19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My daughter wanted me to cook her pumpkin that she picked at the pumpkin patch. When I asked if she wanted pumpkin soup she went crazy. I chose this recipe because it used fresh pumpkin and told how to cook it. Since I have never cooked fresh pumpkin the roasting directions made all the difference in the world. Made as directed, super easy and yummy. My daughter is going through a phase where she won't eat much anymore and she has almost finished a bowl in the time it's taken me to write the review. We'll be making this again. Thanks for sharing. Also, I sprinkled a little cinnamon on top of one bowl. It was yummy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo October 21, 2010

This is one YUMMY soup and I love the addition of the sweetness from the apple. Made for "Holiday Tag" but will be making it again and again as a regular for fall/winter soups. Thanks for posting, MarraMamba.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Good Thing October 29, 2007

OMG...THIS IS SOOO DELISH!!! I'm not much of a cook but tried this for the first time because it was from scratch and it sounded tasty. However, I was able to reduce the calories and fat by OVER HALF without the making the flavor suffer. I used Kitchen Basics Chicken Stock which has only 20 calories per cup X 3 = 60 calories (0 fat) for the whole recipe. (The stock used in the recipe here has 259.2 calories.) And instead of using 1 cup of cream at 697.9 calories and 21.7g monosaturated fats (46.2g saturated fats), I used 3/4 cup of plain fat-free Greek yogurt at 100 calories. Total calories went from 352.4 calories per serving done to approx.154 calories (2.6g monosaturated fats (4.2g saturated fats). My little boy loved it...and he's a very picky eater. I'll be using this recipe a lot during the winter months!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauriesa December 03, 2013

Delicious! I served this to a couple friends, and they raved about it! I used a little more pumpkin than called for, and I used homemade vegetable broth. I didn't understand pureeing the veggies before adding the broth, so I cooked the broth and veggies together and then used a hand blender to puree it. I only added a half cup of cream. This is the perfect soup for fall!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairycook September 30, 2012

Much like my pumpkin soup except for the apple - which I LOVED in this soup. The sage was also lovely. Even though we don't do Thanksgiving in Greece, this is a soup I would love to serve in a pumpkin shell.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens November 20, 2007

I am rarely ever in a kitchen, and I have never cooked soup, nor a pumpkin, before. But this turned out SO SO SO delicious! I wish I had doubled the recipe! I will definitely be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madge.is.Baking November 17, 2013

This soup was so easy to make and I had all of the ingredients in the house which makes it even better. I used all organic ingredients but I did substitute 1/2 and 1/2 for the milk and I threw in a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes. I will make this soup again. It was easy, super fast and delicious. I like that I didn't have to add flour like the other recipes. It was thick, but not pasty which is usually what I get when I make the recipes with the flour. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennMurphy November 11, 2013

I've had this saved for a long time and finally, my 10 yo wanted to make something with the fresh pumpkin we had cooked up. He made this. We added a few more seasonings and used 1/2 tsp sage. I always try to sneak turmeric and pepper into my dishes, for the health benefit. I used a stick blender after cooking the soup for 15 minutes. It's a snap then. Very good fall soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead November 10, 2013

This soup is so-so-sooo delicious even my DH enjoyed it and he is not much on cream soups.<br/>Thanks for such an amazing easy recipe...it will be my "this time of year" soup forever.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julkoz November 10, 2013

The soup was very good. I only give it a 4 because it tasted like it was missing something.It could have been the sage that i wasnt able to add. But I had to add in some All Spice, and Cloves instead. Otherwise it was a wonderful soup (tho was hard to eat in large quantities. It is best as a small appetizer soup)<br/>--As for side notes. I made this soup from the scrapings of my pumpkin when i hollowed it for carving. My pumpkin was a pale orange, and very watery. When I stuck the pieces in the oven to bake, a lot of the liquid poured out into the baking sheet. I started with trying to strain all the excess liquid as there was a lot, but between straining, it had gotten on my hands so I decided to lick off some of the excess. It was surprisingly good. I figured it would be a great addition to the Vegetable Broth that I used as the base. I actually even steamed my carrots with it ^-^ which was interesting lol. Might not do that again next time as it took away from the carrot taste.<br/>Because I was using scrapings from my pumpkin, I couldnt saute it with the apple or carrots. So I steamed my carrots, sauteed the apple in cinnamon and butter since i did not have sage. Then pureed the three together. I didnt add the onion because my vegetable broth that I had made had a very strong onion taste and smell to it already. <br/>For a little bit of chunk to it, I chopped up some almonds and toasted them with my pumpkin seeds which i then sprinkled ontop of the soup. It was very good. <br/>Thank you for the wonderful recipe! I will definitely be making it again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StarChild89w October 25, 2013
Fresh Pumpkin Soup by Kerry Simon