90 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

That was very good and very easy to make. I just replaced half the butter with olive oil (personal preference), and it was equally good. I also added some salt and pepper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuanCar October 17, 2004

This soup did not have an intense enough mushroom flavor, in my opinion. A little bland. You're really just drinking butter, cream and chicken stock, getting more than day's worth of fat and salt. I would definitely add a variety of mushrooms next time, and more of them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawnatfernglen January 15, 2011

Excellent easy and very tasty soup. I had some baby portobellos that I needed to use up quickly. DH wasn't feeling well, so I asked him if he would eat some Cream of Mushroom soup if I made it. I adjusted the recipe slightly, and probably due to personal preference. I thought 2 qts. stock sounded like a lot for 8 oz. mushrooms, so I used 1 1/2 qts. and reserved the rest in case the soup was too thick. I had the opposite problem. Even with 1 1/2 qts. stock, it was too thin for my taste, so I added 2 tbs. flour to the milk before I stirred it in. Turned out perfect, and has a delicious mushroom flavor, and so fast and easy! I might never use canned soup again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess October 13, 2003

This gets 5 full stars for being sooooo versatile. Make it plain for cooking and fancy it up for a special soup. I added tarragon and sherry. I topped with a garnish of crab! This is my new mushroom soup! Thanks PanNan! Posted for Culinary Quest 2014, PNW Region.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Goodall September 12, 2014

mmmmmmm good very easy made for cakepops on parade

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. September 05, 2014

This was really good. I followed the advice of Selmas0ngs and used way more mushrooms. I used 1.5 pkgs of the organic Costco sliced mushrooms. The only complaint I had is that it was too thin. Perhaps all the mushrooms added extra liquid. Anyway I just boiled it on high for 10 min to reduce it and it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen January 19, 2014

ok

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zen Foodie January 17, 2014

I had to make a few changes as I did not have all the stock needed, but it came out wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
floating.cherryblossom January 15, 2014

I ended up really liking this soup but I really had to make adjustments while cooking it. I basically had to add the chicken broth right after the flour because the flour soaked up all of the butter with lots of dry flour left which just wasn't going to work. I let it simmer for 10 minutes and then I went ahead and added the cream and let that go for the rest of the time. I also needed to add about 1/3 cup of water to thin it out and it sill ended up being a VERY thick soup... I love thick and rich creamy soups and once I added the water it was just about right for me. I also added some diced sweet onion at the beginning along with the mushrooms to sauté. Toward the end I also added some white pepper since it didn't call for any seasonings. Overall though I'm very happy with the soup and am planning to make it for the second week in a row for my lunch :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit Katchen August 25, 2013

Absolutely DELICIOUS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katrinepa2 April 30, 2013
Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup