Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Pumpkin Soup by Kerry Simon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Pumpkin Soup by Kerry Simon

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2010

      My daughter wanted me to cook her pumpkin that she picked at the pumpkin patch. When I asked if she wanted pumpkin soup she went crazy. I chose this recipe because it used fresh pumpkin and told how to cook it. Since I have never cooked fresh pumpkin the roasting directions made all the difference in the world. Made as directed, super easy and yummy. My daughter is going through a phase where she won't eat much anymore and she has almost finished a bowl in the time it's taken me to write the review. We'll be making this again. Thanks for sharing. Also, I sprinkled a little cinnamon on top of one bowl. It was yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      This is one YUMMY soup and I love the addition of the sweetness from the apple. Made for "Holiday Tag" but will be making it again and again as a regular for fall/winter soups. Thanks for posting, MarraMamba.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      Delicious! I served this to a couple friends, and they raved about it! I used a little more pumpkin than called for, and I used homemade vegetable broth. I didn't understand pureeing the veggies before adding the broth, so I cooked the broth and veggies together and then used a hand blender to puree it. I only added a half cup of cream. This is the perfect soup for fall!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      Much like my pumpkin soup except for the apple - which I LOVED in this soup. The sage was also lovely. Even though we don't do Thanksgiving in Greece, this is a soup I would love to serve in a pumpkin shell.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      OMG...THIS IS SOOO DELISH!!! I'm not much of a cook but tried this for the first time because it was from scratch and it sounded tasty. However, I was able to reduce the calories and fat by OVER HALF without the making the flavor suffer. I used Kitchen Basics Chicken Stock which has only 20 calories per cup X 3 = 60 calories (0 fat) for the whole recipe. (The stock used in the recipe here has 259.2 calories.) And instead of using 1 cup of cream at 697.9 calories and 21.7g monosaturated fats (46.2g saturated fats), I used 3/4 cup of plain fat-free Greek yogurt at 100 calories. Total calories went from 352.4 calories per serving done to approx.154 calories (2.6g monosaturated fats (4.2g saturated fats). My little boy loved it...and he's a very picky eater. I'll be using this recipe a lot during the winter months!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      I am rarely ever in a kitchen, and I have never cooked soup, nor a pumpkin, before. But this turned out SO SO SO delicious! I wish I had doubled the recipe! I will definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      This soup was so easy to make and I had all of the ingredients in the house which makes it even better. I used all organic ingredients but I did substitute 1/2 and 1/2 for the milk and I threw in a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes. I will make this soup again. It was easy, super fast and delicious. I like that I didn't have to add flour like the other recipes. It was thick, but not pasty which is usually what I get when I make the recipes with the flour. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      I've had this saved for a long time and finally, my 10 yo wanted to make something with the fresh pumpkin we had cooked up. He made this. We added a few more seasonings and used 1/2 tsp sage. I always try to sneak turmeric and pepper into my dishes, for the health benefit. I used a stick blender after cooking the soup for 15 minutes. It's a snap then. Very good fall soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      This soup is so-so-sooo delicious even my DH enjoyed it and he is not much on cream soups.<br/>Thanks for such an amazing easy recipe...it will be my "this time of year" soup forever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2013

      The soup was very good. I only give it a 4 because it tasted like it was missing something.It could have been the sage that i wasnt able to add. But I had to add in some All Spice, and Cloves instead. Otherwise it was a wonderful soup (tho was hard to eat in large quantities. It is best as a small appetizer soup)<br/>--As for side notes. I made this soup from the scrapings of my pumpkin when i hollowed it for carving. My pumpkin was a pale orange, and very watery. When I stuck the pieces in the oven to bake, a lot of the liquid poured out into the baking sheet. I started with trying to strain all the excess liquid as there was a lot, but between straining, it had gotten on my hands so I decided to lick off some of the excess. It was surprisingly good. I figured it would be a great addition to the Vegetable Broth that I used as the base. I actually even steamed my carrots with it ^-^ which was interesting lol. Might not do that again next time as it took away from the carrot taste.<br/>Because I was using scrapings from my pumpkin, I couldnt saute it with the apple or carrots. So I steamed my carrots, sauteed the apple in cinnamon and butter since i did not have sage. Then pureed the three together. I didnt add the onion because my vegetable broth that I had made had a very strong onion taste and smell to it already. <br/>For a little bit of chunk to it, I chopped up some almonds and toasted them with my pumpkin seeds which i then sprinkled ontop of the soup. It was very good. <br/>Thank you for the wonderful recipe! I will definitely be making it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      This recipe was a little bland but I added 1 tablespoon of garlic, 1 tablespoon of Shallots, 2 Tablespoons of sugar and 1 teaspoon of molasses. The sugar and molasses really brought out the pumpkin and carrots. Somone also told me if you use the smaller pumpkins then they are sweeter. If you use Jack O Lantern Pumpkins then you need to add some sugar. I also had to add about 3 teasoons of Kosher salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      I was very disappointed with this pumpkin soup recipe. It was too bland and the sage flavour negatively impacted the smell and taste. I would NOT recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      Please give the last review 5 stars - thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      This soup is delicious! It is easy and I will totally make it again. I served it with some rustic brown bread crutons and roasted pumpkin seeds. Mmmmm...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      I made tons of changes. I used canned pumpkin because I had some leftover in the freezer. I also added more sage, some onion powder, 2 cloves of garlic, salt and Tabasco. The garlic messed it up :(. It still needed something but i couldn't pinpoint exactly what it needed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I thought this soup was very easy to make and very good. There were a few things I did differently such as use skim milk instead of cream. I put in a little oregano and then cinnamon and no salt or pepper. It was well liked and I will be making this again! Thanks for a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      This recipe is a keeper at my house. It was very easy to prepare, I did not have any sage so I used Chinese 5 spice (1/4t.). It was very yummy! When I served it, I placed a dollop of sour cream in the center. My family loved it. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I added plenty of garlic to to roasting of the pumpkin and then a greater amount of pumpkin, then the 2 cups to the blend. also a touch of sugar to sweeten as the Kent pumpkin I used was not all that sweet. Thanks Kerry for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      This is a bit of work but worth it. The roasted pumpkin really adds to the flavor, and much better than using canned! I might add some ground cumin next time for a change. I topped with some pepitas as a garnish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Pumpkin Soup by Kerry Simon

    Serving Size: 1 (408 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 352.4
     
    Calories from Fat 239
    67%
    Total Fat 26.6 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 15.8 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 86.9 mg
    28%
    Sodium 351.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sage leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites