photo. Simple and tactile eating, sitting in a sun dappled garden with the sound of the ice chinking in the glasses....sublime pleasures do not have to be expensive or taken out of the home. Get well soon Andi - and NO dancing on crutches, okay? The Auberge does the Farm's Fresh Tomato Sandwich - pronounced Tom-ART-o by the way - LOL! Merci ma leetle sweet pea. FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      My mum used to make us this exact sandwich when we were young (without the chives) and I still make it sometimes! DD loves it but she has it without the onion, with cucumber instead. This was my lunch today, didn't have chives so used freshly ground black pepper instead. Thank you, Andi, for sharing and reminding us of one of life's simple pleasures and for taking me down the memory lane! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      Simple pleasures are the best! I did use a little mayo instead of the butter. Loved it! Thank you Andi! Made for the Potluck game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      Tomatoes are my most favourite fruit! This was a perfect Saturday lunch, it was quick, easy and very yummy. I substitute the fresh chives with sprinkles of black pepper. Thank you Andi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      Wow, this was perfect for a very light supper on a very hot and sticky summer evening (or midday)! Do use a soft white bread, I don't think this would taste the same without it. I personally used a soft French boule. I also splurged on some real butter, and added a bit more than the recipe called for, since it's so low cal otherwise. I strongly recommend you use a sweet Vidalia or Walla Walla onion. I know my BF wouldn't have liked it otherwise, since he usually strongly resists eating raw onions. (I cut his slice a little thinner than 1/4 inch anyway.) However, we were both very pleased with this recipe. Only other thing I can recommend is perhaps adding some salt and pepper? Terrific recipe, it deserves multiple reviews! Do try it, as it really is the summer season incarnate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Tomato Sandwiches Saturday Lunch on Longmeadow Farm

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.2
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    21%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 291.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites