99 Reviews

This is the BEST strawberry cake recipe! Everyone loved it! I increased powdered sugar in glaze to a more frosting consistency--delicious!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamrac August 19, 2002

Amazing!!! I have made this twice to rave reviews. Thank you so much for sharing! I made it first exactly as directed and the second time did some tweaking. I too decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 c. instead of 1 1/2. Also to make it a bit fluffier, I increased the baking powder to 3 tsp. I also separated the egg yolks and whites. I added the yolks in step 3 (also added about 2 T water), then in a separate bowl, I beat the whites and folded them in gently at step 6, instead of beating for 2 minutes. THis did make the cakes a little fluffier. I used Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting for the filling between the cakes and topped with the glaze. Absolutely my new favorite cake!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
minbrain November 20, 2009

Now this is some cake. My Mee-Maw used to make this. I am very happy to have found the recipe. I made this for Labor Day and it was such a hit. The fresh berries make this out of this world. Very rich and sweet. The cake was also nice and moist. Thanks for posting.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerri822 September 12, 2002

YUM!. Made this and took it into work, everyone loved it. Will be making this cake regularly while strawberries are in season. Didn't need to change anything in this recipe. This is as good as the strawberry muffin recipe from this site.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie September 02, 2002

Very dry. No one liked it. My husband choaked on it, it was so dry.It did not rise much. All my ingredients were fresh. I am looking for a flavorful, moist fresh strawberry cake.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nc baker May 12, 2011

This was a good cake. Mine turned out kind of dry. I probably overcooked it a bit. I added more powdered sugar for icing instead of glaze. Don't add too much crushed strawberries to icing. It makes it very watery. I served it with fresh strawberries on the side. It was yummy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen in TX June 22, 2003

That is why European recipe use weights not volume..... 2 1/4 cups sifted cake flour is 225 grams, 2 1/4 cups cake flour, sifted is 260 grams, 2 1/4 cups sifted all purpose flour is 260 grams, and 2 1/4 cups of all purpose flour, sifted is 320 grams... if everyone measured 225 grams, equals 8 oz (weight ounce not fluid ounce) for this recipe, then the reviews would not be that inconsistent... ..... For those that do not use a scale...For "2 1/4 C sifted flour" SIFT THE FLOUR IN THE MEASURING CUP AND THEN LEVEL IT...place a parchment paper under the cup to collect the extra flour and return to flour bag or container.. if recipe says "2 1/4 C Flour, sifted" then fluff your flour very well in its container, then scoop and level...then sift...Hope that helps...all the reviews that say cake is dry or dense... they probably used an extra cup of flour...or over baked...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lailabakes February 23, 2016

This is NOT a normal cake. It's so dry, just as other reviewers have said. If you're looking for more of a shortbread or something maybe it would work for you. If not for the icing it wouldn't have had much strawberry flavor at all. My husband and I had a piece and threw the rest out. A shame to have wasted all those delicious strawberries. I was looking for something for my daughter's 1st birthday and was so excited to see this with 5 stars. I'm not sure what those people were enjoying. It was so heavy, so dry, so plain, no distinct flavor...certainly not strawberry. And it wasn't even pink! Very disappointed.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrslockhart May 15, 2011

I was expecting great things after reading the reviews but was fairly disappointed. I followed the recipe to the letter and found it to be a very average cake with a slightly weird texture (probably due to the flour/fat ratio). It was certainly not exceptional and I would probably find another way to use up strawberries in future.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
_lux_ April 23, 2008

The perfect summer cake! It really has a wonderful light strawberry flavor, and the simplicity of the glaze just adds to the pure strawberry flavor of the cake. Thanks for a delicious recipe, Kim!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxie June 24, 2003
Fresh Strawberry Cake