Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Tomato, Basil Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Tomato, Basil Grilled Cheese Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2011

      Yum! What's not to love. I used butter as well as olive oil. Thanks for posting. I'm already looking forward to my next sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      Wonderful grilled cheese. This is great with the oil and the italian seasoning. Great idea! It was great with my fresh tomatoes. Thanks Rita :) Made for Holiday tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      Yum! This makes a great meal! I made using thick slices of sourdough bread, mozzarella cheese and heirloom tomatoes. The olive oil and Italian seasoning on the toasted outside is a tasty touch. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      This was very tasty! The only change I made was butter instead of oil (I just sprinkled the seasoning on as I was spreading the butter on the bread and it mixed in perfectly). I used Point Reyes Farmstead Cheese Co "limited edition" Farmhouse cheese. Thanks for sharing Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      This made for an easy, fresh, tasty lunch today. I used mozzarella cheese and made it on my panini grill. I could see this also being tasty with pesto. Thanks for posting. Made for June 2013 Veggie Swap

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      Made for February Sun and Spice Event and I am soooo glad I did. DH was gone at lunch time and so I made this and used fresh mozzarella cheese and ohhh it melted so nicely and with the herbs it made the sandwich. This is going into my Favorites of 2013.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      I loved this! The spices on the bread makes it taste just like foccacia! I used whole wheat sandwich bread, sharp cheddar cheese, and a little extra oil to cover the slices. I also found that using a george forman grill is a perfect, mess-free way of cooking this panini-style.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      I am stuffing my face with this wonderful sandwich even as I type! Yum! I used pepper jack cheese (just one slice) and the fresh basil is the topper! With a some sliced avocado on the side - I'm in heaven! Thanks for the wonderful recipe, Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      Made a bunch of these in the broiler tonight for dinner using fresh basil and heirloom tomatoes from our little Farmer's Market and mozzarella cheese. We will definitely have these again...no more plain ol' grilled cheese for us any more! Thanks for posting this very tasty recipe Rita. Made, enjoyed and reviewed for the 12th Veg*n Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      WOW! You have done it again as far as we are concerned. This was wonderful. I am trying some different grilled cheese sandwiches and this was the first one. I doubt the others will be as good, but will try them anyway. Thanks so much for posting. We will make this often and I would give it more stars if I could. I used sliced American cheese and roma tomatoes. YUM. Edited to add that after trying some others, it is still the best. Thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      this is a delicious and filling sandwich! definitely a keeper. next time..ham and cheese grilled sandwich with sliced apples on the side.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This was really a good sandwich. I made it with wheat bread and colby jack cheese. I think if I had made it with sourdough bread and mozzerella it would have taken it up even a notch further. I ate it with some tomato-basil soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      oh wow, excellent sandwich! So simple and yet so good! I couldn't find fresh basil in the grocery so used the dried basil spices instead. Love the taste of melted cheese with tomatoes and italian spices! Thank you, Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I had a craving for a grilled cheese and bumped it up using Provolone, hard salami, tomatoes and basil. Great sandwich Rita! 80} Potzi

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      This is a great switch-up to the regular grilled cheese sandwich (although I do love those too!). The peppery taste of the fresh basil, along with the lovely slices of tomato I got from the local farmer's market really kicked it up. I used American cheese and whole wheat bread. Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      great pannini/sammie/sandwich! This creative inspiration will inspire you to tweak this anyway you want. I had some jarred marinara...after I brushed the outside part of the sammie with the oil/herb mixture, I then brushed the inside with the marinara. Followed the rest of the instructions using mozzerella and provolone for cheese. Used my sandwich maker to grill. This one would be great if you added cooked bacon or added cooked bacon, deli meat and made it into a club sandwich enclosed in gooey cheese. Oh yeah, we'll be doing this one again baby!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Wow, my partner and I couldn't get enough of these sammies! What a tasty way to use the summer tomatoes. I used sliced provolone cheese, and sprinkled the tomatoes with a little salt and pepper, along with dried oregano and thyme. I spread my bread with butter though. Cannot wait to have these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      OMG,,my husband ate 3 of these and could have had another if there had been any left!! The olive oil, I used Lemon Olive Oil, gave the bread such a delicious crust, I did add some butter to the pan as we like the extra flavor. he rated it 10 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      Great sandwich! Did mine on rye with brie cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Tomato, Basil Grilled Cheese Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 253.9
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    32%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 8.9 mg
    2%
    Sodium 518.3 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 14.5 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites