89 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was wonderful! I'm not sure what some of the reviewers are talking about the cake being too dry...the only thing I can think is they didn't sift the flour before measuring it. I almost did that and put about 1/3 cup flour back. I LOVED this cake - sending it to work with by boyfriend tomorrow. The strawberry flavor was perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittyface November 07, 2011

We had a bunch of strawberries from a picking outing and wanted to try something different. This was delish! And so simple. We added a lot more powdered sugar to the glaze to make an icing and what really made it over the top, the juice of half a lime in the icing. OMG. So fresh tasting!

We paired it with a scoop of Pistachio ice cream. An awesome pairing! I highly recommend it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bfpele18 June 22, 2011

This is the first time I've been compelled to write a review. This cake is amazing and so easy to make! So moist and delicious with fresh strawberry flavour. I served it at a dinner party recently and people thought I was a culinary genius.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GeorgiaPeaches July 23, 2010

I had high hopes for this recipe. I wanted to make it for my daughter's first bday, but I really wasn't impressed. I like the strawberry flavor and the glaze is awesome. I didn't like the texture. It is too heavy and muffin like (as others have mentioned) I also found that it wasn't moist enough. Overall it was just ok.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla July 28, 2009

Alright, I like the flavor of the cake but the crumb/texture is dry and odd looking. It is not soft. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup. But everything else is the same.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB July 23, 2008

My first time making anything with strawberries, let alone fresh ones, and I am glad that I picked this recipe. So easy and delicious. Cake was moist, and tender. A little sweet so next time I would halve the sugar. There was a lot of glaze left, so I would halve that too. Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids September 12, 2006

Simply delicous! I made 6 small loaves instead of one cake, and gave them away as gifts with a chocolate-dipped strawberry on top. They were a huge hit and wonderful! The fresh strawberry taste really comes through!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
martiniswiller August 27, 2004

Great cake! I kept one for ourselves and shared another with friends. We all liked it. I wasn't sure in the directions if I was supposed to stack the cakes for layers and the picture didn't look like it so I just gave the 2nd away. We love fresh strawberries and the flavor was super. The powdered sugar in my glaze was a bit on the lumpy side too, don't know what caused it but it did nothing to deter from the yummy taste. Glad we tried it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW April 05, 2004

After all these fabulous reviews, I confess I was a little disappointed. It was good, don't get me wrong. I used whole wheat flour, as I do for practically everything. I also cut the sugar way back - to 1 cup. With the glaze it was still on the borderline of being too sweet. I was also pretty generous with the strawberries, but I still didn't find the strawberry flavour all that pronounced. I had some problems with the glaze being lumpy; I suspect the butter could have been omitted. Still, this was a nice cake overall.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Sanders July 11, 2003

This cake tasted great!! :) My family loved it!! It's a great recipe!!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lms1983 June 13, 2003
Fresh Strawberry Cake