Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Strawberry Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Strawberry Cake

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2003

      50 stars! This def deserves that!! It is a wonderful cake. Although this does not have any milk in it, it had a very creamy milky taste to it. It is wonderful. I used 3/4 cup of mashed strawberries for the cake, and another 3/4 cup for the glaze. It is to die for. I was actually looking for a recipe to use up strawberries, cos a good friend gave me a couple of boxes, but from now onwards, i will just buy some just to have an excuse to make this again!! Try it...!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2014

      Eh, just not that popular in my house. I wanted a non box strawberry cake because I wanted to make one of those neopolitan rose cakes. The cake was heavy and kind of dry for me, especially in comparison to my chocolate and white cake layers. I won't be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2014

      This is the second strawberry cake recipe that i've tried and it was Delicious!! I pulled the cake out 5 min early and it was so soft and fluffy! I did not want to stop eating from the pan. Everyone loved this cake, and I will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2014

      Very good cake which we enjoyed. Instead of the round cake pans we used a heart shaped pan (fairly large) and cooked the cake for 45 minutes. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      My 10-year-old daughter made this herself. The only change I would make is to drain the strawberries first and save the juice and then add it back in to thin it. She didn't do that and we ended up using a LOT of powdered sugar to make it thick enough to stick at all to the cake. It was amazingly delicious and and amazingly moist. A keeper and a great way to use up those strawberries in your fridge that are starting to turn. Plus it's kind of cathartic to smash up those berries with a potato masher.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      I wanted to believe the rave reviews, but what a disappointment!! I also used fresh ingredients, eggs and butter at room temperature, but this cake came out very dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      It might have tasted good, but the mixture was not soupy like it was supposed to be and the mix was extremly thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2012

      Very good. We'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      I made this for my husbands birthday, and was VERY disappointed. He said it was good, but he was just being nice... Days later nobody has had a second piece, so I'm going to toss it out. It was WAY overly sweet, had a weird texture, and the actual cake part didn't taste much like strawberries. It stuck in the pans, and yes, I greased and floured them well. I'm not a novice baker, I just wanted to try a new strawberry cake recipe instead of my normal one. I followed the directions 100% to the T and it just wasn't tasty at all. GL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2012

      I made the cake and then put frosting over the top, instead of the glaze. It was good, but it tasted like white cake. Maybe the glaze would have helped that, I'll try again at some point and see. For now, I'm kind of disappointed in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      Overall very good! I did have to add some milk because the "batter" wasn't very batter-like after following the instructions. But once the milk was added (wish I knew how much; I just added it until it was more of a batter and less of a muffin-type mix). It turned out light, moist and delicious! The perfect summer dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      I've been making this cake for three summers and I thought I'd reviewed it but I guess not. This is an outstanding fresh strawberry cake, exactly what I was looking for. I see some people complained that it was dry but that has not been our experience. The last time I made it I poked some holes in the cake which allowed the glaze to sink in. I love that this cake does not call for Jello or a cake mix, it's all natural and tasty. This is a family favorite when strawberries are in season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      Great recipe. I add fresh lemon zest to the glaze and call it . . .Strawberry Lemonade Glaze. Of course. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      This recipe is simply amazing! I've made it multiple times and it has never failed. The only thing that I do differently is use the Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting from recipe 169257. This combination makes for a much better all around cake and the pink cream frosting makes the cake look beautiful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      We made this for our Valentines Day dessert. I made the cakes in a heart shape pan and then in between the layers I put a cream cheese frosting, then I poured the strawberry glaze over the top. Delicious. Thank you for a great dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      I'm giving this 4 stars because it's a great jumping off point for a strawberry cake recipe. I made a couple of changes. I doubled this recipe to make 24 cupcakes (a bit on the largish side) I cut the sugar by 1/3, increased the strawberries to 2 full cups (again DOUBLED recipe!) and added about 1/2 cup of milk. These changes produced a sweet, pink, fluffy cupcake that is absolutely delicious. Thanks for the starting point!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      This is a great, moist cake. We added mini chocolate chips to the batter at my daughter's request. Yum! Fresh banana might be nice too.

      The bakers that yielded dry cakes from this recipe either over-baked them or have oven problems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      I made this the first time for my daughter's 8th birthday as she wanted a strawberry cake. I can say we were not disappointed, more than that it is the only cake we have had since that time a year and a half ago because that's the one that all my family and friends want me to make. It truly is a delicious cake that is moist and nice and not too sweet. You can adjust the level of "strawberryness" by adding more or less crushed strawberries, we love it, it's our go to cake recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      This was VERY easy and the ingredients were all on hand. I was trying to use up a bunch of strawberries and surprisingly, it is hard to find a recipe that doesn't have instant cake mix in it! This recipe was FAB!
      I was surprised how thick the batter turned out (perhaps my strawberries weren't ripe enough?) but it turned out great after baking. Will certainly make again!
      The best part is that we kept this in a Tupperware container in the fridge and it was still moist 3 days later!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      This was very good, 9yo loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Strawberry Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.1
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    28%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 42.3 mg
    14%
    Sodium 166.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 26.7 g
    106%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes