119 Reviews

Excellent cobbler. I used fresh peaches and subbed brown sugar for the sugar in the topping - just delicious! 45 minutes was enough cook time for mine, it came out of the oven looking and smelling wonderful. I'll definitely be making this one again. Thanks for posting it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* August 02, 2011

Tasty, but my family prefers a biscuit topping on our cobblers. This is a more cake like topping.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yakima Valley Grammie August 06, 2010

We liked this quite well. We like the crunchies, so I doubled up on the dough amt. I used fresh peaches and a tiny bit of almond extract. Great summer dessert.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather W. February 06, 2010

This was a good recipe, though the topping was more cakey than biscuity, which is what I like. I used 4 fresh plums and 1 large can (29 oz) peaches. Like another reviewer, I used the peach juice instead of making sugar water. I also cut the sugar in the dough by almost half. I did use half & half in place of the milk (it needed to be used up) and ended-up using almost double what the recipe called for, but it did say to pour the batter and what originally came out was not pourable. I also melted the butter like some other readers. We ended-up with a very nice flavor, not really sweet like most cobblers, so that I could serve it with ice cream (we definitely prefer it this way) and it probably had a lot to do with the fact that we used plums and left the skins on. Anyway, a good recipe. Very yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen July 07, 2009

I made this last night. Made two actually, one in a 13x9 pan and one in a 8x8 for my mom and dad. DH said it was the best cobbler he has ever tasted. 16 yo DD gave a squeal of delight after her first taste. I doubled up on the peaches and the topping as recommended by others and also sprinkled the top with cinnamon sugar. I used frozen peaches straight from the freezer layered them in the pan about two peach slices deep for both the small cobbler and the large. For the large one I doubled the topping recipe. The next time I will add even more peaches and let them thaw a bit first so that more can fit in the pan and I will leave out the the portion of sugar that went in with the flour. I baked the smaller cobbler 1 hour and the larger one about 1.5 hrs until the top was browned. My family said it was the best they had eaten. I used to prefer a pie crust cobbler this is so much better and easier. The crunchy top and the inside was absolutely scrumscious! My search for the perfect cobbler recipe is over! Thank you Countrywife!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WildWaysPaige January 27, 2008

Great and easy recipe. Made this today with home-canned peaches, added a teeny bit of cinnamon and even less powdered ginger. Melted the butter, since the recipe wasn't clear as to what to do with it. Took the cobbler to work and it was a huge hit. I've been making cobblers for years, and this is the best! Thanks, Country-Wife! I'm updating this review after making it with fabulous fresh peaches. It was excellent, but very different than when made with canned. The only changes to the recipe I made were to use twice the amount of peaches and bake it longer. Give the top time to brown nicely and it will have a very appealing sweet crunch. When made with canned, the cobbler topping was very soft, cakey and rich. The fresh peaches give a dryer result that was great with vanilla ice cream. I preferred this recipe when made with canned peaches.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkwilson September 10, 2007

I made this peach cobbler for dessert when I had my daughter, son-in-law and two granddaughters over for dinner last week. Since there is just me here, I usually send all the left-overs home with the kids. I did so this time, that is, the leftover meat loaf and veggies, but NOT the cobbler. The next day, my son-in-law called and asked,"Mom, is there any of that cobbler left?" I lied, "No, not even a spoonful". Selfish? Maybe, but, hey I'm old. (Is that a good excuse?) See what you've done? Corrupted me with this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TxBluebonnet July 04, 2006

Delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madmaxuma November 25, 2015

This was fantastic. I made it vegan by using soy milk instead of cow's milk and Earth Balance margarine instead of butter. I even accidentally added 1 full cup of water instead of the 1/2 cup it actually calls for and it STILL turned out great! This is exactly the kind of cobbler I was hoping for and now I can end my search! BOOKMARKED!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole August 27, 2015

This was an easy, yummy recipe...I probably used 5 cups of peaches, but kept all other ingredients the same. Used butter, instead of margarine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie S. August 15, 2015
Fresh Peach Cobbler