Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Tomato Marinara Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Tomato Marinara Sauce

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2009

      I wanted a tomato sauce made with fresh tomatoes and am so happy I chose this recipe. It was delicious!!! I think my Italian mother would have loved it. I served it over meat & cheese manicotti. I made two casseroles, one for my husband and I and another for my daughter and family. There were no leftovers. Thanks Potluck for a wonderful marinara sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      This is excellent. My husband wanted to get a straw and slurp it up. I pointed out to him that it was too thick for a straw! My sauce was not watery at all. I followed the recipe exactly, well almost, I did not skin the tomatoes. I think because I used a very wide pan (13" diameter) more liquid evaporated. My food processor did a great job. Do not waste your time peeling the tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      I have made marinara my entire life, but I have never tried it with fresh tomatoes. I searched several databases to find a good recipe and I am glad I stopped here. This was the most fantastic recipe and fun to make. I used small plum tomatoes which are more meat and less juice, so my sauce came out nice and thick. I can now say I have found an award winning recipe for my tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      I canned about 50 quarts of this from our home-grown tomatoes and basil. We have loved this sauce! It isn't too sweet or reminiscent of tomato paste. The sauce is a thinner sauce, but I don't recommend merely adding more paste, maybe reduce longer or cut back on liquids. Thank you for a fantastic recipe! We'll be canning it again this summer!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      We really enjoyed the flavor a lot. It was a little too watery for us, so next time I'll double the paste. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      OMG, amazing. We used canned tomatoes (2 x 28 oz for 1/2 of the recipe). I pureed them in the food processor along with the onion & fresh herbs (parsley, oregano & basil) I substituted for dried. We don't like our sauce too spicy so we cut pepper flakes in 1/2. My hubby liked this so much he wanted spaghetti & meatballs right away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      I found this recipe 3 weeks ago. I realize it is from 2007, but this recipe deserves 10 stars. I usually don't follow recipes exactly the way they are written, but decided to do so with this one. I also never write reviews, but I just had to this time. I had an abundance of home-grown tomatoes, so I've been able to made 3 batches of this sauce. It is absolutely THE best marinara sauce I have ever tasted. I froze the sauce rather than canning it. I left out the red pepper flakes because I can't eat anything spicy or hot, and it was sweet and thick. Do yourself a huge favor.....make this sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      There is a restaurant in Lake Charles, Louisiana called "Mama Rosas" run by a wonderful woman from Napals. She makes her own sauces and pastas and her mariana sauce is the best I've ever had so I went in search of a recipe that mirrors it and this is it!!!! Perfect blend of spices and the tartness of the tomatoes is perfect!!!!!!! Thanks you for this wonderful recipe!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2014

      Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Great sauce when using fresh tomatoes from your garden! You must cook the sauce for a couple of hours to reduce the water content and develop the rich and hearty taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      I forgot to rate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      My daughter and I loved this but my husband was not so keen on it. I halved the recipe and used two 10 oz cans of diced and seasoned tomatoes and 2 frozen tomatoes I had to use up. I chose not to puree them and loved the consistency of the sauce. I had to skip the red wine as I was out. I added about a 1/2 tsp extra of sugar to a half batch and skipped the Italian seasonings.T his turned out perfect for our tastes. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      I think that this just maybe the sauce I have been looking for!! Wonderful flavor and a great way to use tomatoes from your garden!! I added just a touch more sugar, as I like it just a little sweet. Other than that, made it just like the recipe called for. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Tomato Marinara Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (3315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 389.6
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    35%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2556.4 mg
    106%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 12.2 g
    49%
    Sugars 37.8 g
    151%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes