59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Too salty! I also could not find the temperature recommended for this recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frenchiemel July 03, 2002

I've tried a lot of cobbler recipes, but this is absolutely the best. I've made it with strawberries, peaches, plums, and blue berries. My favorite is half blueberry and half peaches mixed together. I've also bought the mixed frozen fruit from Walmart that have strawberries, blackberries, and blue berries and used it. All combinations were wonderful. It's good hot, cold, and especially warm with vanilla icecream.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rgstahl March 11, 2009

I tried several different peach cobbler recipes and this recipe beat tham all! The first time I made this recipe, I did exactly as told but it was too sweet so the next time I used 1 cup sugar for the filling and about 3/4 cup sugar for the batter. This recipe is VERY good with bluberries too. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiesandcakes November 17, 2008

Fabulous was the right word. It's the exact word my husband used with his first taste. I used fresh peaches from my tree. I used 3/4 cup butter since the recipe called for 1/2 to 1 cup. I used a 13x9 pan since that's what I had. I don't have a processor so beat the dry ingredients at slow speed with a mixer (in case dry ingredients being very evenly dispersed was important) & a mixer to combine milk & melted butter with dry ingredients. I was a little worried about the thiness of the batter over the peaches, but witin 15 minutes (my first peek into the oven) the batter had risen and covered all. It was very easy (only time consuming peeling so many peaches but very worth it). 350 degrees and 1 hour cooking time was perfect. I looked for a recipe without cornstarch & and with plain ingredients, so picked this one and I won't go any further. My peaches are very flavorful & juicy, but winter, supermarket peaches would probably work because the cinnamon & nutmeg on top and butter in the batter probably will make up for the lack in the winter peaches. I sure don't know why you only got 2 stars for your other review Sharlene. I'm checking out your other recipes right now. Your cobbler is a definite life time keeper!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rin September 02, 2003

Fantastic dessert! I used Splenda for the 1 1/4 cups sugar in the filling because it seemed like the recipe called for a lot of sugar between the filling and the batter. It turned out fabulous and all my boyfriend kept saying is OMG! It's now one of his favorite desserts. The topping has a nice crust with a gooey cake-like under the top layer. It's almost like a bread pudding with a crispy crust and a bottom layer of fruit. Yum! Especially good warm with vanilla ice cream.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmillang September 06, 2010

This is also very good with blueberries or blackberries. Just up your sugar to one and half cups and your flour for the fruit to 1/3 cups. This is a favorite here!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz August 22, 2010

This was the BEST peach cobbler that I have ever tasted! Thank you for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hutchmc1 June 30, 2010

I made this to take to my dad's house for father's day because peach cobbler is his favorite dessert. I had never made homemade peach cobbler before, but this recipe was so easy, and it smelled like Heaven while it was baking!! It was absolutely delicious, and was pretty enough to be in a magazine. I will definitely use this recipe again, and I'm looking forward to making it with apples next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindsayh11 June 29, 2010

I love this recipe, so when a friend gave me a bunch of rhubarb, I decided to use this recipe for a Rhubarb Strawberry Cobbler. I used about 6 cups rhubarb and 2 cups strawberries. Needs to cook a little longer than an hour since there's so much water in the rhubarb. It turned out great! I've made the recipe with peaches and various berries, too, and it IS fabulous! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petalpages June 14, 2010

Rave Reviews from the entire neighborhood! This will now be my "go-to" cobbler recipe and it's so easy. I think the key here is to use a long pan as recommended (15") so that the topping comes out just right and not cake-y. I halved the recipe, used mixed berries and put in an 8" pan. My neighbor refused to share the leftovers from our pot luck - LOL. Absolutely perfect! YUM

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Rabbit April 09, 2010
Fresh Peach Cobbler (Or Berry Cobbler)