Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Green Bean Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Green Bean Salad

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2011

      I was looking for a recipe using green beans and came across this. I used frozen whole petite green beans that I cooked in the microwave for about 5 minutes and then cooled. Also just used 1 can of hearts of palm. I added about 2-3 tablespoons of sugar to the dressing and it was just right. I marinated everything except the spinach in 1/2 the dressing overnight and then added the spinach and a little more dressing about an hour before serving. Very fresh and different for a 4th of July dinner. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      This is a great and unique salad. I have been working on serving as much of our food as I can raw. This bean salad will be a staple in our diet as I can imagine all kinds of things that will go well in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      I chose to make this recipe because I was looking for something different and to maybe expand our food experience. I have never had hearts of palm. I was dubious to say the least. I made the recipe exactly as written, but I did make it the night before I was planning to serve it so I did not put the spinach and the feta in until just before serving as mentioned in an earlier review. I tasted it before serving it to my husband. I liked it but I thought that he would eat it better if I crumbled some bacon over it as sort of a garnish. He eats salad type things better if there is meat in it. The salad is really good and the hearts of palm do make the salad, Hubby said that he would eat it again, so that means it was a success. Thank you for sharing this recipe and helping us to expand our food experience. PS I did blanch the green beans for 3 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2011

      Fantastic! I made a very simplified version, using only the green beans and red onions for the salad, no feta, but I did use all the dressing ingredients. It was fantastic, and held up well in a sealed container in the fridge for 2 days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      The heart of palm is definitely the star in this. I have never marinated them before, and loved them this way. I didn't care for the green beans raw though, I would definitely blanch them first. I also halved the oil and salt. I tried this with and without the feta. Both were very good, but I think I slightly preferred it without the feta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      Great recipe dh loved it as did i. I think it's the sugar that makes this a winner. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      Never knew green beans could taste this good raw. I really liked this recipe and will make ti again. Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      This is a very good salad. I felt a little weird about eating the green beans raw but everything comes together very nice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Wonderful! I love trying new things and had never had hearts of palm 'til I tried this. The beans have a nice crunch that complements the soft hearts of palm. The dressing is fabulous! Thanks, Engrossed! This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I was looking for a way to use green beans, RAW. This was sooo very tasty. I will be making this over and over again! My children even liked it. I, too, made it without the hearts of palm...didn't have any. No feta either, but would like to try it with some. Thanks for posting this! Much appreciated!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Good recipe, took it to a potluck and everyone enjoyed it. Made it without hearts of palm but it was fine. The feta really enhances the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      My family loved it. I couldn't find any heart of palms, but the salad was still delicious anyway. I used fresh tomatoes out of the garden which made it all the better. I added avocado to the salad because I had some ready, it was a great touch to the salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      Absolutely terrific, healthy as the driven snow and that taste fresh and glorious! I had all the fresh ingredients from the garden and was really able to really make this treat of a salad, quickly and easily. I was able to quarter this recipe easily and the use of the lemon juice and balsamic vinegar made a great dressing coupled with the garlic, we just ate this for dinner. Just terrific, I wouldn't add any different except I can see using all kinds of vegetables interchangeably. Thanks, Engrossed! Made for *SSC Pet Parade* July 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      We found this salad nice for a change of pace. I had never had hearts of palm before but never shy to try something new. They werent my favourite part of the salad but I'll use them again when making this salad. I did top with the feta cheese because I love any and all cheeses. I used Roma tomatoes (didnt have grape tomatoes). I had leftovers which I'm looking forward to having in a few minutes for lunch! Thanks for sharing a delicious salad with us! I'll be making this one again. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      This was so light and refreshing. I absolutely loved it. This also didn't last very long in the house either. I did add the feta cheese, which added a nice salty texture to the salad. For that reason I left out the sugar/splenda substitute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      what a wonderful salad Engrossed! I used sugar in the dressing and topped the salad with feta, I made this using blanched frozen whole green beans and chopped Roma tomatoes, we loved this, thanks for sharing hon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      I really loved this salad. I loved the dressing and of course the hearts of palm! I did it without the optional cheese and will be getting another jar of hearts of palm to make this one again! Thanks Engrossed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      This was really good... I'm not much of a vinegar and oil dressing eater, but this was outstanding.... The garlic and oregano took the "oily" taste away and the lemon gave it a kick.... I had never tried hearts of palm before, but I liked them... My 7 and 4 yr. old children did too.... I love feta cheese and it was a great addition to an already wonderful salad... Prepared for "Review my Recipe".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      Very good salad. This is also my first time to try hearts of palm - I only used one can -but would like to try the mariniated version next time. We skipped the sugar/splenda but used the feta cheese. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      I really liked this salad. A nice change of pace. I haven't had a balsamic/marinated salad in quite a while. This was my first time trying hearts of palm. I can't say they're my favorite, but they are ok. Kind of mushy, and I tried some directly from the can and they didn't seem to have much flavor. But with the dressing and the other textures from the crunchy beans and so on, altogether it went well and was enjoyable. I think it would have been easier to eat if the tomatoes had been halved. I was a bit anxious over whether I'd like eating raw green beans, but actually I enjoyed it a lot. I think I will try and find new salads to make with raw green beans. I did completely forget to add the feta cheese. Hubby and I were eating this and he said it kind of seemed like an antipasto type of salad, and I said I could see putting salami and cheese in it and eating it as a main course. Then later I realized I'd forgotten the feta. I had some of the leftovers today for lunch, and they were still very good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Green Bean Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.6
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    53%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 584.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites