Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    90 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 90

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2011

      This recipe is good but it really needs more mushrooms! I have made it twice now. The first time I made it exactly as written and the flavor bland and mushrooms were more of a garnish than the star. Second time I added a dash of nutmeg, sea salt, cracked pepper, thyme and garlic powder. Then I upped mushies from 8 oz. to approx. 30 oz. of mixed shitaki, white, king trumpet and beech. Second time was AMAZING. I made this for the family and they ate the whole pot :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      Very nice! I added a clove of minced garlic, some fresh grated nutmeg, a pinch of thyme, a bay leaf, and some white pepper. I used 6 cups of stock made with beef bouillon and whole milk. I followed the recipe for timing and it worked well for me. The soup was thickened just right for our taste. Very enjoyable! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      Great recipe. I add some rosemary and thyme to it, and keep trying different combinations of mushrooms every time I make it. I make my own mushroom stock using either dried porcini or dried shittake mushrooms, and use Coffee Rich instead of milk since I'm allergic to dairy, and it has always turned out great! My husband and I have also found that this freezes well. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2003

      This a good quick cream of mushroom soup that definitely is better than any instant soup mix and really quick. Great for quick meals. I scaled the recipe down to half and it worked out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      I made this as one of the soups I served last night for a regular get together with friends. I only made 1/2 the recipe, but followed a couple of the suggestions in other reviews. I used the full 8 oz of sliced musrhooms, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, about 1/2 tsp of celery salt & added 1/3 c of heavy cream at the end before serving. I might add just a little bit of dry white wine the next time I make it. I zapped about 1/3 of the soup in the blender to chop the musrhooms into smaller pieces. It was a big hit with all. I was told that it doesn't matter what soup I make for next Monday as long as it is this cream of musrhoom soup! Thanks for posting this PanNan, I will be copying it onto a recipe card.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      I must admit I had my doubts with such a simple recipe but decided to give it a try after reading many of the raving reviews. I agree with one reviewer that this is a great starter mushroom soup, but it definitely needs something. I added salt, pepper and garlic powder and it all came together beautifully. Also, I used brown cremini mushrooms and this had a really authentic 'canned' taste. I used whipping cream instead of half and half b/c that's all I had. This soup converted some of the pickiest "I hate mushrooms" eaters in my house!! Will be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      After reading the reviews I decided to add one chopped onion, 3 cloves garlic, salt and pepper. I also used half the amount of broth and cream. After the soup had simmered a while, I used my stick blender to puree up the mushrooms. Then, I added the entire batch to 3 chicken breasts and 1 cup of rice to make a casserole; I baked it for 1 hr in a 350 degree oven. This was so good and much better that the canned stuff normally used in the casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      Just finished making and eating this for lunch with my boys. It was fantastic!! Should have made it after the canned stuff was gone from my pantry though, because now they don't want the canned stuff! So much better for you then eating all the additives they put in the canned stuff....the sodium alone is insane in the cans, I added just a couple of small turns of my sea salt grinder to this soup and it was perfect. For those having issues with it being too watery I think you're not giving it enough time to simmer, I put in the full 2 quarts of stock and 1% milk and just let it simmer while stirring often until it was a nice thickness. The kids loved how nice and creamy it was, so I really think letting it cook long enough is key, mine was really watery at first too. Only thing I added to the recipe was a touch of salt and some pepper, I used just regular button mushrooms because they're cheap, but it would amazing with some variety of mushrooms in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Excellent--definitely a 5-star recipe. I did add a few things: 1 shallot and 3 cloves garlic, minced, 1/4 C. sweet sherry, thyme, salt and pepper, and that really put it over the top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2003

      I needed a recipe for a quick cream of mushroom soup, because I prefer not to used the canned version. This worked out wonderfully. I cut the recipe down because I didnt need so much. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be keeping it for future use :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2004

      That was very good and very easy to make. I just replaced half the butter with olive oil (personal preference), and it was equally good. I also added some salt and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      This soup did not have an intense enough mushroom flavor, in my opinion. A little bland. You're really just drinking butter, cream and chicken stock, getting more than day's worth of fat and salt. I would definitely add a variety of mushrooms next time, and more of them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      Excellent easy and very tasty soup. I had some baby portobellos that I needed to use up quickly. DH wasn't feeling well, so I asked him if he would eat some Cream of Mushroom soup if I made it. I adjusted the recipe slightly, and probably due to personal preference. I thought 2 qts. stock sounded like a lot for 8 oz. mushrooms, so I used 1 1/2 qts. and reserved the rest in case the soup was too thick. I had the opposite problem. Even with 1 1/2 qts. stock, it was too thin for my taste, so I added 2 tbs. flour to the milk before I stirred it in. Turned out perfect, and has a delicious mushroom flavor, and so fast and easy! I might never use canned soup again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2014

      This gets 5 full stars for being sooooo versatile. Make it plain for cooking and fancy it up for a special soup. I added tarragon and sherry. I topped with a garnish of crab! This is my new mushroom soup! Thanks PanNan! Posted for Culinary Quest 2014, PNW Region.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2014

      mmmmmmm good very easy made for cakepops on parade

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      This was really good. I followed the advice of Selmas0ngs and used way more mushrooms. I used 1.5 pkgs of the organic Costco sliced mushrooms. The only complaint I had is that it was too thin. Perhaps all the mushrooms added extra liquid. Anyway I just boiled it on high for 10 min to reduce it and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      ok

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      I had to make a few changes as I did not have all the stock needed, but it came out wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      I ended up really liking this soup but I really had to make adjustments while cooking it. I basically had to add the chicken broth right after the flour because the flour soaked up all of the butter with lots of dry flour left which just wasn't going to work. I let it simmer for 10 minutes and then I went ahead and added the cream and let that go for the rest of the time. I also needed to add about 1/3 cup of water to thin it out and it sill ended up being a VERY thick soup... I love thick and rich creamy soups and once I added the water it was just about right for me. I also added some diced sweet onion at the beginning along with the mushrooms to sauté. Toward the end I also added some white pepper since it didn't call for any seasonings. Overall though I'm very happy with the soup and am planning to make it for the second week in a row for my lunch :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      Absolutely DELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (651 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 640.9
     
    Calories from Fat 443
    69%
    Total Fat 49.2 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 30.6 g
    153%
    Cholesterol 136.3 mg
    45%
    Sodium 360.6 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes