19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The strawberries are ripe and this was the perfect recipe to use some of them! The cream cheese layer in the crust really added a nice flavor. Then, pouring the filling over the fresh berries gives you a mix between a cooked filling and a fresh filling. This is an excellent recipe! I will make this one often, I have a lot of strawberry lovers! Thank you Bev!!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz June 06, 2002

I had two buckets of fresh strawberries and this recipe sounded so good. I made two pies, one for my family and one for the neighbors. It was fast, easy and very delicious. I will definitely keep this recipe and make again!! I did change one thing, I used a graham cracker crust. I loved the cream cheese bottom, really added to the great taste of strawberries.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellen Brody June 27, 2002

We really love strawberries, and this pie is a very good way to fix them. Loved it!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
willowhisper1 June 08, 2002

This is an excellent strawberry pie recipe. Very easy to make too. I added some powdered sugar to the cream cheese. The strawberry topping was perfectly berry sweet. This looked dazzling and you should have seen everyone gobble it down. Thanks Bev :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Blue Eyes July 28, 2002

Oh Bev this is a keeper! I was lazy and used a store bought gram cracker crust. VERY GOOD!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamibic June 29, 2002

This is the best strawberry pie I've ever eaten. Simply delicious!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon14 June 27, 2002

I made this for a family gathering, and it got rave reviews. Although I made the glaze precisely according to the recipe, it was thinner than I would have liked it to be. I will probably add a bit more cornstarch next time. Since the pie went over so well, there will be a next time - it's definitely a recipe worth the effort of adjusting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siobhan M April 13, 2004

Delicious pie! I loved that it called for some mashed berries in the sauce and NOT strawberry gelatin like some recipes. It seemed far more honest and flavorful. I did not use the food coloring - it didn't need it. I'm glad I made a regular pastry crust - I think a graham cracker crust might have been too sweet. The lemon zest in the unsweetened cream cheese was GENIUS!! What a zing of contrasting flavor without more sweetness. Love this. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making April 10, 2015

This was an excellent and easy recipe. I used lemon extract in the cream cheese, which gave it even more of a lemony bite. Everyone really enjoyed it and wanted the recipe. Like many others, I did not feel the food coloring was necessary. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
astphard May 26, 2013

SO much better than a strawberry pie using the commercial glaze which I think can be overly sweet. The cream cheese layer is a great addition. I will make this often!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MicheleE June 18, 2011
Fresh Strawberry Pie