90 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent. Fast to make and taste wonderful thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Stiles February 19, 2010

Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly except I added a portobello mushroom along with the white button mushrooms. It was great! Just before serving, add a splash of vinegar, it helps to break up the savory-ness and gives it a kick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cbrochu February 10, 2010

I used beef stock (from bullion) my first time and I prefer the more robust taste than my second batch, which had chicken broth (Swanson). I added 1/4 cup cooking sherry to the saute because the flour soaked up all of the buttery liquid! I also added 1 clove of garlic, cooking it in the butter about a minute before tossing in the sliced mushrooms.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rob-ster January 17, 2010

second time, first time was with chicken broth, this time with turkey broth (home made). excellent with both. I probably used more mushrooms than called for, but I love them and again this is excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loudor January 11, 2010

Excellent soup. Just like campbell's, but much yummier! Very easy to make! I used homo milk instead of the half and half just because that's what I had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikecanmore January 09, 2010

Thanks for the great soup...there is no going back to canned! I sauted my mushrooms with a tablespoon of chopped garlic, and mixed my flour in slowly with the stock before adding it to the mushrooms to avoid lumps... We have made this 3 times and it gets better each time we do!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crycket January 08, 2010

I was looking for something warm and simple. This was it. But this is less a recipe and more a primer. Depending on the choice of mushrooms -- white button or exotic, the stock-- a hearty beef or a gentle vegetable, and the choice of milk, half-and-half or cream, this becomes a whole other soup. I used baby bellas, beef stock and milk. I also added a shallot to the mix. With that, DH gave it 4 stars. Wanting a second helping, he pulled out the hand blender and pureed it. After doing that, he came back saying it was now a 5 star soup. We'll be making this again. Many thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OliveLover December 01, 2009

My husband and I recently had to change to gluten free, and where excited to find a good cream of mushroom soup to alter to our needs, as we can no longer use canned cream soups. Thank you so much for this recipe instead of regular flour I will be using oat or brown rice flour in its place. Thanks again for an excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dfogel62 November 17, 2009

This was awesome! I was making beef stroganoff and realized I was out of cream of mushroom soup. Didn't have mushrooms, but it did the trick. The meal was delicious and all thanks to using this as a substitute! Thanks so much! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sep_thr33 November 06, 2009

First attempt at making a cream anything soup and it was super easy!!! Couple notes, I used a whole stick of real butter and increased the flour to 3/4 C. I also used multigrain flour instead of AP, turned out fine. I reduce the stock to around 6-7 cups depending on how thick / thin you like it. Also I heat my stock up in another small stock pot to move the process along while I am prepping, then when it is time to add the stock I add a few ladles at a time to incorporate into the roux and keep any lumps / bumps out. I have also used this several times as a base recipe for variations of other cream soups broc cheddar, clam chowder, asparagus chick, but use chopped onions instead of the mushrooms in the roux. All and all a must have for any cream ____ soup lovers! Fantastic with Baby Bellas! Cheers~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dc lesucre October 27, 2009
Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup