Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, and Basil Couscous Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, and Basil Couscous Salad

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2010

      Fantastic! I skipped the shallots but added chopped avocado. DELICIOUS and SUPER EASY. I'm going to make this again tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      A lovely light-but-satisfying summer salad. I added more lemon (1/2 lemon = maybe 1 tablespoon?) and more basil (maybe 1/3 cup rather than 1/4 -- a bunch, at any rate), but we tend to go for stronger flavors. A great way to use our newly-ripened tomatoes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I used Israeli couscous, cut thc shallots down to 2 tbs, fresh lemon juice, and used a whole clove of garlic, next time I would only use maybe a half. The garlic overwhelms the salad a bit. Other than that I LOVE this recipe. It's hard for me to say if the pepper could be cut down to 1/8tsp because the garlic is so heavy. I can't decide if the heat is from the garlic or the pepper. The flavor is amazing. I love the salad before I even added the couscous. I could eat that alone! Thanks for sharing it's so very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! Great side dish and can be served hot or cold. I did need to add more lemon juice, salt and pepper because it was a tiny bit bland without it. Thank you....will be a regular recipe for us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Oh Fantastic! I make a marinaded mozarella, tomato and basil salad fairly frequently but it's never enough - what a fabulous way to make it stretch and savour the flavours! (usually the oil and dressing isn't used unless mopped up with bread) Took it to work for lunch! (Oh and I never measure so I do a drizzle of this and a bit of that and it was PERFECT!) XX Thanks Jules!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      I loved everything about this dish! The fresh tomatoes, basil and mozzarella are what make the dish. I recommend making the couscous prior to beginning any other prep work so the couscous has adequate time to cool before combining the ingredients. I appreciate that this dish can be made in advance and kept in the refrigerator to cool, although I don't recommend serving this more than 12-24 hours after preparation. Beyond 24 hours, the garlic and shallots become overpowering. This will become a summer staple for our family. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Loved it! So simple, so fast and so good. I used feta and it was awesome. I also used fresh basil and half whole wheat couscous. Great salad. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I really enjoyed this salad! Was made for a bbq I put on for 18 guests and wanted cold salads. I used spring onions from our garden rather than shallots and feta. I chose lemon juice due to reviews, and I could have added more for my taste. I would probably double the oil/lemon next time but it was still really good anyway. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      This was a really tasty way to prepare couscous. I loved the texture from the fresh mozzarella, the zip from the acids (I used both balsamic and lemon!) and the earthiness from the basil. YUM! My only complaint is not one from the actual recipe- but a flaw created by me. I had to use CANNED tomatoes rather than fresh. Boo. I do love canned tomatoes (for the right recipe, of course!), but fresh would have been ultra divine in this dish. Oh well, next time! Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Made using chicken broth in stead of water, balsamic vinegar, also extra tomato. Quick and easy, a definite keeper, will make frequently. Next time I will add slightly more vinegar for more flavor. This was great warm, and cold for lunch the next day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2014

      We really enjoyed this light summer salad. I made it a day ahead but also had some on the day I prepared it. The batch I ate the same day had a very strong flavor of raw shallots but in the batch the next day that had mellowed. I used about 4 teaspoons of balsamic vinegar to 2 of oil. We'll make this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2013

      Yum! We have lots of basil this year and I'm always looking for recipes. I used bulgar wheat instead of couscous and it worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      I have mixed feelings on this recipe. I really enjoyed the flavor and the use of couscous (I used Israeli) but I thought the tomatoes made it a little watery. Next time I think I will use italian tomatoes instead of slicer tomatoes and drain some of the liquid. It was a great side dish to my grilled veggie paninis but it didn't hold well so I wouldn't recommend serving it after it has sat for a while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Tasty! And a great way to use the basil from the garden. I made mine with quinoa, per someone's suggestion. It was a great light summer salad. I did use both lemon juice and vinegar for a little more flavor. And definately need the salt & pepper. Will keep this one for another time! Was good leftovers for a few days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      Yummy! I used lemon and balsamic and way more than listed. Used 8oz of mozz and more everything really. Loved it and will make again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      love it! i serve mine warm when it's cooler outside and occasionally sub in quinoa for couscous. Excellent next day lunch with some crusty wheat bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      I think this recipe for the most part has all the right ingredients to be a light tasty side dish. However, after making this exactly as the recipe is posted, it didn't turn out so great. Way too much garlic and shallots. The taste was so overbearing I wasn't able to enjoy the freshness of the basil, tomato, and mozzarella. I had the taste of garlic in my mouth for hours. No, I didn't confuse garlic clove with bulb. I really like the idea and the ingredients, so next time I think I will try the dish with 1/4 of a clove of garlic in lieu of a whole clove and maybe leave out the shallots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Nice flavor and a nice change from the traditional.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Great salad! I did make some changes, though. I only used 1/2 cup of couscous and therefore half of the water, but used the same amount of other ingredients. I also doubled the salt and balsamic vinegar. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      The only reason I'm not giving this review any stars is because I changed it from Couscous to Orzo.. I also doubled the balsamic vinegar but it turned out so well I had to post something. Thank you so much for the inspiration!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, and Basil Couscous Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (194 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.4
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    24%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 347.6 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites