Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Strawberry Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Strawberry Cake

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2002

      This is the BEST strawberry cake recipe! Everyone loved it! I increased powdered sugar in glaze to a more frosting consistency--delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      Now this is some cake. My Mee-Maw used to make this. I am very happy to have found the recipe. I made this for Labor Day and it was such a hit. The fresh berries make this out of this world. Very rich and sweet. The cake was also nice and moist. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      YUM!. Made this and took it into work, everyone loved it. Will be making this cake regularly while strawberries are in season. Didn't need to change anything in this recipe. This is as good as the strawberry muffin recipe from this site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      Amazing!!! I have made this twice to rave reviews. Thank you so much for sharing! I made it first exactly as directed and the second time did some tweaking. I too decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 c. instead of 1 1/2. Also to make it a bit fluffier, I increased the baking powder to 3 tsp. I also separated the egg yolks and whites. I added the yolks in step 3 (also added about 2 T water), then in a separate bowl, I beat the whites and folded them in gently at step 6, instead of beating for 2 minutes. THis did make the cakes a little fluffier. I used Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting for the filling between the cakes and topped with the glaze. Absolutely my new favorite cake!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      Very dry. No one liked it. My husband choaked on it, it was so dry.It did not rise much. All my ingredients were fresh. I am looking for a flavorful, moist fresh strawberry cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      This was a good cake. Mine turned out kind of dry. I probably overcooked it a bit. I added more powdered sugar for icing instead of glaze. Don't add too much crushed strawberries to icing. It makes it very watery. I served it with fresh strawberries on the side. It was yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      This is NOT a normal cake. It's so dry, just as other reviewers have said. If you're looking for more of a shortbread or something maybe it would work for you. If not for the icing it wouldn't have had much strawberry flavor at all. My husband and I had a piece and threw the rest out. A shame to have wasted all those delicious strawberries. I was looking for something for my daughter's 1st birthday and was so excited to see this with 5 stars. I'm not sure what those people were enjoying. It was so heavy, so dry, so plain, no distinct flavor...certainly not strawberry. And it wasn't even pink! Very disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      I was expecting great things after reading the reviews but was fairly disappointed. I followed the recipe to the letter and found it to be a very average cake with a slightly weird texture (probably due to the flour/fat ratio). It was certainly not exceptional and I would probably find another way to use up strawberries in future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      The perfect summer cake! It really has a wonderful light strawberry flavor, and the simplicity of the glaze just adds to the pure strawberry flavor of the cake. Thanks for a delicious recipe, Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      EXCELLENT CAKE. Didn't have to change a thing. My fiance and his buddy are downstairs devouring it right now. My mom makes this but I could never find the recipe online (I lost the copy she gave me!) I am so glad to have this. (I did use frozen strawberries, by the way. I used my judgment with the frosting.) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      This was wonderful! I'm not sure what some of the reviewers are talking about the cake being too dry...the only thing I can think is they didn't sift the flour before measuring it. I almost did that and put about 1/3 cup flour back. I LOVED this cake - sending it to work with by boyfriend tomorrow. The strawberry flavor was perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      We had a bunch of strawberries from a picking outing and wanted to try something different. This was delish! And so simple. We added a lot more powdered sugar to the glaze to make an icing and what really made it over the top, the juice of half a lime in the icing. OMG. So fresh tasting!

      We paired it with a scoop of Pistachio ice cream. An awesome pairing! I highly recommend it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      This is the first time I've been compelled to write a review. This cake is amazing and so easy to make! So moist and delicious with fresh strawberry flavour. I served it at a dinner party recently and people thought I was a culinary genius.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      I had high hopes for this recipe. I wanted to make it for my daughter's first bday, but I really wasn't impressed. I like the strawberry flavor and the glaze is awesome. I didn't like the texture. It is too heavy and muffin like (as others have mentioned) I also found that it wasn't moist enough. Overall it was just ok.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      Alright, I like the flavor of the cake but the crumb/texture is dry and odd looking. It is not soft. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup. But everything else is the same.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      My first time making anything with strawberries, let alone fresh ones, and I am glad that I picked this recipe. So easy and delicious. Cake was moist, and tender. A little sweet so next time I would halve the sugar. There was a lot of glaze left, so I would halve that too. Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2004

      Simply delicous! I made 6 small loaves instead of one cake, and gave them away as gifts with a chocolate-dipped strawberry on top. They were a huge hit and wonderful! The fresh strawberry taste really comes through!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      Great cake! I kept one for ourselves and shared another with friends. We all liked it. I wasn't sure in the directions if I was supposed to stack the cakes for layers and the picture didn't look like it so I just gave the 2nd away. We love fresh strawberries and the flavor was super. The powdered sugar in my glaze was a bit on the lumpy side too, don't know what caused it but it did nothing to deter from the yummy taste. Glad we tried it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2003

      After all these fabulous reviews, I confess I was a little disappointed. It was good, don't get me wrong. I used whole wheat flour, as I do for practically everything. I also cut the sugar way back - to 1 cup. With the glaze it was still on the borderline of being too sweet. I was also pretty generous with the strawberries, but I still didn't find the strawberry flavour all that pronounced. I had some problems with the glaze being lumpy; I suspect the butter could have been omitted. Still, this was a nice cake overall.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      This cake tasted great!! :) My family loved it!! It's a great recipe!!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Strawberry Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.1
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    28%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 42.3 mg
    14%
    Sodium 166.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 26.7 g
    106%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites