Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Homemade Ricotta Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Homemade Ricotta Cheese

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2014

      I needed some ricotta for a recipe I was making and I didn't want to go to the store. I found this recipe and thought what the heck I'll give it a try. I am so glad I did. I cut it in half because I needed 1 cup. i don't buy whole milk so I only had 2% on hand. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and that was the best tasting ricotta. I will be using this recipe from now on instead of buying my ricotta. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2014

      Hey, Kathy: this is not actually ricotta, which is made from whey (from cheese-making!), but rather something I know as paneer and make every so often for certain Indian dishes. Anyway, this is a great cheese that can be even deep-fried for, say, Matar Paneer. Try (sour) yoghurt as the acid for even better-tasting paneer! <br/><br/>(I then use the whey in soups and bread.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      So easy but so good. I had 1 qt. of milk and used 2 T. lemon juice, it was so good. I tried it by itself before using in Zucchini Lasagna (Lasagne) - Low Carb. I drained it in a yogurt strainer I had rather than cheesecloth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      This is going to be a great addition to my "back to basics" collection. I used just one liter of milk and two tablespoons of lime juice. Lemons are hard to find (and expensive) here, so went with what I had. It does taste a bit "limey', but just a tad. Next time will try with white vinegar for a - hopefully - more neutral taste. Thanks, Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      Absolute perfection! I just bought 10 gallons of milk for $1 each - I'll use 1/2 of it to make more of this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      UPDATE: I used this ricotta in "Lemon, Ricotta and Sour Cream Pancakes" and they turned out amazing! This ricotta turned out beautifully! The directions were spot on. I have never made ricotta before and I am so very pleased with it. It makes the store bought look like a far distant cousin. Thank you Kathy for sharing this awesome recipe! Will be making this from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Wow! This is really cool. And, delicious. Can;t wait to make more in my obsession to make everything from scratch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This recipe is awesome. I did not have whole milk or lemon juice so I used canned evaporated milk and vinegar. It turned out just great and I will use the recipe a lot. You can also add spices to this cheese such as garlic, pepper or whatever your preferences are. It would be wonderful in Manicotti.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Homemade Ricotta Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.0
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    47%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 24.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 104.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.4 g
    49%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites