12 Reviews

This was an enormous hit! I sent this to work with my husband and everybody raved over it. The only gripe I have with this recipe is in the instructions. I tried putting this into a 9x13 pan and found that I didn't have nearly enough batter to even cover the bottom of the pan when I split the batter in half. I tried it in an 8x8 instead, and had great success! The cake rose nicely, just over the top of the pan, but once out of the oven it settled down to be at the pan's rim. This is definitely a fantastic way to use up those gorgeous strawberries! Thanks.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bricookie55 June 20, 2010

This is SO GOOD! I baked it in a 9 x 13, and the only change I made was more pecans (personal preference.) It could have just as easily been a dessert! Used a 16 oz container of strawberries, sliced thin. Next time I want to use more, even though it was incredibly moist as it was.... THANK YOU!! (hint: doesn't travel well unless you leave it level. Mine scooted around in the pan when we transported it on its side. Didn't affect the taste, but didn't look as pretty....Chilled it after travel and it tasted fine that way.) Adding in response to other reviewers: To me, it was easy to make in a 9x13. I spent some extra time spreading it thinly in the bottom, before putting on the strawberries. Then I put dollops of the dough on top of the strawberries, spreading carefully again to join the dollops so as to not disturb the strawberries too much. I thought it was perfect and moist like that. I want to try this with other fruit some time, like peaches or blueberries.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4theFamily January 21, 2015

This is moist, flavorful and spot on for a great breakfast. I CAN verify that the 8x8 pan works well at 350' but takes almost an hour to cook thoroughly. I didn't have strawberries, but used cranberries that were partially pureed. I also sprinkled the top with a flavored sugar from Your Inspiration at Home, Rose Sugar. It was a mild addition to add more flavor to an already great recipe. <br/>http://www.marclewis.yourinspirationathome.com.au/

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M A Lewis December 18, 2013

I am very happy with this recipe. I used strawberries that were extra ripe. I made it the night before it was needed and the next morning, the coffee cake smelled (and tasted) so good. I added a little drizzle of a confectioners sugar glaze to the top. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon April 16, 2009

This is great. I was looking for a 9x13 coffee cake. I didn't even have to pull out my huge kitchen aid stand mixer. My hand mixer was sufficient. It came out really moist. And not too sweet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom of twins #2 June 17, 2007

I made a few substitutions (out of necessity--I had items to use before they expired!). I used whole milk ricotta in place of the cream cheese and whole milk buttermilk in place of the regular milk. I also baked it in a 10" springform pan for about an hour and 10 minutes. This cake is to die for!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewells August 28, 2015

Delicious, delicious, delicious. Quick and easy to make with ingredients usually found in the pantry or fridge. We loved this wonderful treat. The strawberries and cream cheese were so good in this lovely cake. I used a 8x8 pan it worked perfectly for me. Great flavor, excellent texture, the cake rose beautifully and had a perfect crumb. Thank you so much for sharing another winner. Your recipes are wonderful. Made for Whats on the Menu Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato July 08, 2015

I think this recipe is overrated. I made with fresh strawberries and added an extra cup, but still did not find it very flavorful. I cooked in a 9x9 pan and extended cooking time to 50 minutes. It was moist, but I could not taste the cream cheese which I was sorry about.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 26, 2015

Im going to try making this into muffins today, ill let you know how it turns out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jolly Flapjack November 06, 2014

This was a big hit, although like other reviewers mentioned, the batter is a little difficult to work with. Still, I used a 13x9 inch pan and used a knife (and my fingers) to spread the batter out. The top layer is easier to work with, since it's just dropping the batter over the berries, sort of like a cobbler. Although I didn't think it tasted like a danish, it was certainly very delicious and received raves all around. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! July 28, 2012
Fresh Strawberry Cream Cheese Coffee Cake