Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Strawberry Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Strawberry Cake

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-89 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2007

      What's not to love here- strawberries, scratch cake, simple recipe- YUM! We all loved it. Very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      I've been baking cakes for over 40 years, so I know how to follow a recipe, and generally have no problems with end results. This cake did not rise for me, and one fell apart while taking it out of the pan. I still decided to take it to work, sandwiching the two cakes together with a frosting made from powdered sugar, butter, half-n-half and fresh strawberries. I used the strawberry glaze for the topping and trimmed the sides of the cakes. Everyone at work loved the flavor of the cake - I also served it with fresh strawberries and blueberries. So, the taste gets a 5 star rating, but the appearance I personally would only give a 3, thus an average of 4 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      All five of us LOVED this cake! It is sweet, but not too sweet...fruity, but not too fruity...rich, but not too rich. My husband who has never given ANY recipe more than 4 stars gave this a 5!! I didn't know how many strawberries to crush, but found that one quart was about 1 cup too much (though we will use the leftover today to make extra glaze for the remaining cake as we didn't have quite enough glaze for the second cake round). I made the glaze drippy enough that it could just barely be drizzled & then drizzled over each individual piece of cake just before serving. It made it look very "chef'y" :o. And, we liked this served warm best. Oh, also I didn't have cake flour & used the 2 1/4 cups flour less 2 Tbsp which I substituted corn starch for. It came out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Very good. I used the mini muffin pan for some sweet treats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      I made this for my brother's birthday, as he is such the strawberry fan. He loved it. My other brother said it was the best dessert he had ever eaten-this was after his third helping. I baked in a 9"x13" pan. After baking, I poked holes in the cake and poured the glaze over it. I then covered it with Kittencal's Stabilized Whipped Cream. It was very good. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      I thought it was great. The cake was more like a muffin consistency. Every one loved it. I am making it again tonight and I am going to add more strawberries to the batter hopefully this will moisten it up. It wasn't dry at all, but I'm trying to get away from the muffin batter) My strawberry glaze came out a little thick, so I poured and spread it on, let it sit, then came back with a homemade cream cheese icing. I laced the icing all over the top of the cake so you could see through to the strawberry puree top, then spread cream cheese icing over the sides. I also split the cake and added puree to the middle and that is a must, because it soaks into the cake...deliciouse!I heard people were talking about it the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      Absolutely fabulous cake! I read all the reviews and couldnt wait to go get cake flour-so made it with regular all purpose. turned out good! made it for someone's bday--went very well. There was hardly any left--everyone ran for seconds. thank u so much for posting. this will be a regular for sure...I had some glaze left over--would go well with pancakes i thought--but everyone went crazy over it and took it home

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      Made this a while ago and posted the review too but some error as I don't see it. Lovely cake and I split it and put the glaze in between the layers. Covered it with whipped cream icing and Some chocolate flakes in the centre with a border of sugar glazed stawberry. Looked scrumptious and from the reactions I will have to say tasted so too. Did not even get a single bite to taste though. Sigh! that reminds me, will have to make it again soon. Thank you, Fay :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      A really nice cake for the summer. I put the strawberries through the blender to make the icing really smooth. I will be making it again. Thanks Kim D.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Strawberry Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.1
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    28%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 42.3 mg
    14%
    Sodium 166.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 26.7 g
    106%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes