95 Reviews

After all these fabulous reviews, I confess I was a little disappointed. It was good, don't get me wrong. I used whole wheat flour, as I do for practically everything. I also cut the sugar way back - to 1 cup. With the glaze it was still on the borderline of being too sweet. I was also pretty generous with the strawberries, but I still didn't find the strawberry flavour all that pronounced. I had some problems with the glaze being lumpy; I suspect the butter could have been omitted. Still, this was a nice cake overall.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Sanders July 11, 2003

This cake tasted great!! :) My family loved it!! It's a great recipe!!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lms1983 June 13, 2003

50 stars! This def deserves that!! It is a wonderful cake. Although this does not have any milk in it, it had a very creamy milky taste to it. It is wonderful. I used 3/4 cup of mashed strawberries for the cake, and another 3/4 cup for the glaze. It is to die for. I was actually looking for a recipe to use up strawberries, cos a good friend gave me a couple of boxes, but from now onwards, i will just buy some just to have an excuse to make this again!! Try it...!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac April 22, 2003

The cake is delicious and pretty easy to make. I used a different glaze recipe that is a lot better looking and probably not as sweet: http://www.food.com/recipe/vs-strawberry-glaze-199038

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanaDarko August 15, 2015

I've made this twice! It's been delicious and perfect each time!! Everyone loves it! For those who say their cake is too dense, my first thought is you didn't sift your flour! Sifting helps make a cake light. Excellent summer treat!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fiatlux28 July 20, 2015

I am NOT a baker, but did well with this cake! I totally overdid it with the strawberries, I must have added at least a cup and a half which added about 15 minutes of baking time, then I frosted it with white frosting instead of the glaze and served it with a coulis of sorts with the rest of the mashed strawberries I had on hand, it was delicious and everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akimberlyj June 30, 2015

IMO, this cake was far too sweet. I would omit some of the sugar. Additionally, the mixing directions led to an unnecessarily tougher texture. I would instead, mix the wet and dry ingredients until just moist, or fold in the strawberries at the end. Aside from this, the taste was pretty good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joe_red_45 June 02, 2015

I made it in a bundt pan. I added extra strawberries and milk to the batter. I doubled the glaze. I used a half a cup of white flour and the rest whole wheat. Also topped it off with a bunch of strawberries. The glaze was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy C. June 01, 2015

Eh, just not that popular in my house. I wanted a non box strawberry cake because I wanted to make one of those neopolitan rose cakes. The cake was heavy and kind of dry for me, especially in comparison to my chocolate and white cake layers. I won't be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.JenLeddy August 14, 2014

This is the second strawberry cake recipe that i've tried and it was Delicious!! I pulled the cake out 5 min early and it was so soft and fluffy! I did not want to stop eating from the pan. Everyone loved this cake, and I will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
violin_nani May 20, 2014
Fresh Strawberry Cake