100 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I picked up some fresh blueberries on my last trip to the grocery store and didn't want to just store them up until I made pancakes. This is a really good cobbler recipe. Very easy to make and the cake doesn't stick to the pan after baking. The first time I tasted it I served it hot with vanilla ice cream. I really didn't think anything special about it and was going to rate it low. I gave it another taste this time without the icecream and oh my! Very very tasty and so many blueberries!!! So why I didn't give 5 stars? I wish the cake in the bottom was softer, i think it's too hard in contrast to the blueberry texture. Still a jummy desert, just ditch the ice cream!!! UPDATE: This has become my family's favorite quick desert! It's so easy to put together on game night! I have made a few adjustments which has made it just right. I increased milk by 1/4 cup and use evaporated milk when in hand. I add the vanilla straight in the batter, add a tsp of grated nutmeg and drizzle with a powdered sugar and water glaze after baking just to give it a special touch. I usually make it with frozen mixed berries and it's absolutely delicious! THANK YOU!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vilmaris July 21, 2008

This was very tasty. I had about 2 1/2 c. blueberries that I simmered with the sugar and a couple tablespoons of water in a saucepan until the sugar dissolved. Then I poured the blueberry mixture over the batter and topped with a crumbly mixture of quick-cooking oats, cin., brown sugar, and butter. The batter was light and fluffy. A definite keeper.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BZim July 29, 2009

WOW! I made this the way that you have posted except when it came to the blueberry part, I put all the blueberries, the sugar and the vanilla in a saucepan and simmered it until the sugar was dissolved and it was saucy, then poured it over the batter. I served it fresh from the oven with vanilla ice cream. When I asked my husband if it was good, he said, "good is an understatement..." and the kids asked if there was any more! I will definitely be keeping this recipe! Thank you for posting it :)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessiMarie July 08, 2009

Made this last night and shared it with friends while still warm from the oven. It didn't last long even though I doubled the recipe. Added scoops of vanilla ice cream and poof the next thing I know it was almost all gone! Have just enough left for one more serving for me and the hubby. Made as directed but used about only 2/3rds of the sugar called for on the top and this was plenty sweet for us. Had to bake longer about 50-55 minutes due to doubling it and using a 13 x 9 pan. Excellent will make again. Would be good with other fruits too!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Good Cook Joni June 25, 2013

I made this following the directions. While it is tasty, it is more like cake - is dry and not at all like the "cobbler" I was expecting. I see why the folks below made so many changes. Still looking for that "cobbler"!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniels1948 April 29, 2013

My first Blueberry Cobbler that turned out! I sprinkled brown sugar on top of mine! I'm never letting this recipe go! Thanks so much for such a simple yet delicious recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Luny July 10, 2010

Loved it! I was looking for a dessert recipe that didn't use a lot of sugar so I gave this one a try. I experimented by cutting the first round of sugar to only a 1/4 cup (Used unprocessed sugar) and the topping sugar (Regular white) was way under 1/3 cup, I just sprinkled it over the top. I also used 2 % milk because that's all I had and cut the butter by about a tablespoon. Maybe next time I can cut a little more without compromising the recipe? The cake was so soft, light and fluffy I would have thought it had buttermilk in it. We topped with a little whipped cream from the can. Next time I will definitely double the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
concretegirl June 11, 2008

This is the very first cobbler I have EVER made....EVER! It was crazy easy to make and turned out beautiful....I am so proud of myself :). Thank-you soooo much for sharing this recipe...it was definitely a confidence booster for me.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amjharwood@yahoo.com July 01, 2013

Love this! So easy to make and was a huge hit with my family, especially my 6 year old supper picky son who now asks every day if we can make this! It also doubles well, baked in a 9x13 pan for 35 min, came out perfect! I prefer wild blueberries for a more intense flavour, i thawed some frozen ones and drained off a bit of the juice to keep things from getting soggy....yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook in the Creek July 31, 2009

My granddaughters and I ended up making 2 of these back to back because we had a lot of blueberries. I put vanilla in the batter the 1st time and on top the 2nd time. We actually liked it on top the best. Liked the hard sugary crust on top. I would like to try some of the variations the other reviews did also. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy June 18, 2014
Fresh Blueberry Cobbler