13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I wanted a tomato sauce made with fresh tomatoes and am so happy I chose this recipe. It was delicious!!! I think my Italian mother would have loved it. I served it over meat & cheese manicotti. I made two casseroles, one for my husband and I and another for my daughter and family. There were no leftovers. Thanks Potluck for a wonderful marinara sauce.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jahot August 21, 2009

This is excellent. My husband wanted to get a straw and slurp it up. I pointed out to him that it was too thick for a straw! My sauce was not watery at all. I followed the recipe exactly, well almost, I did not skin the tomatoes. I think because I used a very wide pan (13" diameter) more liquid evaporated. My food processor did a great job. Do not waste your time peeling the tomatoes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmacdonald3_10077534 September 23, 2013

I have made marinara my entire life, but I have never tried it with fresh tomatoes. I searched several databases to find a good recipe and I am glad I stopped here. This was the most fantastic recipe and fun to make. I used small plum tomatoes which are more meat and less juice, so my sauce came out nice and thick. I can now say I have found an award winning recipe for my tomatoes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FSCM September 17, 2012

I canned about 50 quarts of this from our home-grown tomatoes and basil. We have loved this sauce! It isn't too sweet or reminiscent of tomato paste. The sauce is a thinner sauce, but I don't recommend merely adding more paste, maybe reduce longer or cut back on liquids. Thank you for a fantastic recipe! We'll be canning it again this summer!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbrbunny April 26, 2012

We really enjoyed the flavor a lot. It was a little too watery for us, so next time I'll double the paste. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) August 26, 2009

OMG, amazing. We used canned tomatoes (2 x 28 oz for 1/2 of the recipe). I pureed them in the food processor along with the onion & fresh herbs (parsley, oregano & basil) I substituted for dried. We don't like our sauce too spicy so we cut pepper flakes in 1/2. My hubby liked this so much he wanted spaghetti & meatballs right away.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 February 18, 2009

I found this recipe 3 weeks ago. I realize it is from 2007, but this recipe deserves 10 stars. I usually don't follow recipes exactly the way they are written, but decided to do so with this one. I also never write reviews, but I just had to this time. I had an abundance of home-grown tomatoes, so I've been able to made 3 batches of this sauce. It is absolutely THE best marinara sauce I have ever tasted. I froze the sauce rather than canning it. I left out the red pepper flakes because I can't eat anything spicy or hot, and it was sweet and thick. Do yourself a huge favor.....make this sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi M. September 02, 2013

There is a restaurant in Lake Charles, Louisiana called "Mama Rosas" run by a wonderful woman from Napals. She makes her own sauces and pastas and her mariana sauce is the best I've ever had so I went in search of a recipe that mirrors it and this is it!!!! Perfect blend of spices and the tartness of the tomatoes is perfect!!!!!!! Thanks you for this wonderful recipe!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cajun chef in Louisiana June 16, 2008

Great sauce when using fresh tomatoes from your garden! You must cook the sauce for a couple of hours to reduce the water content and develop the rich and hearty taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
em.massey3 January 13, 2013
Fresh Tomato Marinara Sauce