Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Tomato & Mozzarella Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Tomato & Mozzarella Salad

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2009

      This was a wonderful salad! I did add some diced onion and a little garlic salt for added flavor but will make this definately again. I served this with Nob Hill Chicken Bake#164782 by Chef#219942#219942 which made for a wonderful meal. Thank you for a delicious salad. P.S. Fresh tomatoes really add to the flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      This is one of my GO TO easy and delicious summer salads when the tomatoes are perfection. I sometimes add cucumber and/or red onion if I have it around. It's similar to a caprese salad taste but it feels lower maintenance. A must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      So delicious! Fresh garden tomatoes, the mozzerella and the dressing...what a great combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Wonderful Salad! Family couldn't get enough! Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      This was excellent! I didn't really measure anything, just threw it all together, and I probably used way more balsamic vinegar than called for, but it was a great side dish with dinner. Can't wait to try it this summer when the tomatoes are even better. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Great with Beefsteak tomatoes out of the garden and fresh Mozzarella!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I used grape tomatoes and fresh mozzarella. I also added tons of cracked black pepper and just a little finely minced garlic. It was delicious. I served it with a sourdough baguette, grilled fish and roasted asparagus. A wonderful meal. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Ah yes.... I love this way of preparing 'maters in the summer. Maryanne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      I have had a salad similar to this at a restaurant and I wanted to recreate it at home...since I was fixing it just for me, I reduced the measurements, only using one tomato. I bought mozzarella balls and quartered them...the basil was fresh from my garden and had a full flavor that was amazing! Panera's asiago bread made a nice side for a light lunch. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      Excellent salad and so flexable! This is one salad that I normally don't measure out the ingredients....it is a little bit of this and a little bit of that, until I am satisfied with color and taste. I sometimes use basil pesto instead of the basil, cutting down on the oil. An alternative way is to chop the the tomato and cheese into bite size pieces, adding garlic, salt pepper, a pinch of sugar and some chopped black olives. It is important that it rests for at least 1 hour so that you get the wonderful juices from the tomatoes. Have some rustic bread to catch all the juices!!! Artichoke hearts could also be added (but that is going to give this salad a whole different name!) This salad is also known as Caprese Salad. You can't go wrong with this one!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      I love this light and refreshing dish. I always use extra vinegar. I layer thick slices of tomato and cheese topped with thin strips of basil. Absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      This is a delightful summery salad or appetizer. We have had this a couple of times at TraVigne restaurant in St.Helena and enjoy it tremendously every time. We used (as the restaurant did) 3 Heirloom tomatoes and I subbed boconccini (plain) for the sliced mozzarella the second time around. Delicious.Thanks for posting. **Made for ZWT4**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Too bad we can only give 5 stars! This was very easy and oh so tasty. I used white balsamic vinegar, so the cheese stayed pretty white. Unfortunately my basil plant is suffering, so i had to cut down on the basil a bit, but DD8 is VERY proud of what she made anyway :) Made for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers, ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Mom's favorite salad! I usually just slice evrything but the folks seemed to like this chopped version. Probably because the flavors mingled more. I do think Kumquat is on to something with the white balsamic, though, because the cheese takes on the color of the balsamic & is yummy but (I think) looks unappealing. Made fro ZWT4 Zingo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Tomato & mozzarella doesn't get better than this, with basil and balsamic vinegar! I used a white balsamic, and just a bit of olive oil. Don't make this without the fresh basil! I used fresh mozzarella packed in water. I added a minced fresh garlic clove too. I ate right away without chilling. I couldn't wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Perfect summer salad/side dish/entree. I sliced versus cubed everything as a personal preference. Could not be a better flavor combination. For zingo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Delicious! This fresh tasting salad always reminds me of summer when tomatoes and basil are plentiful in the garden. My family loves this salad...what's not to love with tomato, basil, and mozzarella? This goes together in a hurry and is so full of flavor. Thank you for sharing! *Made for ZWT4*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      This was a yummy salad. I have to admit, I subbed canned diced tomatoes for the fresh. I know, I know, the recipe's name is "Fresh Tomato . . . ", but since the recent salmonella scare here in the US, fresh tomatoes have either been unavailable, really ucky looking, or astronomically priced. I drained and rinsed the tomatoes, which took away a lot of the canned flavor. The fresh basil and sea salt took care of the rest! :) Thank you for posting, made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Delicious! I threw this together in no time. Great flavor! Thanks! Made for ZWT4-Fancy Feinscheckers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Perfect summer salad! Only thing I did differently was to use garlic infused olive oil which I thought kicked it up just a bit. Being avid garlic lovers we try to sneak it into a lot of recipes. Very easy and quick to make! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Tomato & Mozzarella Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.6
     
    Calories from Fat 207
    73%
    Total Fat 23.0 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 44.8 mg
    14%
    Sodium 362.6 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 13.7 g
    27%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes