95 Reviews

We made this for our Valentines Day dessert. I made the cakes in a heart shape pan and then in between the layers I put a cream cheese frosting, then I poured the strawberry glaze over the top. Delicious. Thank you for a great dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 15, 2012

I'm giving this 4 stars because it's a great jumping off point for a strawberry cake recipe. I made a couple of changes. I doubled this recipe to make 24 cupcakes (a bit on the largish side) I cut the sugar by 1/3, increased the strawberries to 2 full cups (again DOUBLED recipe!) and added about 1/2 cup of milk. These changes produced a sweet, pink, fluffy cupcake that is absolutely delicious. Thanks for the starting point!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beccafromlalaland December 05, 2011

This is a great, moist cake. We added mini chocolate chips to the batter at my daughter's request. Yum! Fresh banana might be nice too.

The bakers that yielded dry cakes from this recipe either over-baked them or have oven problems.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
botanicalbrain October 11, 2011

I made this the first time for my daughter's 8th birthday as she wanted a strawberry cake. I can say we were not disappointed, more than that it is the only cake we have had since that time a year and a half ago because that's the one that all my family and friends want me to make. It truly is a delicious cake that is moist and nice and not too sweet. You can adjust the level of "strawberryness" by adding more or less crushed strawberries, we love it, it's our go to cake recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sierrasmommy528 September 26, 2011

This was VERY easy and the ingredients were all on hand. I was trying to use up a bunch of strawberries and surprisingly, it is hard to find a recipe that doesn't have instant cake mix in it! This recipe was FAB!
I was surprised how thick the batter turned out (perhaps my strawberries weren't ripe enough?) but it turned out great after baking. Will certainly make again!
The best part is that we kept this in a Tupperware container in the fridge and it was still moist 3 days later!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zamgirl September 10, 2011

This was very good, 9yo loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vjpack August 20, 2011

Very yummy! A huge hit at church potluck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vanessalynnryder July 11, 2011

Made this tonight for dessert. I decided to follow minbrain's review by using 3 tsp of baking powder and separating the eggs (check out their comment for more detailed instructions). It made a very nice, fluffy cake with great strawberry flavor. I would probably cut back the sugar in the cake to 1 c., especially if you are making the glaze (which I did) because it did taste a bit too sweet, but other than that it was really good. Thanks for the recipe! I will be making this again. :]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seresuto June 17, 2011

I really liked this cake! I made a 13" x 9" sheet cake and baked it for about 25 minutes. I read through the reviews and the comments about how the cake was dry. I wondered if maybe another stick of butter would help, but I instead added around 3 tbsp of oil to the mix. The cake was still a bit on the dry side, but it was absolutely delicious! The glaze is tasty, too, and it adds moisture to the cake. I think next time I will use my knife and stab the cake a few times to let some of the glaze seep inside. I will absolutely make this again. Oh, and in case anyone is wondering, I used 2 pints of strawberries for this cake, with perhaps 60% of them going toward the cake batter. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zoesmama May 27, 2011

as I was making this and had all ingredients combined I saw it was a very thick dry mixture and the taste was very bland. so I added a whole cup more of pureed strawberries. it made the batter a whole lot smoother and tasted much better. I am not doing the glaze. I made a homemade chocolate frosting. very tasty. As a rule of thumb, I base my consistency on packaged cake mixes. they are always very creamy, so if batter is too thick, you know its gonna be a dry cake. Also by adding extra moisture, I had to bake it a little longer. It came out very dense... and still was lacking the strawberry flavor i was going for... next time I will add some cake flavoring. HAPPY BAKING!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pepsi_grl13 May 23, 2011
Fresh Strawberry Cake