Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Orange Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Orange Muffins

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2002

      I made a batch for the ladies at work on Secretary's Day to have with their morning coffee. They were a big hit! The muffins were so easy to make and extremely moist and delicious. I was a little worried that the batter seemed thick (almost like corn bread) and that it would be "crumbly" when done. I added just one ingredient: I sprinkled the top of the muffins with powdered sugar. I will definitely make them again very soon. Thank you for this teriffic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2002

      I made this as part of Worldwide Recipezaar Day. This is an ideal breakfast muffin. I added 100 grams of bittersweet chocolate to the orange mix in the blender, and the combo of orange and chocolate was delicious. The house really smelled great as they were baking away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2002

      I have never tried making orange muffins before and these are sooo good. My Assyrian husband says they are similar to a type of "bread" his mom makes. They also were devoured by my very fussy daugther. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2002

      These were very good. Moist, with a delicious smell as they bake. I did add the miniature chocolate chips (as suggested in the description), which I would do again - I used a scant 1/2 cup. The taste and texture was very nice, very very orangey. I would make these again. Very easy to make, too. The only thing that didn't "wow" me was the appearance - they didn't puff up as nicely as I expected and had a bumpy appearance, despite careful mixing by hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2002

      Amazing that something smelling and tasting so good could be so easy!!! Thank you for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      these were so easy to make that i doubled it and shared some with my neighbor whose oranges i used for the juice in the recipe. i used really sweet tangelos chopped up instead of oranges. next time i will try the oranges just like the recipe. also, i'll try the bit of chocolate that is suggested. we all really loved these! it made for a special sunday morning breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2001

      The smell when these are baking is incredible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      These are amazing! I doubled the batch but didn't need to change a thing. I will definitely make over and over again. Thanks for the recipe! EDIT: I just remade these but made it into a bread instead. I topped the bread with an orange glaze made from powered sugar, orange juice and just a touch of vanilla extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      In an attempt to lower the fat, just a little, I made this recipe using 1/4 cup canola oil and 1/4 cup applesauce in place of the 1/2 cup butter. I also decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup. The muffins still rose beautifully and they tasted so orangey delicious. This will be a keeper in our home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      Wonderfully simple recipe, yielding a moist and yummy muffin. Terrific aroma when baking and a delicious, orangey flavor that, surprisingly was not bitter (I was leary of the "with peel" part) I've made this twice now, not changing the ingredients one bit. The second time I needed a quick bread for company so I used this recipe as I had extra oranges on hand and thought it would work out well. For the bread I used a 9x5x3, lowered the temp to 375 and baked for 45 minutes. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      The first time I made these we thought they were good, but we like giant muffins. So today I made 6 giant muffins with this recipe , when I took them out of the oven I sprinkled sugar over the tops.Also used paper liners as I freeze muffins and take on trips and camping.Add 5-8 minutes cooking time for large muffins..Thank U again for another great recipe Lenny....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      I am torn about these muffins. While they taste great once they are finished, I found the prep to be very frustrating! I had a very hard time pureeing the oranges with the peels - after 20 minutes in my food processor, I had to take the oranges out and finish them with an immersion blender because they just wouldn't break down. I don't know if it was my oranges or my processor, but something wasn't working right :). After putting the thick batter in the muffin tins, I sprinkled them with a touch of sugar and popped them into a 375 convection oven. 20 minutes was way too long for these muffins - they were done in about 16 in my oven. Thankfully all of the work paid off - they taste great and have a nice golden crunch on the top. not sure if I will make them again, but if I do, I will know what to expect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      These muffins were very eat to make. However, they do not have enough orange flavour as I would like. I think I will use orange juice from the shops instead of freshly squeezed orange juice the next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      These were very light, tasty muffins, even using half whole wheat flour. They're not even close to being too orange-y! I sprinkled some turbinado sugar on them before baking, which produced a delicious crunchy top. Next time I'll definitely try adding some blueberries or chocolate chips. The only reason I didn't give the recipe five stars is because I reserve that or recipes that totally blow me away. However, I definitely plan to make these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      Not only are these light and fluffy and full of fresh orange flavor but it is so cool that you use the entire orange in these, peel and all! It really doesn't get much easier than this! I topped some of mine with a bit or orange decorating sugar before baking and added chopped pecans. Everyone loved them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      These were fantastic! I will be making them often for myself and my toddler, who gobbles them up! I was afraid they would be tart with the peel, but they were just sweet enough and had a lovely texture. For us, this made more than two dozen mini muffins - perfect for on-the-go breakfasts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      These muffins didn't "crown" as other usually do, but they are bursting with flavor. Using a food processor makes this recipe easy to prepare. I'm looking forward to making these again -- and soon! Thanks for submitting them, Lennie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      This is a light and nice tasting muffin. I thought it was weird to put the whole orange in the food processor, but it worked! I made sure the rind was pureed really well. I also thought the wet ingredients looked very strange when mixed together. In fact, I thought I scrambled the egg the first time around and threw it all away! My mistake. I made this exactly as written and I think DH will enjoy these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      So good and so moist! Like some users I added a pinch of salt just to bring out the sweetness. Thanks for posting. Update: I decided I would try lemons and lemon juice instead of orange. I increased the sugar to 1 cup, and they turned out amazing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      I love these muffins! I added some orange liqueur and white chocolate chips, simply divine! Thanks for a great muffin recipe, I will make them again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Orange Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.4
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    37%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 35.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 209.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes