24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was looking for a recipe using green beans and came across this. I used frozen whole petite green beans that I cooked in the microwave for about 5 minutes and then cooled. Also just used 1 can of hearts of palm. I added about 2-3 tablespoons of sugar to the dressing and it was just right. I marinated everything except the spinach in 1/2 the dressing overnight and then added the spinach and a little more dressing about an hour before serving. Very fresh and different for a 4th of July dinner. Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas July 04, 2011

This is a great and unique salad. I have been working on serving as much of our food as I can raw. This bean salad will be a staple in our diet as I can imagine all kinds of things that will go well in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julikoz May 31, 2013

I chose to make this recipe because I was looking for something different and to maybe expand our food experience. I have never had hearts of palm. I was dubious to say the least. I made the recipe exactly as written, but I did make it the night before I was planning to serve it so I did not put the spinach and the feta in until just before serving as mentioned in an earlier review. I tasted it before serving it to my husband. I liked it but I thought that he would eat it better if I crumbled some bacon over it as sort of a garnish. He eats salad type things better if there is meat in it. The salad is really good and the hearts of palm do make the salad, Hubby said that he would eat it again, so that means it was a success. Thank you for sharing this recipe and helping us to expand our food experience. PS I did blanch the green beans for 3 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
livingstonfran August 11, 2011

Fantastic! I made a very simplified version, using only the green beans and red onions for the salad, no feta, but I did use all the dressing ingredients. It was fantastic, and held up well in a sealed container in the fridge for 2 days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlackDahlia47 April 29, 2011

The heart of palm is definitely the star in this. I have never marinated them before, and loved them this way. I didn't care for the green beans raw though, I would definitely blanch them first. I also halved the oil and salt. I tried this with and without the feta. Both were very good, but I think I slightly preferred it without the feta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito November 24, 2010

Great recipe dh loved it as did i. I think it's the sugar that makes this a winner. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin great grammy November 17, 2010

Never knew green beans could taste this good raw. I really liked this recipe and will make ti again. Thank you for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefette2u July 18, 2010

This is a very good salad. I felt a little weird about eating the green beans raw but everything comes together very nice. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NWPachyderm September 05, 2009

Wonderful! I love trying new things and had never had hearts of palm 'til I tried this. The beans have a nice crunch that complements the soft hearts of palm. The dressing is fabulous! Thanks, Engrossed! This one's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toddy Turtle August 17, 2009

I was looking for a way to use green beans, RAW. This was sooo very tasty. I will be making this over and over again! My children even liked it. I, too, made it without the hearts of palm...didn't have any. No feta either, but would like to try it with some. Thanks for posting this! Much appreciated!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gdlehman July 29, 2009
Fresh Green Bean Salad