20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm going to try and create a Gluten Free Version of this recipe. I will post if I get a good GF version.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marleenandlouie November 24, 2014

This recipe got great reviews from my family and coworkers. A great way to use up extra mangoes. The bread is moist just like a quick bread should be. We wrapped this bread in plastic wrap after it cooled and let it sit till the next day, it was even better that way. We did not have raisins so omitted them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AimsterFL July 16, 2014

This is a fantastic recipe, I made a few changes for a healthier version , used coconut oil 1//3 C and Yogurt 2/3 C like another reviewer suggested, also used raw agave 3/4 C instead of sugar , and the flour used 1 C White flour, !/2 C Whole wheat flour and 1/2 C oat flour, added cristallized ginger ( I love raisins but my husband don't) the rest and procees was all the same, Love this recipe!!!!!, almost forgot, added some rum to it and the flavor is awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tensy11 July 21, 2012

Mmmmmm, yummy! This is definitely a keeper! I have LOTS of homegrown mangoes and tried this recipe to use a bunch that had fallen really ripe. Wow! I made a large loaf and only six muffins. I did use a bit more lemon than called for. Next time, I will try what other reviewers suggested and substitute plain (homemade!) yogurt for part of the oil and will reduce the sugar somewhat. Thanks, Grace Lynn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori May 11, 2012

Absolutely delicious! I've tried a lot of mango bread recipes and this one beats them all. I checked my bread after 45 minutes and it was already done -- after I took it out of the pan and cooled it on the wire rack, I wrapped it up and served it the next day (I think all quick breads taste better the day after they're made). Well, it only lasted about 10 minutes. Everyone went back for seconds (and thirds). Really moist, without being too dense, and held together without a lot of crumbs. Great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester October 23, 2011

This recipe is amazing. The bread is sound and full of flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kazuki2010 July 12, 2010

Great recipe! Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jody #5 February 07, 2010

just made up this recipe and am thoroughly enjoying it. i only had 2 c of mango (chopped up quite small) but that seemed to be enough. i also substituted 1/2 c of plain yogurt for 1/4 c of the oil and i only used 1/2 the sugar. i used chopped walnuts instead of raisins. still tastes great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigeyedturkey April 04, 2009

What a wonderful moist fruit bread. I enjoyed this very much, fresh and toasted. The flavor and texture were outstanding. I loved the addition of the golden raisins. The cinnamon enhanced the mango beautifully. I made 1/2 the recipe and it produced a lovely loaf. I will be making this again...thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 21, 2009
Fresh Mango Bread