Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Cream of Asparagus Soup from the Farm Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Cream of Asparagus Soup from the Farm

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2010

      This soup is a wonderful way to welcome spring! I was surprised how much the rice fluffed up and made the soup perfectly thickened. I cubed some day old bread and pan fried it with a little oil, butter, garlic salt and seasoning salt to top it off. I'll be making this one all spring long! Made for PAC '10.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Nice,easy and very tasty!! The rice gives it a nice texture. I added a bit of fresh marjoram, abd along with the dash of red pepper flakes - gave it a little zing- but not too much. Did not add the asparagus tips to the soup. Instead I sauteed them w/ some chicken-garlic-herb sausages (already pre-cooked in the package) and added it all to the blended soup at the end. That way you had a little protein and something to chew. Besides I hate to pulverize those wonderful little tips! Used fat free half and half - probably about 1/4 cup (why take it out of the fridge for a tablespoon?!) And didn't have the croutons or saffron. But, a nice glass of white wine and some crusty french bread topped it all off nicely. Hubby and I had a fabulous lunch!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Delicious,just added a bit more salt & pepper.Made with my homegrown asparagus. For Everyday is a Holiday,2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Very easy to make but I thought it was a little bland. I added 3 tablespoons of finely chopped fresh dill and 2-3 tablespoons of lemon juice and like it much better - also added more salt. Next time I'll sprinkle some cheddar cheese on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      The DM and I have just enjoyed this delightfully delcious asparagus soup for lunch with some buttered wholemeal/wholegrain bread. I smoothed it all out (the only way I can get the DM to eat it - doesn't like the lumpy bits) and just sliced a spear to decorate mine. Thanks Andi, made the January Event - Soup Is On.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      I made this for dinner tonight after a long day at work. It is quick to put together, and tastes great! I can't wait until the cooler weather arrives to make this again. I used homemade chicken stock, and I think that made mine look "browner" than some of the other reviewer's. I would add a little more asparagus next time....because I love asparagus! Thanks for sharing your wonderful story and your great recipe. Made for Fall PAC 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      This was absolutely amazing! I cannot wait to make it again, except I have to double it... I did increase the seasoning salt to a tsp but, we like things salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      I made this delicious soup during the week, then also enjoyed it for one day during the week for a take-to-work lunch. I used my Vegetable Stock Vegetable Stock and omitted the red pepper flakes (personal taste preference), and to make the soup thicker I more or less doubled the asparagus and do admit that did cheat there (sorry, Andi) by using canned asparagus spears. For a mid-week dinner, it did make it easier! I used Greek yoghurt instead of cream and removed 1/4 cup of the rice asparagus mixture so I could blend the soup in the pot with my stick blender - much easier. Realised after blending that the cream was supposed to go in last! Not a problem: I simply added a dollop of Greek yoghurt to each bowl. Delicious! We loved this, and it was so quick and easy to make. Thanks for sharing another great recipe, Andi! And yet again, I loved your back story: this time of the little asparagus heads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      This was very good - a nice light soup that we had for lunch. I used homemade chicken stock, so I had to add a bit more salt. The red pepper really came through, next time I'll probably cut back a bit, and I think I'll use less stock to get a thicker broth - I may not have used enough asparagus, but this was not as thick as some of the beautiful pics already posted. This is merely personal preference, this soup has great flavor, and we'll make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Wonderful soup Andi, thank you so much for sharing it with us! I used fresh asparagus and ran out of long grain rice so I used the wild rice from a box of Uncle Bens mix. Added the butter, used chicken stock, and heavy cream at the end. This soup can be perfect comfort food or served at an elegant dinner party. Thanks again hon!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      Mine did not turn out as green as the photo - I wonder why? I loved using the rice and then blending all of it to create creaminess with no fat. After tasting, I increased the spices just a little, and I did increase salt as I was using myown salt-free broth. I had lovely fresh asparagus spears, and that nice green quality came through, as they are not overcooked. Thanks for a nice soup. I had to add more broth, and this was about 2 1/2 servings for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      This was delicious! Made a nice first course for Easter dinner. And so easy! Will be making this again! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This recipe was wonderful! I will definitely be making it again. Thank you so much - my family and I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      Had picked this recipe out not long ago as something I definitely wanted to try, even though I'm not a big fan of asparagus! Well, I finally made it, & surprise, surprise, I found it to be very, very satisfying, while my other half said it was OUTSTANDING! So, WE are giving it 5 stars! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Cream of Asparagus Soup from the Farm

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.9
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    29%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 9.0 mg
    3%
    Sodium 1231.7 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    croutons

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites