13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used the leftover pears from making some homemade pear vodka in this bread. Excellent texture and taste. I followed the recipe exactly and my two loaves were beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for Photo Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff November 13, 2008

I made some peach bread and the flavor is good. The house smells so good while baking. However, it took me 80 minutes to bake them. I wonder is it because of the riped peach?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB August 06, 2008

I made this yesterday with some tangerines. It was very good, and my husband and I ate a whole loaf in 2 days! Will definitely make every time a new fruit comes into season.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fressy August 30, 2007

I made this to use up some fresh strawberries that were beyond out-of-hand eating but still good for baking. I only had one cup of chopped berries, so I supplemented with a couple of peaches that were rolling around the produce drawer. Nice and moist, and I like that it makes two loaves (which means I could do this as a bundt without having to do math lol). Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess August 12, 2006

This was excellent, but I'm thinking you might have to change the name from "Fresh Fruit Bread" because I also used canned fruit, drained, and not fresh. Delicious and moist. I'll certainly make this again. And I like that it makes two loaves, one for now & one for the freezer (or a friend!)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Not So Good Cook January 15, 2006

I made this today, 7/1/14. It turned out amazing!!!! I absolutely love it and will keep on making it. Now is the good time as blueberries and strawberries are in season. Great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
i.e.schmigiel1_7319445 July 02, 2014

when using can fruit do you drain it? Also, what size bread pans do you use? Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alma01 June 30, 2014

Simple recipe that can be used with all sorts of fruits and/or nuts! I made this with apples, plum and persimmons (aka the leftover fruit!) and some pecans. I brought to the office and it disappeared quickly! Will definitely make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
famousjenny November 20, 2012

Sharon, this is a very, very lovely loaf of bread! Its cakey with a soft inside and a lovely crunchy top. I used a mix of blueberries and red currants from a local farmers' market as my choice of fruit and might have used more than asked for as I just threw them in without measuring. This is so easy and quick to make and the end result is stunning! I can see me making this very often again with all different types of fruits (maybe cherries next) and perhaps even trying a savoury version with fresh veggies and cheese. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this winner with us, Sharon! Made and reviewed for the Red, White and Blue Event in the Bevy Tag Game July 09.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula July 27, 2009

Sharon, this was wonderful. Just like Mysterygirl I also used canned peaches and it was to die for. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolinafan September 20, 2005
Fresh Fruit Bread