95 Reviews

Very good cake which we enjoyed. Instead of the round cake pans we used a heart shaped pan (fairly large) and cooked the cake for 45 minutes. Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ April 17, 2014

My 10-year-old daughter made this herself. The only change I would make is to drain the strawberries first and save the juice and then add it back in to thin it. She didn't do that and we ended up using a LOT of powdered sugar to make it thick enough to stick at all to the cake. It was amazingly delicious and and amazingly moist. A keeper and a great way to use up those strawberries in your fridge that are starting to turn. Plus it's kind of cathartic to smash up those berries with a potato masher.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX November 20, 2013

I wanted to believe the rave reviews, but what a disappointment!! I also used fresh ingredients, eggs and butter at room temperature, but this cake came out very dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gogabygo April 05, 2013

It might have tasted good, but the mixture was not soupy like it was supposed to be and the mix was extremly thick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loveann504 December 25, 2012

Very good. We'll be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes December 20, 2012

I made the cake and then put frosting over the top, instead of the glaze. It was good, but it tasted like white cake. Maybe the glaze would have helped that, I'll try again at some point and see. For now, I'm kind of disappointed in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilvorpalbunny May 23, 2012

Overall very good! I did have to add some milk because the "batter" wasn't very batter-like after following the instructions. But once the milk was added (wish I knew how much; I just added it until it was more of a batter and less of a muffin-type mix). It turned out light, moist and delicious! The perfect summer dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa_Marie1 May 20, 2012

I've been making this cake for three summers and I thought I'd reviewed it but I guess not. This is an outstanding fresh strawberry cake, exactly what I was looking for. I see some people complained that it was dry but that has not been our experience. The last time I made it I poked some holes in the cake which allowed the glaze to sink in. I love that this cake does not call for Jello or a cake mix, it's all natural and tasty. This is a family favorite when strawberries are in season.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaGNGa May 05, 2012

Great recipe. I add fresh lemon zest to the glaze and call it . . .Strawberry Lemonade Glaze. Of course. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela_HH April 06, 2012

This recipe is simply amazing! I've made it multiple times and it has never failed. The only thing that I do differently is use the Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting from recipe 169257. This combination makes for a much better all around cake and the pink cream frosting makes the cake look beautiful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef amfox April 05, 2012
Fresh Strawberry Cake