24 Reviews

OMG...THIS IS SOOO DELISH!!! I'm not much of a cook but tried this for the first time because it was from scratch and it sounded tasty. However, I was able to reduce the calories and fat by OVER HALF without the making the flavor suffer. I used Kitchen Basics Chicken Stock which has only 20 calories per cup X 3 = 60 calories (0 fat) for the whole recipe. (The stock used in the recipe here has 259.2 calories.) And instead of using 1 cup of cream at 697.9 calories and 21.7g monosaturated fats (46.2g saturated fats), I used 3/4 cup of plain fat-free Greek yogurt at 100 calories. Total calories went from 352.4 calories per serving done to approx.154 calories (2.6g monosaturated fats (4.2g saturated fats). My little boy loved it...and he's a very picky eater. I'll be using this recipe a lot during the winter months!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauriesa December 03, 2013

My daughter wanted me to cook her pumpkin that she picked at the pumpkin patch. When I asked if she wanted pumpkin soup she went crazy. I chose this recipe because it used fresh pumpkin and told how to cook it. Since I have never cooked fresh pumpkin the roasting directions made all the difference in the world. Made as directed, super easy and yummy. My daughter is going through a phase where she won't eat much anymore and she has almost finished a bowl in the time it's taken me to write the review. We'll be making this again. Thanks for sharing. Also, I sprinkled a little cinnamon on top of one bowl. It was yummy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo October 21, 2010

This is one YUMMY soup and I love the addition of the sweetness from the apple. Made for "Holiday Tag" but will be making it again and again as a regular for fall/winter soups. Thanks for posting, MarraMamba.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Good Thing October 29, 2007

This recipe was not what I had expected. I ended having to add tons of spice to make it taste like anything. I would suggest to add a hint of clove, nutmeg, tiny amount of thyme, salt / pepper, pure maple syrup, more sage and if you have it ' allspice. Pumpkin take on flavors and just cooking with onion and apples is super bland and bitter. try a little spice and it will just be better overall.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
venusdaqua November 17, 2015

Recipe as is = 3 stars as it is mostly cream of chicken soup with a touch of pumpkin. Altered recipe = 4.5 stars by: Add 2T molasses, 1t cinnamon, and double the pumpkin (after pureed). Salt adds the final touch, though that was in the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenaiel November 14, 2015

Delicious! I served this to a couple friends, and they raved about it! I used a little more pumpkin than called for, and I used homemade vegetable broth. I didn't understand pureeing the veggies before adding the broth, so I cooked the broth and veggies together and then used a hand blender to puree it. I only added a half cup of cream. This is the perfect soup for fall!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairycook September 30, 2012

Much like my pumpkin soup except for the apple - which I LOVED in this soup. The sage was also lovely. Even though we don't do Thanksgiving in Greece, this is a soup I would love to serve in a pumpkin shell.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens November 20, 2007

This recipe is sooooo good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susanlucy0603 November 11, 2015

Made this as a post-trick-or-treating dinner for some friends, and it was a hit all around! To accommodate dietary needs (one vegetarian, one lactose intolerant), I used olive oil instead of butter, vegetable stock instead of chicken, and coconut milk instead of cream. And of course I added the broth before blending, and used my immersion blender to puree it - easy-peasy. I love all the other stuff in it, which made it not TOO pumpkin-y (don't want too much of a good thing!), and a really nice combo of flavors. I roasted the pumpkins earlier in the day so they were all ready for me when I was ready to cook, and roasted the seeds at the same time so I could snack in between. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johanna R. November 02, 2015

LOVE this pumpkin soup recipe! The apple in the soup was such a nice sweet touch. This is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen June 21, 2015
Fresh Pumpkin Soup by Kerry Simon