Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    90 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 90

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2012

    • on January 14, 2012

      Quick and easy. My 6-year-old loves it. I followed the recipe except for adding a lot more mushrooms. I left it plain to keep less adventurous family members happy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      Great fresh soup. DH said no more canned stuff. I made half a recipe but the full amount of mushrooms. Used part of it to make Green Beans Casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

    • on December 31, 2010

      Recipe was a big hit with the family! I doubled everything, but held back on the beef stock (3 qts instead of 4) based on all the comments. I increased the amount of mushrooms using regular mushrooms and portabella's. Simmered it for an hour to thicken it up....turned out perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      Great and easy recipe! I made a few changes. I added twice the amount of mushrooms, onions, and spices (nutmeg, thyme, sage, garlic and onion salt). I also used gluten free flour. It turned out great and I will definately make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      quick, easy and delicious. I added a little garlic and onion flake to the saute and combined veggie and chicken stock and it was very yummy. Even my husband who doesn't really care for creme soups ate 3 bowls and the pot was gone quickly. My only problem was I didn't make more. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      The soup came out delicious. I took off one star because I used about half the liquid suggested and it came out perfect. (7 cups chicken broth and 1 cup half and half) 2 quarts would have made the soup too runny. We love mushrooms so I doubled the amount and also added salt and thyme.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Yummy! I used Portabello mushrooms and heavy cream and will absolutely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Very good! I added salt and pepper. There is none left. I'd double it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Excellent. Fast to make and taste wonderful thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly except I added a portobello mushroom along with the white button mushrooms. It was great! Just before serving, add a splash of vinegar, it helps to break up the savory-ness and gives it a kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I used beef stock (from bullion) my first time and I prefer the more robust taste than my second batch, which had chicken broth (Swanson). I added 1/4 cup cooking sherry to the saute because the flour soaked up all of the buttery liquid! I also added 1 clove of garlic, cooking it in the butter about a minute before tossing in the sliced mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      second time, first time was with chicken broth, this time with turkey broth (home made). excellent with both. I probably used more mushrooms than called for, but I love them and again this is excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Excellent soup. Just like campbell's, but much yummier! Very easy to make! I used homo milk instead of the half and half just because that's what I had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Thanks for the great soup...there is no going back to canned! I sauted my mushrooms with a tablespoon of chopped garlic, and mixed my flour in slowly with the stock before adding it to the mushrooms to avoid lumps... We have made this 3 times and it gets better each time we do!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      I was looking for something warm and simple. This was it. But this is less a recipe and more a primer. Depending on the choice of mushrooms -- white button or exotic, the stock-- a hearty beef or a gentle vegetable, and the choice of milk, half-and-half or cream, this becomes a whole other soup. I used baby bellas, beef stock and milk. I also added a shallot to the mix. With that, DH gave it 4 stars. Wanting a second helping, he pulled out the hand blender and pureed it. After doing that, he came back saying it was now a 5 star soup. We'll be making this again. Many thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      My husband and I recently had to change to gluten free, and where excited to find a good cream of mushroom soup to alter to our needs, as we can no longer use canned cream soups. Thank you so much for this recipe instead of regular flour I will be using oat or brown rice flour in its place. Thanks again for an excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      This was awesome! I was making beef stroganoff and realized I was out of cream of mushroom soup. Didn't have mushrooms, but it did the trick. The meal was delicious and all thanks to using this as a substitute! Thanks so much! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      First attempt at making a cream anything soup and it was super easy!!! Couple notes, I used a whole stick of real butter and increased the flour to 3/4 C. I also used multigrain flour instead of AP, turned out fine. I reduce the stock to around 6-7 cups depending on how thick / thin you like it. Also I heat my stock up in another small stock pot to move the process along while I am prepping, then when it is time to add the stock I add a few ladles at a time to incorporate into the roux and keep any lumps / bumps out. I have also used this several times as a base recipe for variations of other cream soups broc cheddar, clam chowder, asparagus chick, but use chopped onions instead of the mushrooms in the roux. All and all a must have for any cream ____ soup lovers! Fantastic with Baby Bellas! Cheers~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (651 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 640.9
     
    Calories from Fat 443
    69%
    Total Fat 49.2 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 30.6 g
    153%
    Cholesterol 136.3 mg
    45%
    Sodium 360.6 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes