12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

FABULOUS MUFFINS! There were perfect, moist and flavorful with out being heavy or gummy. The topping adds a nice amount of sweetness and crunch without being overwhelming. I used frozen blueberries dusted in flour and salted butter, other this and cutting the recipe in half I made it as written. The half recipe made 8 which surprised me because I usually get fewer than recipes state. I will definetly make these again! Thanks Sharon for sharing :) Made for PRMRT

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet January 27, 2013

Lovely recipe! I used frozen blueberries and should have followed momaphet's advice and dusted with flour because my blueberries bunched together. I discovered--too late- that I did not have paper liners so kept them in muffin pan for 5 minutes before dumping them out and they came out fine. This recipe makes a lot more than 12 regular size muffins. Thank you for another great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal January 12, 2014

These muffins are delicious! Packed with blueberries, nice and moist. I loved the crunchy sweet topping which was a great addition since the muffins themselves are not overly sweet. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof September 02, 2013

I too used the frozen blueberries - maybe I should have defrosted them first! But I didn't. Other than making the dough really cold, they were great.
I also didn't fill the pans as much as suggested - or else my muffin cups were smaller. I got more muffins than it said - which was a good thing really!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thejonesgal April 26, 2011

I made these after getting a great buy on fresh blueberries. They are awesome! I used turbinado sugar, white sugar and a little extra cinnamon for the topping and put it on before putting them in the oven but otherwise followed the recipe as posted. My farmers LOVED them. Thanks for posting the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vosmom2 February 12, 2011

These were totally awesome!!! I made them in my texas muffin tin and they were huge and the muffin tops were ginormous they all puffed up and spilled over, which made for some gorgeous crunchy muffin tops which I think are the best bits. I had a few friends around last night and made a few finger foods both sweet and savoury. I put 4 of these out as well with a knife so people could cut them into smaller pieces. They got rave reviews with everyone commenting on how full of fruit they were. I used a mix of fesh and frozen blueberries as they are almost $5 a punnet here and I would have had to buy 4-5 to have the required amount. I wasn't sure whether this would make the mix too runny but went with it as another reviewer had used frozen and I totally agree had no problems mixing it up. These have definitely been saved to enjoy again I can highly recommend. For anyone thinking of using a texas muffin tin I got 9 huge muffins out of this recipe.. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe Sharon!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef November 15, 2010

These were delicious muffins. I just love muffins, they are so good, especially with a cup of tea in the morning. I know this recipe asks for fresh blueberries but there was no way I was going to pay 5.99 for a tiny container because I would of needed 2 and 1/2 containers. So I went with the frozen and it did not make a difference at all, except for the cost of making them. I had made 16 muffins which was great because I froze 6 to give to my Daughter and I was real generous and gave 6 to my Boss/Friend. If I would of kept them all here I would of ate them all alone....Not a good thing.....I know I will be making these again and especially when my daughter tries them, I am sure these will be on her list of goodies every time. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe Sharon. Made in honor of Sharon's DH

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny October 27, 2010

I used soy milk in place of the regular milk. These are tasty muffins. Thanks for the recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada April 29, 2010

Very good! Loaded with blueberries, and the cinnamon topping is really nice! These aren't overly sweet, either, which is nice for breakfast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom March 09, 2010

We loved these. Very moist. I used Splenda instead of sugar. Very tasty. I will be making these again. Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom March 08, 2010
Fresh Blueberry Sour Cream Muffins