Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Peach Brown Sugar Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Peach Brown Sugar Pie

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2003

      I have 2 words for you Mean Chef...SIMPLY DELICIOUS!! I did have to use frozen pie crusts since I made this at the last minute. However that didn't matter, I brought this to my parents for Sunday dinner and every last piece went. Actually I was told next time to make 2. Thanks this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      I love peaches and this was the best peach pie. The last recipe I used had white sugar and vanilla extract. The brown sugar and almond extract makes a big difference. I highly recommend this pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2003

      This is an excellent recipe for using fresh peaches!! I have used Mean Chef's recipe for Classic Pie Crust so many times before, so I knew it would work perfectly for this recipe. The taste of the filling is sensational! I followed Mean Chef's steps to a "T" for perfect results! I did however, brush the top crust an egg wash and sprinkle ever so slightly with sugar before cutting the vents for a beautiful presentation and lovely browned crust. Served with vanilla ice cream. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2003

      I made this last weekend for a family picnic, since it's the height of peach season here. A very nice twist on the standard peach pie. Because my fresh peaches were so juicy, I added about a teaspoon of cornstarch to the fruit mixture and sprinkled a little tapioca on the bottom of the pie crust before pouring in the filling. (I also used pre-made pie crust). It looked absolutely beautiful and my family thought it was great. The only complaint I recieved was that I hadn't made two!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      Because of the rave reviews for this pie, I thought I'd give it a try. Before I get to my other comments, I will say this is an easy pie to put together if using frozen pie crusts, that said - I did make two changes. First I used frozen pie crust like one of the other reviewers. This seemed to come out fine for me. The second thing I did, although it wasn't stated, was the type of peaches that were used. I used a combination of White Babcock and yellow peaches. I don't know if this made a difference in the filling taste or if this recipe orginally required only yellow peaches, but I wasn't pleased with the taste. The only way I can describe it for me is "bland". A filling with no taste. Like a low fat dessert with no "mouth" feel. Even the texture was "mushy". I like to be able to taste my peaches, flavor wise and texture wise. Sorry, but I don't think I will try this again. I'm now glad I didn't go through the time of making the pie crusts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      yum yum
      I used thawed frozen peaches and added some mangoes too. I was too lazy to make a top crust, so I just left it open-faced. Still came out great and not runny at all. I used the juice of 1 small lemon and threw in the zest of it too for some brightness. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      This is great recipe that gives a little "oomph" to the standard peach pie. The almond and lemon enhance the flavor of the peaches and the light cinnamon flavor gives it a comfort food feeling. I plan on experimenting with other fruits like apple and cherry just for kicks. My husband really enjoyed this too. P.S. I substituted the 1/2 cup of white sugar with Splenda and didn't tell my husband. He didn't know the difference. (Heehee)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      wow! I used 1 cup of raspberries in place of 1 cup of peaches which was AMAZING! Also, after washing, peeling and cutting the peaches I placed them with the raspberries in a sieve along with about 1/8 cup of sugar and let it sit for a half hour. This draws some moisture out to avoid the runny pie mess (and the liquid is good to brush on top of the pie before baking). I used vanilla extract instead of almond and omitted the butter only because I forgot to and it came out reallllllly well!!! Thanks! I can't stop eating it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      I have made LOTS of pies - but this was my first fresh peach pie - and is absolutely wonderful! I used the Means pie crust (another 5 star!). I was intrigued with the use of almond extract, but decided to give it a go - and it is fantastic in this pie. I made it using half Whey Low (www.wheylow.com) and half sugar to cut down the calories. I agree with the other person that it really does need more flour or cornstarch, the pie was a bit runny even after cooking a little longer than called for. Still a great recipe and will definitely be making this again during peach season! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Yum! Good sweet peach pie. Overflowed a bit (thank goodness for aluminum foil and some forethought!) I used a frozen pie shell since I had one, but made the top crust myself. Delicious pie! I did taste the lemon juice, so I might cut back on that a little. I also forgot the butter, but it didn't seem to matter. My pie wasn't too runny, but it did sit for a bit after coming out of the oven. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      We had this for dessert last night with some vanilla ice cream of course. The only change I made was to sprinkle a little nutmeg on top before adding the top crust. Awesome! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      This is absolutely delicious! I used a deep-dish glass pie plate and used about 6 cups fresh peaches. I cut down on the sugar just a bit (as I usually do with pies), used 3 heaping T. of flour, and sprinkled some instant tapioca on the bottom of the crust before adding the filling, as my peaches were very ripe and juicy and I was worried it would be too sloppy otherwise. Didn't have lemon juice, and used vanilla extract instead of almond (personal preference). I covered the edges with foil for the first 15 minutes of baking, and baked the pie for a total of 40 minutes. I always use glass pie plates as I find the bottom crust gets nice and brown. It turned out perfect! I'm picking up more pie crusts (Pillsbury ... rolled a little thinner than they come) at the store tonight so I can make another.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      Great peach pie! When peeling the peaches, I sliced them into a collander over a pan, letting the juices drain. I then mixed all ingredients minus the peaches into a sauce pan plus 3/4 c of the peach juices. Brought it to a boil to thicken then let cool. Lastly I mixed the peaches into the sauce and added mixture to pie crusts. This kept the pie from becoming too runny and made it wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2014

