Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Strawberry Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Strawberry Cake

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2009

      My husband is a strawberry freak! He can't pass up fresh strawberries at the market when they are in season. Thought I'd give this a try to use up some berries. OMG!!!!! It's delicious! Try it! Oh and FYI...I baked in a 9 X 12 glass dish. Let it cool...poked holes with a straw...THEN poured the glaze over the whole cake. WOW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Super recipe ! The kids really loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I must have done something wrong, because this came out with a strong flour taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Excellent flavor! I halved the recipe to make a dozen cupcakes for work. The batter seemed stiff, so I ended up increasing the amount of strawberries to a half cup. I mixed this using a stand mixer, and next time may cut down on the mixing time in step 4 a little. I iced the cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing (Cream Cheese Icing). My coworkers are already asking for the cake recipe, which is always a good sign!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

    • on July 03, 2008

      Very nice cake! It even turned out well even though I used regular baking flour instead of cake flour...oops! After comparing this recipe with another cake recipe I had, I decided to only use 1 cup of sugar in the batter. Perfectly sweet without overpowering the berries! I also made a whipped cream frosting for the cake (whipping cream, vanilla and sugar) instead and topped each layer with sliced strawberries. I read somewhere that adding a pinch of baking powder to the whipping cream before you add the sugar and vanilla helps it hold up, so I tried it. Seemed to work! My frosting was not runny! Though, of course, I had to keept it in the fridge. I'm planning to make this cake again as a sheet cake for the 4th of July topped with strawberries and blueberries. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      This cake was very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly and really liked the glaze. I used 3/4 cup mashed strawberries in the glaze instead of just a 1/2 a cup and it was just right. I will make this again. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This cake was pretty good, a very nice change from the norm. I made the glaze more like a frosting, and wish I hadn't. Also, if I make this again, I will use cake flour. I subbed the 2 tbs of cornstarch for each cup of reg, and still it did not rise good. Still a good cake, half was eaten the first day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This was an awesome summer treat this evening--despite some problems. It didn't rise nicely for me, but I didn't use cake flour. I took out two tablespoons of my regular flour, but did not add cornstarch (which someone else mentioned in a review). The glaze was a little lumpy and I didn't care for the opaque pink color. When I make it again, I will either make a cooked glaze or add more powdered sugar to make more of a frosting consistency (as suggested in yet another review). I look forward to having too many strawberries about to go bad in the near future--so I have an excuse to make a cake again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Has anyone tried this cake with rice flour? I'm keen to try it, but have a problem with wheat flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Delicious!!!! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and made it in a 13x9 pan. Then poured the glaze on top!! Tastes like a strawberry shortcake when it's served with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      This is a fabulous recipe. I altered it just a little. I used a vanilla cake mix and added the strawberries to my batter. Then, made the glaze to go on top with only 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. The cake turned out wonderful and it was so simple to make. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      This was really good and I will make it again. While my kids loved the sweetness of the glaze, I thought it was a bit too sweet and I could taste the starchy flavor in the powdered sugar. Next time, I will try reducing the powdered sugar in 1/2 first and then if I need to, I will add more. I also sliced fresh strawberries and laid them on top for even more strawberry flavor and it added a great look.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      I made this to take to an Easter supper tomorrow night.I just tried a piece of it,I don't know if it will make it to the Easter supper.It is very tasty.I made a few changes.I did not have cake flour so I used white flour and 2 tbsp of cornstarch.I also added a tsp of strawberry extract.I did not have fresh strawberries so I used frozen ones instead.I put mine into a 9x11 pan and baked it for 40 minutes.I also omitted the glaze,it's really quite good without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      This is worth making, and I will make it again. I made this for my son's birthday cake. It was very tasty, and everyone who had a piece said it was good. I liked that it was very light and fluffy unlike many dense homemade cakes. I baked it in a 9x13 casserole dish. I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and I added a few drops of food coloring to make it look like a strawberry cake. I added at least an extra cup of powdered sugar to the glaze to make it more of a frosting. It never did harden completely, though. I also used 1 Tbsp. almond extract in lieu of the vanilla extract in the glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Very nice moist cake! I had it for breakfast & dessert! I used light whipping cream sprinkled with brown sugar instead of the glaze & it was amazing! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      this cake was amazing!!!! the smell of the strawberries when i was making the cake, wow!!! so moist and so yummy, i will defenetly make again!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

    • on August 26, 2007

      Can't believe I forgot to rate this! Delicious cake! Moist and flavorful! Thanks for a great cake, Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      What's not to love here- strawberries, scratch cake, simple recipe- YUM! We all loved it. Very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Strawberry Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.1
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    28%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 42.3 mg
    14%
    Sodium 166.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 26.7 g
    106%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites