90 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I looked over several recipes, and then many of the reviews before choosing this recipe... am I ever glad I did! This soup is FANTASTIC! I had exactly 8oz mushrooms and wanted a thick creamy soup, so I reduced the liquid by 3c. Ultimately I used 5 c. stock, 1 c. half & half and 1 c. 1% milk, I added 1 small diced onion in step 1 and served it over a sprinkling of thyme in the bowl.... absolutely wonderful on a cool, rainy day! Thank You PanNan, I'll be back!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane R October 23, 2009

Tastes awesome, and is really easy to make! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
estoyloco October 10, 2009

This was very flavorful. I will definitely be making this again. The only thing I will change it to add more mushrooms. I like it chunkier. The broth really picked up the mushroom flavor. I used chicken, but would love to try it with beef. Thanks for sharing! Just made it with beef broth. YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon September 27, 2009

Thank you for showing me that simplicity is the key to excellence. I had never made soup before because I figured it was complicted. I am throwing away my can opener.. Thank you for sharing PanNan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bay Laurel September 21, 2009

I just finished making this soup. I used only 1 1/2 qts of stock and used the heavy cream. I like a thick soup but it still wasn't as thick as I like it. I used baby portabellas and they were wonderful. I think I will try some rosemary next time to give it a little flavor boost. It for sure a basic keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schatz_57 September 13, 2009

Holy cow...this is spank me good! I'll add this to my list of "Health Foods in Heaven." I love cream of mushroom soup and this makes the top of my list. Here's what I tweeked. I took the advice of other reviewers and added 1oz. of dried black mushrooms (soaked for 30 minutes in hot water before chopping and adding). I also added a bit of fresh chopped rosemary. Otherwise, I made it as written with beef broth. I was a bit worried after I added the flour, it didn't look right. Once I added the stock I knew it was fine. I did bring it to a boil also. I find that helps to thicken things some times. Thanks for this great treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saint louie girl August 17, 2009

I'm not rating this one with stars yet since this was the first attempt at making the soup and I made a lot of changes by the end. Here's what happened: I wanted a thick soup so I initially only used one quart of chicken stock. This was not enough stock to dissolve the flour and the final product was pretty thick but the mushrooms were a little caked with flour - not good but may have been ok if I had wanted to puree the soup and use it as a replacement for the canned soup in recipes. I was looking for a soup to serve as part of a meal but I just didn't think the soup had enough flavor... So I started looking at other recipes and ended up adding a little thyme, pepper, dried parsley, a bay leaf, and some white wine. It still wasn't all that great so I ended up adding an additional half quart of stock. That's where I am now and I think it's good but not outstanding and it is no longer very thick which is ok since it still has good body.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee August 15, 2009

Considering how easy and quick this is it was very good. I would have liked it a little thicker but it was okay. I followed the advice of some other reviewers and added 1.5 quarts of broth and I added some rosemary. I used half and half. I hope it reheats okay. Does anyone know if you can freeze it?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prrs4me August 11, 2009

This is a simply fantastic stuff! For such an easy recipe, it has a lot of flavor and substance. I had more than 8 ounces of old mushrooms to use up, so my roux was a little crumbly and I didn't cook it the specified time. I used 4 teaspoons of Souperior "Better Than Buoillon" Organic Mushroom Base for the broth. After reading some of the reviews, I only used 1 quart of water plus a little bit that I rinsed my jar with and I used half and half. It was the perfect consistency--not too thick or thin. You might think it odd that I'm eating soup when it's over 100 degrees in Texas, but it is nice to have something in the fridge that you can microwave about 7:00 p.m. for dinner and have a light, easy meal. It tasted even better on the second day and it microwaved well. Trust me, you will want to cover it while in the microwave! PanNan, thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe! It's a keeper and I will be making it again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose July 08, 2009

Wow this was so easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I used chicken stock as that is what I had on hand. I also used milk as I didn't have any half and half. I used this in Ground Beef and Au Gratin Potatoes instead of the canned soup and it worked out wonderfully. I froze the rest of this soup and will be using it instead of canned soup in the future! I did think that the soup needed some spices. I did add some pepper and salt and then we thought it was even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol June 30, 2009
Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup