21 Reviews

Mmmmmm, yummy! This is definitely a keeper! I have LOTS of homegrown mangoes and tried this recipe to use a bunch that had fallen really ripe. Wow! I made a large loaf and only six muffins. I did use a bit more lemon than called for. Next time, I will try what other reviewers suggested and substitute plain (homemade!) yogurt for part of the oil and will reduce the sugar somewhat. Thanks, Grace Lynn!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori May 11, 2012

Absolutely delicious! I've tried a lot of mango bread recipes and this one beats them all. I checked my bread after 45 minutes and it was already done -- after I took it out of the pan and cooled it on the wire rack, I wrapped it up and served it the next day (I think all quick breads taste better the day after they're made). Well, it only lasted about 10 minutes. Everyone went back for seconds (and thirds). Really moist, without being too dense, and held together without a lot of crumbs. Great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester October 23, 2011

This is such a unique recipe with a wonderful flavor (and an even better aroma). I only had one loaf pan, so I made one loaf and 12 muffins like another reviewer did. Took about 25 minutes. I didn't use the raisins, and I threw in a mashed banana, since I only had two cups worth of chopped mango. The bread is so moist and delicious, and it was a great way to use up mangoes that I suspected were not going to ripen on their own.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss October 28, 2008

Great recipe! The bread turned out beautifully. I've been trying several different recipes found over the internet for mango bread, and this is the best one to date. I followed the recipe, but added more mangoes, one ripe banana, and plenty of lemon juice and the results are delicious. It's light, soft, and flavorful, and beautiful in color.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Get into my Belly July 26, 2007

My friend left some mango slices here after house sitting for us, so thought I'd do her a favor and make some mango bread out of it. I don't care for mangos at all - but this bread is very good. There's enough flavor from all the ingredients and I chopped up the mango in a processor, so it is very subtle in flavor. YUMMY. This is a very easy recipe. Instead of making 2 loaves, I made 1 loaf and 12 muffins. They turned out beautifully. I'm sure my friend is going to LOVE it! Thanks for posting! Update: It's almost 1 month later and my friend is still raving over this bread! It's a definite keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom September 19, 2006

I'm going to try and create a Gluten Free Version of this recipe. I will post if I get a good GF version.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marleenandlouie November 24, 2014

This recipe got great reviews from my family and coworkers. A great way to use up extra mangoes. The bread is moist just like a quick bread should be. We wrapped this bread in plastic wrap after it cooled and let it sit till the next day, it was even better that way. We did not have raisins so omitted them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AimsterFL July 16, 2014

This is a fantastic recipe, I made a few changes for a healthier version , used coconut oil 1//3 C and Yogurt 2/3 C like another reviewer suggested, also used raw agave 3/4 C instead of sugar , and the flour used 1 C White flour, !/2 C Whole wheat flour and 1/2 C oat flour, added cristallized ginger ( I love raisins but my husband don't) the rest and procees was all the same, Love this recipe!!!!!, almost forgot, added some rum to it and the flavor is awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tensy11 July 21, 2012

This recipe is amazing. The bread is sound and full of flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kazuki2010 July 12, 2010
Fresh Mango Bread