Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Egg Pasta-Gluten Free Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Egg Pasta-Gluten Free

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2007

      The first time I made this the dough was very fragile, but then we discovered that the flours and liquids needed time to meld together and that we needed to knead it a lot more than we were doing. It definitely needs at least an hour's sitting time before rolling out.The first time I made it, it seemed to have a rubbery texture, but I was watching Lydia's Table and she leaves salt out of her pasta for this reason. So that's what I did and it made a big difference. I find that if you have to roll it out by hand, divide the mixture into 4 first, as it is easier to get a uniform thinness through the whole sheet. But this pasta is worth buying a pasta machine for - roll on my next birthday!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! I've made this a few times now, and it's now my standard for gluten-free pasta. I have used walnut oil, or grapeseed oil - both were delicious and for different meals. For those of you making this with a pasta roller for the first time, I find it useful to keep the length of the piece going through half as short as you want it to end up, and almost the same for width. E.g. for spaghetti, start with 6"x(half the width of your roller) to get 12" long noodles. I'm looking forward to trying to make some hand-rolled gnocchi with this next time! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      This was a fantastic recipe. I was a little worried at how sticky the dough seemed, but rolling it out with the potato starch, it's perfect. I used this recipe to make ravioli and the whole family loved it, including the gluten eaters. Texture is great and it didn't fall apart like a lot of supermarket gluten free pastas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      What a delicious treat this was in chicken soup tonight! I made a few small changes, I'm allergic to corn, so I replaced the cornstarch with arrowroot. I replaced the veggie oil with EVOO for added flavor and used 2 whole eggs and 2 yolks I had leftover instead of 3 large eggs. I rested the dough as others reccomended and I was able to hand-roll it (the smaller side of my Pampered chef baking roller)out no problem. I plan to experiment with this dough, perhaps making GF ravioli next!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Could not/would not have made this without my pasta roller attachment...but it wasn't any more difficult than regular pasta dough, actually it didn't require any additional flour since it wasn't the least bit sticky. I used olive oil instead of vegetable, and I let the dough rest for maybe 2 hours at room temp before rolling. This pasta is very light, which is kind of nice. No issues with the flavor at all! Glad to find this recipe (and so is my gluten-intolerant husband!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      Just what I've been looking for! Mixed these up quick - w/out the salt. Tossed it in a container with a lid on it and let it sit for a few hours. Decided the dough was too dry, as it still seemed a bit 'chunky'. I broke off about 1/4 of the dough and kneaded in water until the ball was smooth, but not sticky. I then rolled it out on my Slippat baking mat with a wooden rolling pin, and didn't need any additional flour, and they peeled off easily. Just make sure you roll these as thin as you can possibly get them - I would say that they nearly tripled in thickness when fully cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      Ever since I went gluten free last May, I've been dying for the taste of fresh egg pasta. It was totally delicious. I could barely tell the difference from its wheat counterpart. I cooked it in lightly salted boiling water for a little less than 2 minutes and it finished perfectly. It even cooked up al dente! This recipe is a godsend. It totally made my week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Simple and Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      I made these two weeks ago, and will be making them again this weekend. They're fabulous! My dad, who is a celiac, said he couldn't tell the difference! We doubled the recipe, ran them through the pasta maker on the linguine setting, and had enough pasta for 4 adults with a little bit left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      I was so excited to find this recipe. I thought that since I was diagnosed with Celiac's I would never have my favorite food again. Pasta! I made this with my famous creamy garlic basil sauce and it was superb. These noodles taste the same as my own homemade noodles, recipe from grandma. I have tried storebought gluten free noodles and the flavor and texture is wrong. