Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Fresh Basil Corn Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fresh Basil Corn Salad

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2003

      Confession time: We were invited out for lunch on Saturday and my hostess told me "Bring a salad". This was the salad I brought. It was such a hit, I took all the credit myself! But Kisha, I give you credit here, this salad is wonderful. Another confession, I used frozen corn, had a bag in the freezer. I just nuked it for a few minutes. If the salad was this good with frozen corn, imagine how wonderful it would be with the fresh stuff. I used mostly cider vinegar, but about 1 tablespoon was balsamic, which gave it such a lovely, sweet/tart taste. I'm going to be making this again for sure, and will make sure to use fresh corn next time! Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2014

      Great salad. I cut back on one ear of corn & substituted a cucumber to add color/texture. My son thought it was a little sweet, so I may substitute rice wine vinegar for the cider vinegar next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      Good! Nice fresh side dish when summer grilling. Fresh corn made this dish very sweet. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      I steamed my corn and was very good but won't add as much basil. Still good the next day for leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      Two words summarize this dish: The bomb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      I can't even describe how happy my taste buds were when I ate this. Love, love, LOVE it! I omitted the onion cuz I don't like it. I also didn't even measure the vinegar or oil but used them sparingly, and used fresh corn that I grilled in foil - perfect! I had some super sweet orange cherry tomatoes from the farmer's market so I added those, along with some cubed mozarella that I had to use up. The flavors were so delicious that I can't even imagine using anything but fresh corn, fresh basil leaves, etc. Heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      SO perfect! I couldn't believe it. It tasted sweet and green and lively. To chiffonade (slice) your basil easily - roll up the leaves like a cigar. I didn't have red onions, so I substituted finely chopped green onions. I wanted to load a picture - but it was gone, baby, gone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      In a pinch, I tried this with frozen corn that I just thawed under a warm tap. My pantry was in such a state I was even out of cider vinegar and subbed red wine vinegar. I also added a dash of cumin for some extra depth of flavor but this was a wonderful dish even with the frozen corn. I will definitely be trying with fresh soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Light and flavorful. I loved it. I have not ever used fresh corn in a recipe so this was a first. It was not as cumbersome as I thought it would be - so I am more likely to do it in the future. I have a small pot of basil growing in the kitchen (highly recommend this - easy and delish!) so I just picked some leaves and added the finishing touch, just wonderful! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      My sister made this salad and my Mom and I were all over her for the recipe after the first couple of bites :) It is SO good. I think it is best when corn is very fresh and in peak season. It is fresh and delicious~ Thank you for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

    • on August 13, 2008

      I made this salad yesterday it was delicious. I microwaved four ears of corn in the husk for 8 mins. And I also added a small can of sliced olives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I liked the idea of this salad very much and really wanted to like it. However, the cider vinegar, onion, and olive oil bittered the sweet corn and the basil was too overpowering. If I ever made it again, I would switch to a balsamic next time and decrease the amounts of onion and basil. I somewhat enjoyed the freshness of the flavor combinations, but by fiance didn't like it all. I give this recipe a 3 for creativity.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Delicious. I have tried so many things from Ina, just this week I made meatballs and spaghetti, beef bourgignon, rice pudding, all amazing. This salad is perfect. Follow the exact recipe. I didn't have fresh basil so just used about 1 tablespoon of dried basil. Better after it sits for awhile. Great side dish. Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      I really enjoyed this salad! Unfortunately, I was the only one in the family who did. I will say that they are all VERY picky eaters though. I found this salad to be very refreshing. I am not a big vinegar person so when I make it again I will probably use only 1 1/2 Tbs. Other than that it was WONDERFUL!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      I was going to post a picture of this, but it disappeared too fast! This is a great summer salad. I was out of cider vinegar, so i used white balsamic, and it tunred out yummy! Next time I'll use cider vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      This is great! I added a small cucumber diced and large tomato diced. It's even better the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2004

      I made this salad last year and it was terrific! Unfortunately I lost the recipe. I was trying to find it to take to a party later this summer when Jersey corn is at its peak. Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2004

      i followed this recipe to the letter and it turned out very tasty and refreshing.The suggested corn cooking time was perfec,itwas just"al dente" and the combination of red onions,cider vinaigar and fresh basil made this a real treat. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fresh Basil Corn Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (128 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.4
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    46%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 221.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes