Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Green Beans Deluxe Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Green Beans Deluxe

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2002

      I'd be the first to admit that I have no talent for cooking and my family cheerfully puts up with my lack of skill. But tonight I hit a winner with the "green beans deluxe". I added fresh mushrooms while cooking the beans and they were a nice touch. Since I didn't have any cherry tomatoes, I coarsely chopped up a large tomato and added a tiny pinch of sugar. Even my son (who is a recovering anorexic) ate these veggies and declared them "fine"! Coming from Mississippi, I must say the taste has a Southern style flavor - makes me feel like I've gone home. Thanks, Inez, for helping me get over my cooking slump.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2002

      Oh my my my! This is the best way to fix green beans EVER! This dish is just full of flavor. The tomatoes really pick up a great amount of flavor even though they are added at the last minute. I only wish I had made more so we could have leftovers tomorrow! Just delicious and I am sure they would make a great side dish for any kind of poultry, meat, or fish. I served these with your Basil Cream Chicken (Basil Cream Chicken).I will be making these again very soon. Inez, this is my new favorite of yours!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      I chose this recipe as the vegetable for our Christmas Eve family dinner and as always, Inez didn't let me down. Fabulous yummy side dish that even included Christmas colors! Thanks so much, Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

      This is the absolute best green beans recipe ever! I've tried so many and some were good, but this was amazing! The bacon added so much to the taste as well, the cherry tomatoes were yummy too! Will make this a regular side dish from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2002

      I've seen my Mammaw cook beans in bacon fat, but I've never been brave enough to try it myself. Glad I was! These were a tasty sidedish to crocked brisket & potatoes. The beans remained firm enough to have some presence, and were perfectly accented by the drippings, the garlic, & the juiciness of the tomatoes. I didn't have any almonds to throw in, can't wait to see how they will work in! Thanks Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2002

      Very good beans. We loved the taste of the tomatoes and bacon in these. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      All my guests asked for the recipe! We made this dish with turkey bacon (about 6-8 slices) and it was still really yummy! A perfect vegetable side dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      I steamed the beans, and then added the rest of the ingredients. I also added fresh mushrooms and some chopped red pepper. Delicious served with pork roast! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      A wonderful side dish - so easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      Made this when DH had requested fresh green beans for dinner and gave this a try. I didn't have cherry tomatoes so used some left over stewed tomatoes and it was really good with a wonderful blend of flavors. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      Made as written, but I used the real bacon in a jar bits for the bacon. Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I was looking for (yet another) way to use up some of these grape tomatoes that just will NOT stop producing! Tried these as written, with minor changes, but like poster Mrejones said, I think chopped regular tomato would be better. Also, I had no almonds, so used toasted pine nuts, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      These were very good. I would make a few alterations though. I eat very healthy, so the beans cooked in the bacon drippings made them rather greasy. I would cook them in Pam spray or olive oil like Bluemooner suggested. I cut out the tomatoes too. The almonds & garlic gave a very good flavor. I enjoyed them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      This is a very tasty way to fix green beans. Thanks for the great recipe. Wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      I made this recipe for a friend after she had surgery along with a salad and meatloaf. She and her husband absolutely loved it. To make it healthier I used olive oil instead of bacon grease to cook the green beans in. The rest of the recipe I made the same. I did use applewood bacon which we love. I think this recipe would be spectacular for the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      These were WONDERFUL! We (DH and I) followed the directions exactly and were amazed at how great they tasted! The green beans were perfectly cooked and the flavors were a prefect mix. We plan to offer as a side dish at our Thanksgiving dinner as we know our family will love them as well! We served this dish with Basil Cream Chicken #32735 and the two went really well together. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that we will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      Ok, enjoyable but I didn't find these outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      Boy was this great....I have found so many good recipes on this site that I have become a recipezaar addict....This recipe will be great for Easter...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2006

      I made some minor changes. Used only a 1/3 teaspoon of salt. Didn't add tomatoes, as I hate them. I also figured if this recipe was good with 4 strips of bacon, it must be amazing with 8 strips. So I used 10 strips of extra thick cut bacon. Also, you know how you could deep fry shoe laces and they'd taste good? Well, I also believe you can cook anything in bacon grease and it'll taste good. And...surprise...it does! These beans were awesome. Everybody loved them. Texture was really good too. I will be making this again very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      Everything about these beans was just right . . . the color, the aroma, the flavor. I made them for a dinner party and everyone raved. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Green Beans Deluxe

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 95.3
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    46%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 3.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 344.1 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes