Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / fresh pineapple chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    fresh pineapple chicken

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2013

      This is AMAZING! My daughter went back for seconds, that never happens! I cubed the chicken, added more pineapple, sweet bell pepper to the mix and a splash of white wine to deglaze the pan. It made for a light sauce. Served over basmati rice. YUM! I cannot wait to make this again! I haven't been this excited about a recipe in a very long time. Thanks Chia!
      Made for Best of 2012 Tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      Mmmm, this was really good. I didn't think cinnamon and pineapple would work together, but that spice rubbed chicken tasted perfect alongside the glazed pineapple. I wilted some baby spinach in the sauce for extra nutrition, and served this with cilantro lime rice. It was a great meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      I didn't give it a five b/c I had to halve all the spices... otherwise I HAVE to confess it's addictive AND delicious AND excellent! YOWZA!!!! When I first put it in the pan, it was hard to be in The kitchen, so beware - but when I tasted it, it was AMAZING!!!! What an impressive dish this is with out a lot of work! I added red sweet peppers to contrast the pineapple and it was excellent!
      I served it over white rice which I mixed with finely chopped cilantro (Emerald Rice - we call it) and it brought the chicken to another level.
      I love it sooooo much that I'm making it again tonight!
      THANK YOU for sharing w/ us this awesome dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      I used Pix of the Chix, using breasts, thighs, and legs, so this took longer to cook than the recipe suggests. I added a fresh bell pepper, because we like pepper with pineapple. This is a very nice flavor; I didn't find the cinnamon at all overpowering or odd. I added a bit of allspice to the rub as well. This was quite tasty, and I would make it again. Made for ZWT 5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      YUMM-Y! I love the combination of savory/spicy chicken with pineapples. My one suggestion would be to add most of the oil right before adding the chicken. When I removed the pineapple mixture I had trouble leaving enough oil in the pan to keep the chicken from burning so I added some more. I also notched up the cayenne just a tad and added a few shakes of ginger powder for good measure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2004

      This was a really good tasting dish, unlike other chicken pineapple due to its unique combination of spices. My 2 year old daughter kept asking for more, while everyone else finished everything till the last pineapple slice and asked that I cook more next time. Frying the pineapple removed its acidity and left it with a mildly sweet taste, just perfect for the chicken. The second time I did this, I grilled the chicken to avoid oil saturation from frying and it was the perfect way of preparing this dish for my family. If I could give 6 stars to this recipe, I would ! A dish that everyone loves and we will keep making over and over again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2003

      Wowza! This is one zippy, delicious dish. The chicken is so juicy - oh, it was just scrumptious. The seasonings have so much punch - perfect. After consulting first with the recipe poster, I reduced the amount of the cayenne and the black pepper in half because I was serving to a child with limited tolerance to spicy dishes. It was still plenty spicy, but no one breathed fire. When serving only to adults I would certainly add the full heat, but it was excellent with less. The fresh pineapple really complimented this well. For the chile powder, I used dried ancho chile powder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      Just made this for dinner and it was very good! (I made it with white rice.) It was easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      A lovely dish! I read the previous reviews and while I made it as directed, I also deglazed the pan with some chicken broth just to have a little sauce for the rice. It's a keeper! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      Love that rub! I made this tonight using boneless thighs and it was delicious. Definitely a repeat recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

    • on January 15, 2012

      Absolutely fabulous! I made this recipe with boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts, and just reduced the cooking time slightly. After reading the comments about the seasonings, I decided to go ahead with the original amounts, and didn't find it too spicy, just right, in fact. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      Quick, flavorful dish. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and halved the seasonings in the rub. I also added a box of green giant steamed veggies (sugar snap peas, potatoes, and red peppers) because I did not have any red peppers to mix with the pineapple. I served this with Hawaii sweet rolls. Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      I thought is was delicious and the smell is amazing but my husband agrees that the cinnamon is too much so we are going omit the cinnamon next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      loved this recipe. It goes in my file for recipes I repeat over and over. I will cut back on the cayenne pepper just a bit next time, but my personal taste doesn't change the fact that it is a star recipe.Thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      What I love about this recipe is that it is simple and delicious and quick. The spice rub is wonderful with a Middle Eastern/North African flavor. I have no idea why a couple of the reviewers complained about the cinnamon. Perhaps they don't like cinnamon? In which case, why make a recipe that calls for cinnamon? My only comment on the rub is that I think you need more for 4-6 chicken breasts. I only used two breasts and I used all of the rub. Admittedly, they were large breasts that I did cut up into about six pieces, but I do think you should double or triple the spice rub ingredients for 4-6 chicken breasts. I will definitely make this again and will try the rub on pork and shrimp and will try grilling the meat or making shiish kabobs. Very yummy! Even my 17-month old picky eater grandson ate all of his chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      To be honest, this sounded delicious, but I really was not crazy about the cinnamon flavor at all. After previous reviewers had warned about the heat and the overpowering cinnamon flavor I had halved all three ingredients (cinnamon, cayenne, black pepper) and though it was perfectly spicy for my liking, the cinnamon flavor was still odd to me in this dish. If you are a huge fan of cinnamon, this is for you but if not I might recommend omitting the cinnamon entirely or trying something else. The dish did seem to have a good flavor beneath the cinnamon, I just wish I would have left it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      Sweet and spicy, had higher expectations for this recipe. The pinapple tasted better than the chicken. Will probably not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      Simply excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      This was pretty good. I felt there was just a little to much cinnamon, mabey next time I will cut that in 1/2. Other than that it was delish. I served it over rice, cut the chicken up and added veggies to make a stir fry, sort of, dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for fresh pineapple chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 253.0
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    49%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 61.8 mg
    20%
    Sodium 659.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 21.0 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes