Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Cherry Cobbler Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Cherry Cobbler

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2011

      We try to do 'healthy' desserts, so I used whole wheat flour, and reduced and replaced all sugar with honey, which worked just fine. We also thought the baking powder was too strong, and I don't think it needs that much to bake up in the same way...so I'll reduce that. It was still really yummy, and was good with cool whip!! Great way to use fresh cherries!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      I thought this was pretty good. My husband and kids loved it. I cut the sugar in half for the batter as many suggested in their reviews; I thought the batter then ended up a tad salty. Overall it was good and easy (which I was thankful for).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      I made this cherry cobbler last night for dessert for a friend and myself. I'm not a confident dessert maker, but this was very easy and turned out really well. I loved the fresh cherry flavor. Like some other reviewers mentioned, I thought it was a little on the sweet side and very rich and buttery (however, these may be the very things that appeal to other people--I suppose it is a matter of personal taste). I served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2014

      The fruit was delicious, but the crust made it inedible. Way too much baking powder. I ended up throwing out most of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      Delicious but very sweet. next time I make it I will cut back the sugar by a half. I had already cut out half the butter so it wasn't too rich. Wish I had read about the overly sweet in other reviews before diving in. Still a lovely recipe - thanks for giving me a delicious way to use the day's pick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      My family also loved this recipe, but I did make some minor changes to it. I added a tablespoon of lemon juice because I was using sweet cherries. I also added 1/2 teaspoon each of vanilla and almond extract. I put the tapioca in my coffee grinder and ground it until fine because I don't care for the "fish eyes" texture of quick cooking tapioca. I gave this recipe four out of five stars because the finished product is not all that pretty. However, it was really easy, and my family ate it up too fast to notice what it looked like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Delicious! A little too sweet for me - but I don't like my sweets to be sweet. Everyone else loved it. Next time I'll cut back on the sugar in the batter. Love the butteryness of the cobbler. Super yummy and super easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Yum! I did half blueberries/half cherries because that is what I had on hand. I cut back on the sugar 'cause the fruit was pretty sweet. This was very rich and buttery. (There were actual pools of butter in the finished dish.) While it was tasty, I will cut back by a few Tbs next time. And I WILL be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      This was FABULOUS. Because the cherries from my tree were very juicy, I had to add a bit more tapioca but the end result was still....yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      My DH and I bought a bag of fresh cherries on sale last week and didn't know what to do with it until I tried this recipe. This may be the best cherry cobbler ever! I can see what others are saying about the buttery flavor but personally we liked it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I think my problem is I used tart cherries, but it wasn't sweet enough. I modified it slightly by having 3 cups of cherries and kept the rest the same hoping it would sweeten them more. I added vanilla to the cherry pot and I added a little cinnamon to the batter. It was good with Whipped Cream though! We will eat it all, but next time more sugar for my tart cherries!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      OH MY GOSH...This is great! I made this for my brother while he was visiting this summer. Since I have 4 kids, and there are always a few extra kids around, I doubled the recipe. However, I didn't double the butter. I used my large Pampered Chef Baker Dish which made the crust nice and crunchy around the edges. A word of warning however, put a cookie sheet underneat the dish while baking to catch any overflow if you double it. Besides the fact the it tastes great, it was absolutely beautiful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Very tasty cobbler. Nice buttery taste. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

    • on August 24, 2006

      This was a wonderful dessert EXCEPT that we thought the flavor of baking powder was too strong. Those who don't care much for that flavor may want to decrease the amount. Other than that it was easy to make and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      Oh boy, this is good!!!!! We ate it all and were sad that there was no more.......:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      I just got 20 pounds of cherries and tried your recipe. Everyone loves it! Very easy, good directions. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      This is a good cobbler - just too sweet for our taste. It looks beautiful & the cake has a wonderful buttery flavour (as mentioned by another reviewer).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      Fabulous! This cobbler is perfect, I wouldn't change a thing! A great use for fresh cherries. The cobbler is buttery tasting without being heavy. Has just the right amount of cherries without being too sweet or syrupy. I halved the recipe using a 9x9 square baking dish, but should have made the whole recipe as it was gone in no time. My 7 year-old said this was the best dessert he'd ever had, and ate at least half of the dish himself. Thanks, FlemishMinx, for a new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2004

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Cherry Cobbler

    Serving Size: 1 (270 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 577.2
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    29%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 744.5 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 100.4 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 73.4 g
    293%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes