Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Green Beans with Garlic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Green Beans with Garlic

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2005

      5 star all the way. I steamed my beans for abought 3 minutes, set them aside and a few minutes before serving finished the recipe, I had slivered toasted almonds on hand so used those. Not only a tasty recipe but great appearing as well Thanks Derf another do again recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2002

      These green beans were fantastic. I used chopped fresh oregano and about 1/4 c. chopped hazelnuts and a pinch or two of cayenne. Great flavor. Thanks Dorothy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2002

      Very nice! I plan to try this using diffent nut varieties. This time I used the hazel nuts. Yum YUM !! Thank you !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2002

      These were some of the best green beans I've ever eaten! I took someone else's suggestion and used almonds. Superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2002

      This was remarkably good. I made it with 1/2 T of butter and 1/2 T of olive oil, 1/4 tsp of ground thyme (no fresh on hand) and a sprinkling of Parmesan instead of the cayenne and hazelnuts. My older daughter, who has never met a green vegetable that she liked, actually had THIRDS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2001

      This made a wonderful side dish. I used almonds instead of hazlenuts and the recipe was delicious. I served this with another Recipezaar recipe called Roasted Sticky Chicken. I plan on making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      Wonderful and simple way to prepare green beans,yet with elegant results. I also used almonds in place of the hazelnuts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      Made these for dinner tonight with fresh ingredients from the farmers market. They smelled fantastic while cooking, but we weren't a fan of the thyme. If I made these again I'd try the oregano. Served with grilled chicken and biscuits with homemade preserves.<br/>UPDATE: I made these again tonight using oregano instead of thyme. We all enjoyed them much better this way. We'll use oregano from now on and double the garlic. I increased the star rating based on our new review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      Yummy. Someone had given us some fresh green beans and I wasn't sure what to do with them. I chose your recipe and we are all glad I did. I am now going to be on the lookout for fresh green beans in the store. thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      Great recipe; thanks for posting! I made it to accompany the Peking Salmon Maple and Ginger (also found on food.com). I used roasted cashew nuts, a purple onion and dried thyme. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      Just found, made & fabulous!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      Yum! I used a purple onion and slivered almonds. A nice change from the usual.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2012

      Served this with baked tilapia and loved it - it complimented the fish really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      Mmmm, very good! I used dried thyme and didn't have any nuts, so I left those out. This is a great new way to use up all those fresh green beans in the garden. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      AMAZING recipe, although I had to make a few substitutions to not having some ingredients on-hand. Used coconut oil, which imparted a very nice subtle taste, toasted chopped walnuts for hazel nuts,and abt 1/2 tsp of dried red peppers due to lack of cayenne. The beans were about 20 min out of the garden-fresh and I'm not sure I'll want to make fresh green beans any other way now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      This is the best green bean recipe ever. My son, who hates all vegetables, had 2 servings and then came back to make sure I didn't throw the leftovers away. We had guests over for dinner an they raved about them. I toasted the hazlenuts (350 for 10 minutes)...definitely use hazelnuts. Substituted shallots for onions and used fresh thyme. I never knew how to properly cook fresh green beans until now. This will be a staple recipe for my family. I can honestly say I have never been excited about a vegetable side dish before now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      These were great, and my DH loved them too! We're garlic lovers, so I doubled the garlic. Green beans were cooked, but still crispy. YUM! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      These were amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Made as directed, cooked in an iron skillet on the grill about 10 minutes, perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I made these beans as a side dish with Thanksgiving dinner and they were so good that I finished this before anything else!! While the beans were boiling, I sauteed onion first with italian seasoning and salt and pepper...then once then were starting to get soft, added 4 cloves of minced garlic. I added the beans after the onion mix was fully sauteed and returned everything together back on medium heat with extra butter and sauteed until the onions and garlic were caramelized....this brought out a nice sweet flavor and the beans were just so good!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Green Beans with Garlic

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 61.7
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    31%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 24.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes