90 Reviews

This recipe is good but it really needs more mushrooms! I have made it twice now. The first time I made it exactly as written and the flavor bland and mushrooms were more of a garnish than the star. Second time I added a dash of nutmeg, sea salt, cracked pepper, thyme and garlic powder. Then I upped mushies from 8 oz. to approx. 30 oz. of mixed shitaki, white, king trumpet and beech. Second time was AMAZING. I made this for the family and they ate the whole pot :)

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Selmas0ngs March 18, 2011

Very nice! I added a clove of minced garlic, some fresh grated nutmeg, a pinch of thyme, a bay leaf, and some white pepper. I used 6 cups of stock made with beef bouillon and whole milk. I followed the recipe for timing and it worked well for me. The soup was thickened just right for our taste. Very enjoyable! Thanks for sharing.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY September 15, 2011

Great recipe. I add some rosemary and thyme to it, and keep trying different combinations of mushrooms every time I make it. I make my own mushroom stock using either dried porcini or dried shittake mushrooms, and use Coffee Rich instead of milk since I'm allergic to dairy, and it has always turned out great! My husband and I have also found that this freezes well. Thank you for posting.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Dragon November 18, 2010

This a good quick cream of mushroom soup that definitely is better than any instant soup mix and really quick. Great for quick meals. I scaled the recipe down to half and it worked out well.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat March 01, 2003

I must admit I had my doubts with such a simple recipe but decided to give it a try after reading many of the raving reviews. I agree with one reviewer that this is a great starter mushroom soup, but it definitely needs something. I added salt, pepper and garlic powder and it all came together beautifully. Also, I used brown cremini mushrooms and this had a really authentic 'canned' taste. I used whipping cream instead of half and half b/c that's all I had. This soup converted some of the pickiest "I hate mushrooms" eaters in my house!! Will be making this again!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Greenest January 12, 2011

After reading the reviews I decided to add one chopped onion, 3 cloves garlic, salt and pepper. I also used half the amount of broth and cream. After the soup had simmered a while, I used my stick blender to puree up the mushrooms. Then, I added the entire batch to 3 chicken breasts and 1 cup of rice to make a casserole; I baked it for 1 hr in a 350 degree oven. This was so good and much better that the canned stuff normally used in the casserole.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin November 04, 2012

Just finished making and eating this for lunch with my boys. It was fantastic!! Should have made it after the canned stuff was gone from my pantry though, because now they don't want the canned stuff! So much better for you then eating all the additives they put in the canned stuff....the sodium alone is insane in the cans, I added just a couple of small turns of my sea salt grinder to this soup and it was perfect. For those having issues with it being too watery I think you're not giving it enough time to simmer, I put in the full 2 quarts of stock and 1% milk and just let it simmer while stirring often until it was a nice thickness. The kids loved how nice and creamy it was, so I really think letting it cook long enough is key, mine was really watery at first too. Only thing I added to the recipe was a touch of salt and some pepper, I used just regular button mushrooms because they're cheap, but it would amazing with some variety of mushrooms in it.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jomom75 May 14, 2010

Excellent--definitely a 5-star recipe. I did add a few things: 1 shallot and 3 cloves garlic, minced, 1/4 C. sweet sherry, thyme, salt and pepper, and that really put it over the top!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loreengale April 12, 2010

I needed a recipe for a quick cream of mushroom soup, because I prefer not to used the canned version. This worked out wonderfully. I cut the recipe down because I didnt need so much. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be keeping it for future use :-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary July 03, 2003

That was very good and very easy to make. I just replaced half the butter with olive oil (personal preference), and it was equally good. I also added some salt and pepper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuanCar October 17, 2004
Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup