117 Reviews

This is almost exactly the same recipe that my grandmother used the only difference is she added almond extract in the batter I have four blueberry bushes that provide an over abundance of fruit this is a yummy and efficient way to use them up rather quickly so they don't go bad and get wasted ...love this cobbler recipe ...I would recommend it the batter only took ten minutes to make and it came out perfectly ...awesome sweet treat on the fourth of July with a nice touch of vanilla ice cream on top... five stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brendlyne C. July 05, 2015

Very good, however I only used 3 tablespoons of sugar on top of the blueberries. I though 1/3 cup was way too much, and would take away from the blueberry taste. Nothing needs to be that sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl H. July 04, 2015

Five stars for sure! Crazy easy to make and well worth it. I tossed in an extra handful of blueberries just because. Baking time for this recipe was closer to 55 minutes but the batter seemed a tad "wet". Maybe I used a bit too much melted butter? Like that's a bad thing! Awesome recipe will definitely put this in the 'keeper' file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThePontificator June 15, 2015

The ease of this recipe makes it a 5 star for sure. I followed it exactly, with the exception of using defrosted blueberries instead of fresh, and it took 50 minutes in a glass 8x8 baking dish. I have made other cobblers that I like better, but this is so simple that I'd definitely make it again. It's very cake-y and fluffy, kind of like a gourmet blueberry muffin, but a lot better. But I will cut down the sugar next time- maybe only use 1/4-1/3 cup in the batter and maybe 1/4 on the blueberries. It was a bit sweet for my taste, but the bf loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sommer S. April 07, 2015

This is a good muffin cake with blueberry topping (this is in no way a cobbler). Easy to make and tastes good.<br/><br/>I made it using an equal mix of granulated and brown sugar (I was low on granulated sugar) and used walnut oil in place of the butter. It turned out very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riverside Len August 14, 2014

I think of a fruit cobbler as having either a biscuit or pie crust top. This recipe is really more of a fruit "buckle" in that you put the cake-like batter on the bottom and the fruit on top. That said, it was really, really good and very easy. The only thing I did differently was add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the fruit. I mixed the blueberries, cinnamon, vanilla and sugar together and let the mixture set a few minutes to bring out the juices. I served warm with homemade vanilla gelato. Delicious! I'll be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin B. August 05, 2014

delicious.I love this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luke1801601864 July 05, 2014

I made as directed EXCEPT I followed another reviewer's tip about cooking the 1/3 c. sugar and blueberries on top of the stove. I then mixed in with the batter and it turned out absolutely delicious!!!! I received many compliments and it was gone quickly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebDelish June 02, 2014

This was nice but not what I was hoping for. Next time I will reserve some of the batter to place dollops on top of the berries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunter Hughes May 28, 2014

Perfect! I used Bob's Red Mill AP flour (gluten free) and a frozen mixed berry. Fruit did not all sink, distributed well. Just sweet enough on its own, would do well with whipped cream or ice cream. This is my "go to" cobbler recipe now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Gnome December 22, 2013
Fresh Blueberry Cobbler