38 Reviews

Fantastic! I skipped the shallots but added chopped avocado. DELICIOUS and SUPER EASY. I'm going to make this again tonight.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iddy Bitty April 02, 2010

A lovely light-but-satisfying summer salad. I added more lemon (1/2 lemon = maybe 1 tablespoon?) and more basil (maybe 1/3 cup rather than 1/4 -- a bunch, at any rate), but we tend to go for stronger flavors. A great way to use our newly-ripened tomatoes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole August 12, 2010

I used Israeli couscous, cut thc shallots down to 2 tbs, fresh lemon juice, and used a whole clove of garlic, next time I would only use maybe a half. The garlic overwhelms the salad a bit. Other than that I LOVE this recipe. It's hard for me to say if the pepper could be cut down to 1/8tsp because the garlic is so heavy. I can't decide if the heat is from the garlic or the pepper. The flavor is amazing. I love the salad before I even added the couscous. I could eat that alone! Thanks for sharing it's so very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColiesKitchen July 04, 2010

Absolutely delicious! Great side dish and can be served hot or cold. I did need to add more lemon juice, salt and pepper because it was a tiny bit bland without it. Thank you....will be a regular recipe for us!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP October 08, 2009

Oh Fantastic! I make a marinaded mozarella, tomato and basil salad fairly frequently but it's never enough - what a fabulous way to make it stretch and savour the flavours! (usually the oil and dressing isn't used unless mopped up with bread) Took it to work for lunch! (Oh and I never measure so I do a drizzle of this and a bit of that and it was PERFECT!) XX Thanks Jules!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sc4r1ett August 08, 2009

I loved everything about this dish! The fresh tomatoes, basil and mozzarella are what make the dish. I recommend making the couscous prior to beginning any other prep work so the couscous has adequate time to cool before combining the ingredients. I appreciate that this dish can be made in advance and kept in the refrigerator to cool, although I don't recommend serving this more than 12-24 hours after preparation. Beyond 24 hours, the garlic and shallots become overpowering. This will become a summer staple for our family. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fearless Baker May 10, 2009

Loved it! So simple, so fast and so good. I used feta and it was awesome. I also used fresh basil and half whole wheat couscous. Great salad. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO March 21, 2009

I really enjoyed this salad! Was made for a bbq I put on for 18 guests and wanted cold salads. I used spring onions from our garden rather than shallots and feta. I chose lemon juice due to reviews, and I could have added more for my taste. I would probably double the oil/lemon next time but it was still really good anyway. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KiwiYank February 26, 2009

This was a really tasty way to prepare couscous. I loved the texture from the fresh mozzarella, the zip from the acids (I used both balsamic and lemon!) and the earthiness from the basil. YUM! My only complaint is not one from the actual recipe- but a flaw created by me. I had to use CANNED tomatoes rather than fresh. Boo. I do love canned tomatoes (for the right recipe, of course!), but fresh would have been ultra divine in this dish. Oh well, next time! Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyfrolly August 01, 2008

Made using chicken broth in stead of water, balsamic vinegar, also extra tomato. Quick and easy, a definite keeper, will make frequently. Next time I will add slightly more vinegar for more flavor. This was great warm, and cold for lunch the next day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bubbles M. July 30, 2008
Fresh Mozzarella, Tomato, and Basil Couscous Salad