      Excellent pie!! I used my go-to, Kittencal's No Fail Pie Crust. I was feeling lazy, so I left the skins on the peaches (extra fiber!), but cut each peach slice into thirds to keep the skins short. I was worried about the pie being wet, so I added a total of 5 Tablespoons of flour, and let the mixture sit for 5 minutes before pouring it into the pie crust. Also, I painted the bottom crust with some beaten egg before pouring in the filling...it helped keep the bottom crust dry. I used the remaining egg wash on the top of the pie, and dusted it with a teaspoon of sugar. I baked the pie for 30 minutes at 400F, and then covered the pie edges with foil and then baked 40 minutes at 350F. The result was a lovely golden colored pie with a non - runny filling. The recipe is wonderfully flavourful! My SO claimed it was the best peach pie he'd ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

      I made this pie for my brother in law who is a huge peach pie fan and he loved it! he ate 1/3 of the pie in one sitting. i followed this recipe to the t using my tried and true pie crust. i will definately be making this again, thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      This pie is delicious! I work at a bakery, in town, that charges about $14 for a peach pie. This pie recipe blows the work recipe out of the water and only costs half as much to make. The brown sugar and almond extract definitely gives this recipe something special that other peach pies just don't have.I will make this pie every summer when the Michigan peaches make their way down to Northern Indiana farmers markets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2012

      This pie definitely had a lot of potential but mine came out with this funky alcohol-like taste. I measured out the extract exactly so I don't know if that was the problem or because I used very ripe soft peaches? Anyway, followed the directions, but made with a friend's crust that I posted called "Kemper Pie Crust".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      The flavor of the pie was good, but it was very runny even though I added a tablespoon of cornstarch as other posters had suggested. I will try this one more time, mixing the peaches and sugar and letting them stand in a colander to pull out some moisture as another posted had suggested. If it doesn't turn out better, I will keep looking for a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      Made this for Thanksgiving out of peaches I canned in August. This was the only pie that was completely gone as everyone loved it so much. Added a pinch of cornstarch because we used canned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Tasted OK, but turned out a little runny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Peach Brown Sugar Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (1382 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3014.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1302
    43%
    Total Fat 144.7 g
    222%
    Saturated Fat 44.5 g
    222%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 2380.8 mg
    99%
    Total Carbohydrate 411.6 g
    137%
    Dietary Fiber 26.1 g
    104%
    Sugars 218.9 g
    875%
    Protein 31.9 g
    63%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites