47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

5 star all the way. I steamed my beans for abought 3 minutes, set them aside and a few minutes before serving finished the recipe, I had slivered toasted almonds on hand so used those. Not only a tasty recipe but great appearing as well Thanks Derf another do again recipe

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy May 11, 2005

These green beans were fantastic. I used chopped fresh oregano and about 1/4 c. chopped hazelnuts and a pinch or two of cayenne. Great flavor. Thanks Dorothy.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gladys58 September 04, 2002

Very nice! I plan to try this using diffent nut varieties. This time I used the hazel nuts. Yum YUM !! Thank you !

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Klag June 05, 2002

These were some of the best green beans I've ever eaten! I took someone else's suggestion and used almonds. Superb!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiffany in CA May 24, 2002

This was remarkably good. I made it with 1/2 T of butter and 1/2 T of olive oil, 1/4 tsp of ground thyme (no fresh on hand) and a sprinkling of Parmesan instead of the cayenne and hazelnuts. My older daughter, who has never met a green vegetable that she liked, actually had THIRDS!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kstein April 10, 2002

This made a wonderful side dish. I used almonds instead of hazlenuts and the recipe was delicious. I served this with another Recipezaar recipe called Roasted Sticky Chicken. I plan on making this again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn October 29, 2001

Wonderful and simple way to prepare green beans,yet with elegant results. I also used almonds in place of the hazelnuts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather September 07, 2003

Made these for dinner tonight with fresh ingredients from the farmers market. They smelled fantastic while cooking, but we weren't a fan of the thyme. If I made these again I'd try the oregano. Served with grilled chicken and biscuits with homemade preserves.<br/>UPDATE: I made these again tonight using oregano instead of thyme. We all enjoyed them much better this way. We'll use oregano from now on and double the garlic. I increased the star rating based on our new review!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom December 12, 2013

Yummy. Someone had given us some fresh green beans and I wasn't sure what to do with them. I chose your recipe and we are all glad I did. I am now going to be on the lookout for fresh green beans in the store. thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour September 16, 2013

Great recipe; thanks for posting! I made it to accompany the Peking Salmon Maple and Ginger (also found on food.com). I used roasted cashew nuts, a purple onion and dried thyme. Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deeptishenoy April 03, 2013
Fresh Green Beans with Garlic