90 Reviews

This soup did not have an intense enough mushroom flavor, in my opinion. A little bland. You're really just drinking butter, cream and chicken stock, getting more than day's worth of fat and salt. I would definitely add a variety of mushrooms next time, and more of them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawnatfernglen January 15, 2011

Excellent easy and very tasty soup. I had some baby portobellos that I needed to use up quickly. DH wasn't feeling well, so I asked him if he would eat some Cream of Mushroom soup if I made it. I adjusted the recipe slightly, and probably due to personal preference. I thought 2 qts. stock sounded like a lot for 8 oz. mushrooms, so I used 1 1/2 qts. and reserved the rest in case the soup was too thick. I had the opposite problem. Even with 1 1/2 qts. stock, it was too thin for my taste, so I added 2 tbs. flour to the milk before I stirred it in. Turned out perfect, and has a delicious mushroom flavor, and so fast and easy! I might never use canned soup again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess October 13, 2003

I made this as one of the soups I served last night for a regular get together with friends. I only made 1/2 the recipe, but followed a couple of the suggestions in other reviews. I used the full 8 oz of sliced mushrooms, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, about 1/2 tsp of celery salt & added 1/3 c of heavy cream at the end before serving. I might add just a little bit of dry white wine the next time I make it. I zapped about 1/3 of the soup in the blender to chop the mushrooms into smaller pieces. It was a big hit with all. I was told that it doesn't matter what soup I make for next Monday as long as it is this cream of mushroom soup! Thanks for posting this PanNan, I will be copying it onto a recipe card. Update November 2015 This is still my go to Cream of Mushroom Soup recipe. Easy to make & great mushroom flavour! Thanks again PanNan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demelza November 26, 2015

This gets 5 full stars for being sooooo versatile. Make it plain for cooking and fancy it up for a special soup. I added tarragon and sherry. I topped with a garnish of crab! This is my new mushroom soup! Thanks PanNan! Posted for Culinary Quest 2014, PNW Region.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Goodall September 12, 2014

mmmmmmm good very easy made for cakepops on parade

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. September 05, 2014

This was really good. I followed the advice of Selmas0ngs and used way more mushrooms. I used 1.5 pkgs of the organic Costco sliced mushrooms. The only complaint I had is that it was too thin. Perhaps all the mushrooms added extra liquid. Anyway I just boiled it on high for 10 min to reduce it and it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen January 19, 2014

ok

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zen Foodie January 17, 2014

I had to make a few changes as I did not have all the stock needed, but it came out wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
floating.cherryblossom January 15, 2014

I ended up really liking this soup but I really had to make adjustments while cooking it. I basically had to add the chicken broth right after the flour because the flour soaked up all of the butter with lots of dry flour left which just wasn't going to work. I let it simmer for 10 minutes and then I went ahead and added the cream and let that go for the rest of the time. I also needed to add about 1/3 cup of water to thin it out and it sill ended up being a VERY thick soup... I love thick and rich creamy soups and once I added the water it was just about right for me. I also added some diced sweet onion at the beginning along with the mushrooms to sauté. Toward the end I also added some white pepper since it didn't call for any seasonings. Overall though I'm very happy with the soup and am planning to make it for the second week in a row for my lunch :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit Katchen August 25, 2013

Absolutely DELICIOUS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katrinepa2 April 30, 2013
Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup