Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2008

      Hi! This was great. I used 3 kinds of mushrooms - mmm good mix. If you love mushrooms, you can easily double the amount. I used one quart of organic chicken stock plus one quart of boullion - if I had just used the good stuff, it would have been even better. Also, I used rice flour b/c we have a gluten allergy, and you would have never known the difference. thanks for posting! I really was craving mushrooms, so I fried my extra mushrooms with a clove of garlic and served it alongside on a toasted piece of bread. Delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

    • on August 27, 2008

      Delicious! *smacks lips* :) I used chanterelle mushrooms (currently in season in Sweden) and added 1 clove minced garlic (not too overpowering, just gives it a hint of garlic flavor) about 2 teaspoons lemon pepper & approximately 1/3 cup chopped, fresh chives. I also added about 5-6 slices gouda cheese (not smoked) and heavy cream, which ensured the thickening of the soup. Wonderful, fast, easy and VERY TASTY, this is a keeper, thanx so much, PanNan!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      I appreciate how easy it was to put this soup together. I added the milk in shortly after the stock and let it simmer/boil with the soup to allow a thicker soup as I believe it would have turned out too thin of a consistancy as Sherryillk says. Very easy, tasted great, a winner with all in my family :) Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      Two quarts of stock was too much more than I like would have liked... Soup came out thin and not as creamy so next time I think I'll use less stock or more flour. Still, pretty tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      This was an enjoyable soup. I did have a problem with some lumps of flour even though I stirred constantly. I didn't notice the lumps until I had a bowl of the soup. I also would change some of the broth to milk. It has quite a strong chicken broth flavour. I will try this one again with just a couple of changes. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      Extremely tasty! I reduced the butter by half and used less stock for a thicker soup. I also pureed slightly before adding the milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      I halved this recipe to make for lunch today and it turned out great! It had a nice, creamy consistency even using 1% milk. I also added a splash of dry sherry just before adding the broth and used mushroom broth because it's what I had on hand. Quick, easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Very very good and guess what? Unlike Campbell's, it has no added sodium and frankly, it doesn't need it!!!! I DID add Thyme after I tasted it, but it really didn't need it. Excellent and easy and this WILL be a repeat!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I just LOVED this!!!! I had some sliced portobello mushrooms and found myself needing some cream of mushroom soup but did not have any in the house. I did not think it was going to work but tried it anyway since I had everything I needed in the house. I did have to add some more flour to get it thick enough and I added a little garlic when sauteing the mushrooms. I also used milk. Wow!!! It worked wonderfully for the recipe I needed it for and was great on its own too. I don't think I will have to buy cream of mush soup again. It was soo easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      I just love this recipe! This is not the first time I have tried it. I am a repeat offender, I added a 1/2 teaspoon of Rosemary and a pinch of salt this time and it really spiced it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      I was a little leery at first since this didn't call for an actual roux, and even though it turned out excellent, next time I will make a roux on the side... Of course, I had to add 1/2 an onion and a clove of garlic, used 1/2 Smart Balance and 1/2 olive oil,whole wheat flour, and some salt and pepper... Had to add a bit more flour to get the right consistency... It was perfect in a mug on a cold day, walking to the nearest pub for a winter ale!!! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      This is a very creamy, satisfying soup with a nice mushroomy flavor. This is definitely a keeper ... better than store bought. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      I've visited my grandma at the nursing home and eaten food with more flavor. I made this twice. I added Garlic the first time and thought it was me. 2nd time I followed directions exactly and it turned out like little pieces of cardboard soaked in a partially creamy water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      So rich, creamy and full of mushroom goodness!!! I used chicken stock and 2% milk and it still came out so delcious. I loved this creamy soup, but my BF said it reminded him of mushroom gravy... so thus the 4 stars... However, that gave me an idea... I used the leftover soup and combined it with some browned ground beef and served it over some egg noodles for dinner the next day. My BF thought it was the best stroganoff ever!!! Thanks so much for sharing this easy soup! I will never buy that canned stuff again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      mmmmmmm good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      This was really good...only I felt it needed a little more flavor so I added some no salt added herb and spice seasoning...delicious! I also added 1 1/2 scallions chopped up. I also liked the idea of the sour cream...my daughter doesn't like cream of mushroom soup...but she sure does now!!! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      Very good taste but I would have liked more creamy,thicker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      Ran out of canned mushrooms, true! Started to panick too! Then saw this easy recipe! BOY, did this save me! Mixture was a little thick, So little more mushrooms, sour cream, milk, cayenne pepper I did pick! Thanks for sharing too! Saved the day for another recipe, TRUE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      Well, it's edible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (651 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 640.9
     
    Calories from Fat 443
    69%
    Total Fat 49.2 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 30.6 g
    153%
    Cholesterol 136.3 mg
    45%
    Sodium 360.6 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites