30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum! What's not to love. I used butter as well as olive oil. Thanks for posting. I'm already looking forward to my next sandwich.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 02, 2011

Wonderful grilled cheese. This is great with the oil and the italian seasoning. Great idea! It was great with my fresh tomatoes. Thanks Rita :) Made for Holiday tag game

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette August 27, 2011

Yum! This makes a great meal! I made using thick slices of sourdough bread, mozzarella cheese and heirloom tomatoes. The olive oil and Italian seasoning on the toasted outside is a tasty touch. Thanks for the post.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl August 21, 2011

This was very tasty! The only change I made was butter instead of oil (I just sprinkled the seasoning on as I was spreading the butter on the bread and it mixed in perfectly). I used Point Reyes Farmstead Cheese Co "limited edition" Farmhouse cheese. Thanks for sharing Rita!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 June 25, 2011

This made for an easy, fresh, tasty lunch today. I used mozzarella cheese and made it on my panini grill. I could see this also being tasty with pesto. Thanks for posting. Made for June 2013 Veggie Swap

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny June 20, 2013

Made for February Sun and Spice Event and I am soooo glad I did. DH was gone at lunch time and so I made this and used fresh mozzarella cheese and ohhh it melted so nicely and with the herbs it made the sandwich. This is going into my Favorites of 2013.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf February 14, 2013

I loved this! The spices on the bread makes it taste just like foccacia! I used whole wheat sandwich bread, sharp cheddar cheese, and a little extra oil to cover the slices. I also found that using a george forman grill is a perfect, mess-free way of cooking this panini-style.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast June 06, 2012

I am stuffing my face with this wonderful sandwich even as I type! Yum! I used pepper jack cheese (just one slice) and the fresh basil is the topper! With a some sliced avocado on the side - I'm in heaven! Thanks for the wonderful recipe, Rita!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BigNanc September 01, 2009

Made a bunch of these in the broiler tonight for dinner using fresh basil and heirloom tomatoes from our little Farmer's Market and mozzarella cheese. We will definitely have these again...no more plain ol' grilled cheese for us any more! Thanks for posting this very tasty recipe Rita. Made, enjoyed and reviewed for the 12th Veg*n Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate July 04, 2009

WOW! You have done it again as far as we are concerned. This was wonderful. I am trying some different grilled cheese sandwiches and this was the first one. I doubt the others will be as good, but will try them anyway. Thanks so much for posting. We will make this often and I would give it more stars if I could. I used sliced American cheese and roma tomatoes. YUM. Edited to add that after trying some others, it is still the best. Thanks again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bayousong June 09, 2009
Fresh Tomato, Basil Grilled Cheese Sandwich