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      Make sure you have a pasta machine for this recipe! The dough is incredibly stiff. I made it for a friend of mine who can't have gluten, and she said it's delicious, so taste-wise, I'd rate it highly. But production-wise, it's not easy to hand roll at all! The good news with that is that it's a tough dough to break or crumble; it really holds together, to make it easier to roll out in once piece. Just make sure you have little pieces, if you're hand-rolling. Whew! It's aerobic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      Whenever I find a recipe I always look over others' comments and make adjustments to the recipe accordingly. Noodles came out great for my purpose, but I'm not sure if the extra trouble I had getting them there was from not using salt as others suggested or from only using 1 Tbsp of xanthan gum as a few suggested. My dough was so sticky! The first batch I let sit for a few hours after trying to knead it and making a huge mess. After the few hours I had to add a ton of potato starch to finally be able to roll the dough, The second batch I skipped the kneading until after letting the dough rest. Still sticky, so I tried putting it in the fridge for a bit, still sticky, so I added all the extra starch and kneaded and rolled. Someone suggested using a pizza cutter since we don't have our pasta maker anymore (going to have to get a new one now!) and the cutter worked great! Without a machine it was harder to get consistent thickness on the noodles, but despite the mess I will make these again and again for my recipe that uses egg noodles! I will have to try the recipe next time as is and see if I have the same issues. Thank you so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      For a different taste, I used 1/2 cup buckwheat flour, 1/4 cup each tapioca flour and cornstarch. I found that if the mixture is too dry, it’s better to add more egg than water or oil. I left out the salt and let it rest covered in the fridge for an hour – thanx jackandfiona. It worked best in my pasta machine when I hand-rolled it into sheets a bit thicker than the lowest roller setting, cut them into rectangles, and after the first few reductions let them rest at least 10 min before trying to go thin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      This recipe is awesome! Thanks for sharing! I don't add salt to it either-thanks so much to jackandfiona-and really benefits from a lot of kneading, which is kind of fun cause what do you get to knead when you're baking gluten-free.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      I made this for Thanksgiving. We didn't have any problem with the consistency of the blend. After rolling it out, we let the sheet of dough rest for about an hour before cutting it into noodles. We cooked it in a vegetable broth for a gluten free vegetarian side dish. Everyone loved it. It tasted very similar to my traditional egg noodle recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      I used this recipe to make lasagna for my gluten-free inlaws and it was a big success. As other reviewers did, I left out the salt and used 1 tablespoon xanthan gum. My dough was not tough at all but actually very soft and pliable. I ran it through my pasta machine and then rolled it a little further to get it nice and thin. It cooked up a treat in the lasagna and I couldn't have told the difference between normal pasta and this. Excellent recipe to have for gluten intolerant guests!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      these are very yummy! based on reading other reviews i decided to cut the xanthan gum to 1 T. this helped out with the issue of being "too chewy". when cutting these, be sure to cut them smaller than you want the finished product to be! i wanted a linguini style noodle and was shocked when they popped out of the pot (literally, i had to remove some of the water)! they double in size, at least, during cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      I'm so excited I found this recipe! I'd never made any kind of pasta before and this was absolutely delicious! I used 4 eggs (from my own chooks :) instead of 3 and I didn't have all of the different kinds of flours so I used my gluten free white bread mix and gluten substitute, I didn't include the salt as other users had stated and I left the dough to rise for an hour. I did need to add extra flour to make the dough more manageable and as I ran the dough through the machine I continued to add a small amount of flour, patting it on to avoid any stickyness. I made fettucini and it was an absolute joy to make, cook and eat! My family (who are not gluten intollerant) LOVED it and said I must make it again. Thank you for posting such a wonderful recipe....now gluten free is SOOO tasty! xoxo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      I don't know why this recipe got such high ratings. We followed the directions to a tee, and the dough was unmanageable - it was super tough and fell apart no matter what we did. We spent so much time trying to work with it, even let it sit for an hour as some reviewers suggested. To no avail. It tasted horrible and didn't work for us. The only reason I gave it two stars was because we got a good workout.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      P.S. I also used a little less than 1/4 cup of milk and 2 eggs instead of 3 eggs. I had to add a small handful of tapioca to get them the right consistency but they turned out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Egg Pasta-Gluten Free

    Serving Size: 1 (33 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.3
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    41%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 93.0 mg
    31%
    Sodium 329.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites