Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Rhubarb Pie

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2002

      I went searching the site for a fresh rhubarb pie and this is one of them I found. It turned out to be VERY GOOD!! The orange juice and zest compliments the rhubarb. It was an easy pie to make. Not too sweet, but sweet enough. We will have this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      Great pie. Made it with just 1 cup of sugar and it was plenty sweet for me. I was afraid it would be too runny after pouring the mixture into the crust, but it set up nicely after cooling. I baked it for closer to an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      This recipe was fabulous! I followed the advice of previous reviewers and increased the cornstarch to 4-1/2 Tbsp and it set up perfectly!! I actually made two pies--one, strawberry-rhubarb (added about 1-1/2 cups fresh sliced strawberries to basic recipe and decreased rhubarb by about 1 cup) and I made a rhubarb pie for the purists in my family...High praise for both and this recipe is definitely going in my keeper file. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Was very good. I used a Tablespoon more corn starch than the recipe specified and it set up perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Really great rhubarb pie, kinda tart but not a killer. I used 4 Tbs cornstarch and it worked well, next time maybe a little less for a juicier pie. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This pie did not set well for me. I added 3 tablespoons of cornstarch, but it was not enough. Next time I make it I'll try Charlotte J's suggestion of 4 1/2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      A very good recipe but like cookinthewoods, ours did not set up either. So the second one we made we used a total of 4 1/2 tablespoons of corn starch. Perfect, it set up nicely. We also egg washed the lattice top and sprinkled it with turbinado sugar. I love this sugar as it adds a nice crunch to your baked goods. Thank you for posting as we will be using your recipe again. Made for *Zaar Cookbook Tag 2009* game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I followed the measurements very carefully and the pie turned out sloppy. Maybe skipping the orange juice would do it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      This is a fantastic recipe! I think that it's a little more "citrusy" than a typical rhubarb pie, but still ... it has a great taste. I served this to my family and they said I should make this commcercially. I think it's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      I did not care for the citrus flavor..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      This was so easy to make and was the best tasting Pie ever just love the orange flavor. Its a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      I have been searching for the perfect rhubarb pie recipe for several years and this is IT! We love rhubarb without strawberries and a bit on the tart side. This recipe is a keeper - I'm delighted to say that my search is over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Have made this pie a number of times and follow the recipe to the letter. Family and friends have all enjoyed the pie and usually get requests for seconds. I have used a couple of different pie crusts and both have turned out well. Soon our garden will have some fresh rhubarb. Can't hardly wait. Thanks Bohod

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      I offered to make my Mom a pie or a cake for her birthday and my DB picked rhubarb pie for her. I've never made one so of course I went straight to the cookbooks, with no luck, all they had were strawberry and rhubarb. Don't know why I didn't try here first. My Mom loved it and I'm making another for her tonight to use up the rest of the rhubarb. I used Minute Tapioca instead of corn starch which you don't have to heat, just let it sit for 15 minutes. Many thanks from my Mom and from me-She said it made her feel like she was young again (she'll be 88 tomorrow). Thank You for a keeper. Jan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      My husband went right out to water the rhubarb so it would grow so I can make another pie!! We thought the orange really set it off. I can't say I measured everything exactly, just used whatever juice I got out of the orange and all the rhubarb I got this morning. Very Good, indeed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      Thank you YUM! The only thing different I did was not to lattice the top. Instead I cut a few decorative holes on the top, egg washed that and then liberally sprinkled sugar, for that old fashion look.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      Tasted delicious, but didn't set up at all! Next time, I will make it as a cobbler, with no bottom crust. But as a cobbler, I think it would be great with ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      Best Rhubarb Pie,ever. We polished it off in no time flat and my husband was doing his best to convince me to go on midnight garden raids with him to gather more rhubarb for..more PIE. Very,very good. Perfect sweetness and the orange went so well with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      I made this using the cornstarch and had a dismal failure, which is usual for me and cornstarch! Taste was great but pie was soup. I've made it several times in the last few weeks and used precooked (dry) tapioca, 1/4 cup per pie -just stir it into the chopped rhubarb in a bowl along with the sugar, oj, zest, and nutmeg. No precooking needed. Let it stand in the bowl for about 15 minutes and then put it into the pie shell, add a top, and bake as directed. The orange juice and the nutmeg are perfect for this delicious and easy pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      This pie was perfectly delicious; not too sweet. The orange really compliments the rhubarb. I can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Rhubarb Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.8
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    13%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 28.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 38.7 g
    155%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes