22 Reviews

We try to do 'healthy' desserts, so I used whole wheat flour, and reduced and replaced all sugar with honey, which worked just fine. We also thought the baking powder was too strong, and I don't think it needs that much to bake up in the same way...so I'll reduce that. It was still really yummy, and was good with cool whip!! Great way to use fresh cherries!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PTKSmom July 20, 2011

I thought this was pretty good. My husband and kids loved it. I cut the sugar in half for the batter as many suggested in their reviews; I thought the batter then ended up a tad salty. Overall it was good and easy (which I was thankful for).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin August 09, 2010

I made this cherry cobbler last night for dessert for a friend and myself. I'm not a confident dessert maker, but this was very easy and turned out really well. I loved the fresh cherry flavor. Like some other reviewers mentioned, I thought it was a little on the sweet side and very rich and buttery (however, these may be the very things that appeal to other people--I suppose it is a matter of personal taste). I served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny August 07, 2010

The fruit was delicious, but the crust made it inedible. Way too much baking powder. I ended up throwing out most of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joankc July 23, 2014

Delicious but very sweet. next time I make it I will cut back the sugar by a half. I had already cut out half the butter so it wasn't too rich. Wish I had read about the overly sweet in other reviews before diving in. Still a lovely recipe - thanks for giving me a delicious way to use the day's pick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joop May 26, 2013

My family also loved this recipe, but I did make some minor changes to it. I added a tablespoon of lemon juice because I was using sweet cherries. I also added 1/2 teaspoon each of vanilla and almond extract. I put the tapioca in my coffee grinder and ground it until fine because I don't care for the "fish eyes" texture of quick cooking tapioca. I gave this recipe four out of five stars because the finished product is not all that pretty. However, it was really easy, and my family ate it up too fast to notice what it looked like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arbamph June 23, 2011

Delicious! A little too sweet for me - but I don't like my sweets to be sweet. Everyone else loved it. Next time I'll cut back on the sugar in the batter. Love the butteryness of the cobbler. Super yummy and super easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FitWitch July 02, 2010

Yum! I did half blueberries/half cherries because that is what I had on hand. I cut back on the sugar 'cause the fruit was pretty sweet. This was very rich and buttery. (There were actual pools of butter in the finished dish.) While it was tasty, I will cut back by a few Tbs next time. And I WILL be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1015092 June 20, 2010

This was FABULOUS. Because the cherries from my tree were very juicy, I had to add a bit more tapioca but the end result was still....yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Aspeotes June 07, 2010

My DH and I bought a bag of fresh cherries on sale last week and didn't know what to do with it until I tried this recipe. This may be the best cherry cobbler ever! I can see what others are saying about the buttery flavor but personally we liked it. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
musiccook June 29, 2009
Fresh Cherry Cobbler